We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good deal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld
Ranked #117 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel was a good place to stay for out business/pleasure trip. It's a little out of the centre, but not too far, and the gym/sauna nice to have access to. The staff were helpful and the room light and airy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sascha S, General Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihre positive Rückmeldung ob Ihres Aufenthalts im Falkensteiner Am Schottenfeld. Es freut mich, dass Sie sich wohl gefühlt haben und ich gebe Ihr Lob gerne an die KollegInnen weiter. Sascha Stöckl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    246
    72
    17
    10
See reviews for
75
255
31
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were staying at Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld between April 16 and 22. For two ladies, 'young at heart' and interested in Vienna's art and architecture, it was important to stay at a location convenient as a starting point for different destinations in the city. Though we'd rather say that walking from Falkensteiner to the historic heart of the city is a bit too long as an unnecessary everyday 15-20-minute exercise but there is Bus 48A right around the corner which will take you to 'almost everywhere'. A metro station is max 10-minute walk away. The area is nice and clean, with some shops, bars, cafes, etc.
The room, standard double, was perfect, large enough for the two of us, with a spacious bathroom, sparkling clean and a delight to use. The room was quiet, always immaculately clean, mattresses and bed linen good. We didn't use the breakfast option, a bit pricey for us at 17€, but the coffee machine (supplied with free tabs and tea bags as they were used) together with a small fridge/bar helped whip up a quick breakfast to start the day. Wi-fi in the room was an important feature for us and the speed was good. Unfortunately, there was a network breakdown for more than 24 hours once during our stay, and a specialist team was working continuously until they fixed it.
One little comment in the negative: the SPA was a surprise, as nobody gave any warning that the sauna was 'unisex'. There happened to be a man in his Adam suit as my friend (a lady) entered to use it.
And the last but not the least, the superb staff! We cannot thank them enough for being so friendly, helpful and patient! Each of them went far and above his/her job description to make us feel at home and a welcome guest. Enough is to say that when we happened to be locked in a church nearby on our first morning in Vienna, with not a soul in the city to call for help and not a single number we knew, we called the hotel and they immediately sent a member of staff to save us. And he never showed any sign of annoyance but showed a broad smile instead!
We recommend this hotel as a place where you will be welcome. Have a nice stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zinann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sascha S, General Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Zinann, thank you very much for your detailed summary of your stay in Vienna. I am pretty happy that you enjoyed it and that we could help you in your tricky situation close to us. Best regards from Austria to Russia, Sascha Stöckl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Located in Vienna 7th district about 1.5km from the Museum Quartier. Hotel itself needs refurbishing. Rooms are smaller than average 4 star hotel rooms, no storage facilities whatsoever. Missed some basic amenities for a 4 star hotel (i.e. no bathrobe or slippers). Bath tub doubles as very narrow and slippery shower.
Rooms have very poor sound proofing both to adjacent rooms and to the corridor. Music from the bar was easily heard in our room. We called reception and they turned down music in the bar but it was back again in the evening. Even though they advertise free in room wifi we had poor reception in our room so I could only access it from time to time when standing next to the door.
Breakfast was ok with good diversity and fresh tasty food.

Overall hotel needs improvement to justify the price. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DPKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sascha S, General Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear DPKK,
thank you you for your feedback refering to your stay in our hotel.
I appreciate that you enjoyed the buffet breakfast with all the regional delicacies.
Regarding the other points you mentioned we would like to underline, that all rooms are corresponding to the Austrian 4 star standards.
Our staff is always prepared to help our clients. If you would tell us that the room is not up to your imagination because of internet access or size we would make a change and give you another room.
The technical equipment of the hotel will be repaired and updated frequently. We also refurnish our furniture.
Furthermore we try to give the hotel a personal individual touch.
I am very miserable, that you did not enjoy your stay but I hope to welcome you again to give us the possibility to make it better and change your opinion.
Best regards from Vienna, Sascha Stöckl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

A nice Hotel located a walk from all the major sites in Vienna.....although it is in the "Back streets".
Rooms are well appointed, with all the things you would expect in a normal European City, restaurant serves a very good breakfast and bar has a good selection of "quick bites"

All in all if I was visiting Vienna for a weekend break and wanted a good Centrally located, well appointed hotel....this would be high on my list

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JS031951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel near Mariahilfer strasse, one of the importants shopping area located in vienna.
The rooms are clean, big, they have comfortable beds and the staff is very helpfull.
The breakfast is fantastic, if you go in weekend you have free parking place in the front of the hotel and the best thing is that the hotel is very well located so that with the underground train you arrive at Stephans Dome in about 5 min.
One last thing, it has very good prices so i consider this hotel a very nice place to stay for a city trip in Vienna

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calinburta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Firstly I want to thank the hotel staff for allowing us to check in two hours early. We were extremely tired from a very early morning flight and it made a huge difference.

Good hotel that was well run.
Got a deal off the hotels website, three nights for the price of two in a standard room with double bed for 200€ (with breakfast included)

The room was clean except for a few cosmetic marks on the wall. Very comfortable bed..!!
Small fridge was useful.
Expresso machine with two free cups a day.
Heating was adjustable.
The room was quiet and we were able to sleep well.
Good size bathroom. (Only criticism is that the soap dispenser in the shower was not refilled after running out)

The buffet breakfast was magnificent, they had everything you could want..!!
Our deal included free WiFi, speed was fine but sometimes the connection dropped out.

The hotel is in a quite street and the location is not far from connecting trams or buses to take you in to the city. I have stayed in Vienna alot and in my experience this area is quite safe - you could walk home from the city centre also if you wished to.

The staff were very polite, spoke good English and were very helpful.
We also received a small Christmas gift when checking out which included a small bottle of wine plus some chocolates - this was much appreciated.

Overall an excellent stay and I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the courtyard, but it shouldn't really matter as its a quite street anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surfwestoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
137 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights while visiting friends in Vienna and...

PROS: my party decided to upgrade to one of their modernized rooms and the rate we paid per day was reasonable though breakfast should have been included, free wireless Internet, computers available to use in the lobby (they use Apple iMac by the way), lobby is nicely furnished.

CONS: not all the rooms have been renovated...if you want one of the nicer modernized rooms, you have to pay 10-20 euros more which is worth it, but it's strange to stay at a hotel that has lowscale and upscale rooms, desk staff can not understand English to the extent you would think so can only communicate through simple vocabulary, breakfast is very expensive

OVERALL: if you don't want to pay the higher hotel rates while in Vienna, stay here and just hop on a train to get to the city center, nice hotel but needs to upgrade all their rooms, not just half of them.

Room Tip: ask for special offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendy5o4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Margareten
Falkensteiner Hotel Wien Margareten
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Josefstadt
Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Wien-City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
#149 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Neubau
IntercityHotel Vienna
IntercityHotel Vienna
#156 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Hotel Schani Wien
#35 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld

Property: Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld
Address: Schottenfeldgasse 74, Vienna 1070, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Vienna
#71 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#85 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#100 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City centre, 7th district, close to the Mariahilfer Str., Vienna City Hall, innovative design, 144 trendy rooms with coffee machine, Wlan & Sky TV for free, restaurant, bar, wellness, fitness & conference area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falkensteiner Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing