We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld
Ranked #118 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Having in mind that hotels in Vienna are not cheap (and neither is this one), the Falkensteiner am Schottenfeld is a perfect option for your stay in this wonderful city.

Location: the hotel is not in the city center, but located in a quiet street outside. The bad thing about this is that it is not very well communicated with the airport. The good thing is that your in a more quiet and less touristic neighbourhood. The surrounding area felt completely safe to walk around at any hour and there are several restaurants and pubs close to the hotel (I recommend the Gasthaus Spatzennest for lunch or dinner, which is about 10 minutes walking down the Burggasse). You can easily reach the city center by bus (bus stop is 100m from the hotel) or simply walking 10-15 minutes. You can also get to the Mariahilfestrasse (a busy shopping street out of the center) by walking 10-15 minutes.

Service: The hotel has a perfect service, and its staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Free WiFi access. Breakfast deserves special mention; high quality & great variety. One of the best breakfasts I have had in a hotel ever.

Rooms: The rooms are spatious, comfortable, clean and quiet. Allthough the decoration is not to write home about, the air conditioning was quite noisy, and I didn't like the pillows (but that's very personal), we felt very comfortable at all times. There is a coffee machine in the room with which you can make two free coffees (additional ones cost 90ct each).

In conclusion, a more or less average 4 star hotel but with an above-average service. An excellent option to enjoy Vienna.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rimig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 588 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

I ordered a junior suite and got a brand new room at the roof.

Very nice and cosy but many things are not perfect yet. For example in the bathroom the auxiliary equipment was falling down or the light did not work everywhere.

After fixing this things you should ask from the junior suites in the back of the hotel. Its workth the price

The location is not the best for tourists but with taxi and or tram you can go easily to wherever you need to go

Room Tip: the new rooms in the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OF665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of a week cycling from Passau to Vienna, the hotel was arranged by our travel company. I was a little concerned by the one or two critical reviews, but we were delighted with the hotel. Our room was lovely, great bathroom. Staff very helpful, booked a great concert for us. As already said, the breakfast is fabulous. No restaurant for the evening but a pleasant bar area, and plenty of restaurants in the area. The area doesn't give a great first impression, but is actually quite pleasant and felt safe. We walked to and from the old city each day, but there seems to be plenty public transport if you want. Would definitely recommend the hotel for a sightseeing visit to Vienna.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MairiA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Recently in Vienna we stayed in this Hotel. And of all the Hotels we have ever stayed in, this one served the best breakfast ever. ! So much choice - and so fresh. Just for this alone, i'd recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 201 was a nice room overlooking the entrance to the Hotel. So we could just look out and see w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Good standard hotel for business, reception is nothing special and also breakfast didnt shock me, but in overall i had good feeling about hotel. My room was upgraded to Junior suite which is on ground floor, room was big enough, but little bit cold (temperarture and also design). Wifi is available everywhere in the hotel for free. Close to hotel you can find at least one japanese, indian and irish restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svestka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 night"s in March.Our room was at the side of the Hotel, on the 3rd floor ,it was very quite, but very warm even with the window opened.The room was very small,with only a tiny space to hang clothes, it would be O.K. if you were staying for 1 night.There were no drawers to put your personal items in.Front of house staff were excellent and could'nt do enough for you,unlike the bar staff,who we find very unfriendly,until it came to us paying the bill!! Breakfast was excellent.The hotel is in a good location app 15 min's walk to the Museum Quarter.There is a Bus and Tram stop close to the Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marianjennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

The hotel is in a quiet area but is only 10 minutes walk from the busy Mariahilferstrasse shopping street – there is also a U-bahn stop here (No. 3). Bus (No. 48A) and tram (No. 5) stops with a very frequent service are only a few hundred metres away so you can be in the centre of the city in no time – the public transport system in Vienna is superb and will reward a little amount of study. Also, you can buy a 24, 48 or 72 hour card so you don’t have to worry about working out the fares. The area around the hotel also has a number of good restaurants where you will eat well and pay less than you would in the centre. The hotel is very modern and well designed, the rooms are light and airy, although a little on the small side. The bed, however, was a very large twin and was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was a good size and had a proper bath with a good overhead shower. There was also a coffee-maker in the room which was a nice touch. The breakfast room is well appointed and the selection is superb - one of the best I have had anywhere. There is even a selection of Viennese pastries and a coffee machine which produces very good coffee – usually one of my bugbears in most hotels! This is my fourth stay in the past 6 years or so and I shall definitely be back here again! Just for information, from the airport I took the bus (€7 single) to the Westbahnhof (about 45 minutes and it runs on the hour and half-hour). Then I took the No. 5 tram to Kaiserstrasse/Westbahnstrasse (just 2 stops) from where it is less than 5 minutes walk to the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Teleworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Margareten
Falkensteiner Hotel Wien Margareten
Neubau
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
#168 of 359 in Vienna
820 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Mercure Raphael Hotel Wien
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#68 of 359 in Vienna
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld

Address: Schottenfeldgasse 74, Vienna 1070, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Vienna
#70 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#88 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#100 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $84 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City centre, 7th district, close to the Mariahilfer Str., Vienna City Hall, innovative design, 144 trendy rooms with coffee machine, Wlan & Sky TV for free, restaurant, bar, wellness, fitness & conference area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falkensteiner Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing