We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looked unpromising but was actually a fine place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alla Lenz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alla Lenz Hotel
Ranked #228 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
London, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Looked unpromising but was actually a fine place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Was booked in here by a company for two weeks, and the initial impression from outside is a little underwhelming. However, once inside, I really have nothing but positives to say about the place. Here are the boxes it ticked for me:

Free internet access - this seems to be becoming the norm, but is always worth a mention. Good speed (I was getting 8mbps) allowed me to use Skype successfully.

Comfortable bed (quite hard) with feather pillows - not every room was the same, I learned, but I got a 'double for single use' which meant I could spread out as I am used to at home. I cannot stand anything other than feather pillows, and these were the best.

TV had a USB slot for playing my own films from a hard drive. Enough said.

Good off-centre lighting in the room, to create a 'mood'.

Quiet. Alarm clock to wake you up if you need it.

Warm with controllable heating (didn't try opening windows, but I'm not sure you can).

Shower cubicle a little small but otherwise a well-designed bathroom. Towels on the rougher side of luxury.

Decent wardrobe space. Though, buyer beware, not all rooms are cut from the same cloth, so this was my individual experience of my own room.

Maid service did a spot-on job.

Friendly (family?) owners/managers, who remembered my breakfast choices. Breakfast was a standard, modest buffet with an emphasis on meat and cheese, plus an optional boiled egg. Fine for me.

Close to the centre. I tend to walk, and I got everywhere I needed within 20 minutes.

Restaurant at the end of the street pretty friendly and not excessively pricey (the Schilling).

I slept well, ate well in the morning, and could keep myself entertained at no great extra cost. It may look like a 70s YMCA from the outside, but it really did the job.

(Note I didn't pay for any of it, so can't comment on value for money)

By the way the official picture of a swimming pool is a little flattering. But there is a small pool, good for relaxing, but at 5 metres long, not for working out.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank playboyrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    44
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
30
22
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were three families who stayed twice in this hotel, for one night each time.
First of all, I note that the hotel staff is very kind and always smiling and giving a good feeling.
The rooms were spacious, well equipped and very clean with an excellent free WIFI connection.
Breakfast was simple and delicious with excellent service.
The hotel in very good location, about 15 minutes walk from the ring and 10 minutes' walk from the Mariahilfer street (for shopping).
We used the hotel's parking in fair price.
There is no doubt we have chosen an excellent hotel, well worth the money we paid for.
Certainly we will return to this hotel again if we visit Vienna

Room Tip: In the summer choose room with a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aviav_Isr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This pension-hotel is within short walking distance of the main railway station of Vienna, and not too far to walk from the centre.
There is cycle parking just outside the door.
The rooms are comfortable and well equipped.
Breakfast is simple and straightforward.
The signal for the free access to wifi is strongest by the reception - a little weak up in the rooms - so I sat on the bottom of the stairs to deal with e-mail!
The hotel reception is limited, and not manned all the time. Note that this is a "Pension" rather than a full "Hotel", but perfect for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Good location and good fresh breakfast. The Staffs are helpful, Not really big hotel but already enough for short term stay. The room are tidy and neat, but free wifi signal for iphone/ipad in the room are quite weak, for laptop or android are good. 這間飯店還不錯,員工很有禮貌,也會友善的告知旅行資訊。早餐感覺很新鮮,咖啡和茶則有多種種類可以選擇。無線網路是免費的,但使用蘋果產品的人在房間內容易收不到訊號。使用安卓系統或一般比電則很順暢。

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voegelchen8687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashhad, Iran
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel the staff all very friendly and polite and helpfull .. Rooms clean & nice furnished breakfast was delicious and there are enough choices of every thing its more than its usually is offered by this price. Its 10 mins walk to tain or tram and 10 mins walk to maria hill street for shopping and resturants . If you like to walk to ring( the center of torists attractions ) its only 20 mins walk . Only thing i would change was the entrance its very simple but when you enter your room sure you will be happy .over all its 4 star hotel to me and if i go vienna again i deffently choose to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We booked a triple room for 4 nights. Everything was greate. Room was commodious for 3 people and clean, breakfasts were not various but enough: cheese, ham, butter, jams, eggs, cereals and etc. The location is pretty good: hotel stands at silent street, so we slept very good, the building is easy to find -- about 10 minutes from subway and about 15 from the Ring. Everyone was friendly: the staff always can help you with excursions or give a peace of advice. They made us think that we're at home. Next visit to Wien - of cause Alla Lenz, thank you much!

Room Tip: Triple is enough for two adults and a child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We arrived for 2 nights, booked 2 rooms for 4 people each. They were very accommodating, although separate beds were not possible so we settled for 2 queens per room. Everyone was so nice and we felt at home. The hotel is easy to find from U6 or driving - there are signs from the main road - and it is an easy 15-20 minute walk to the Museum Quartier.
We drove in so parking was a major concern. There is parking right by the hotel, mostly paid unless your rate had it included. Breakfast was excellent, good variety and ... Oh boy, what a service! Everyone has an easy smile on their faces, we are definitely coming back next time we come to Vienna.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anotherguy9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Pension Walzerstadt
Hotel Pension Walzerstadt
#204 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Fuerst Metternich
Hotel Fuerst Metternich
#162 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Landstraße
Vienna Sporthotel
Vienna Sporthotel
#175 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Novum Hotel Kaffeemuehle
Novum Hotel Kaffeemuehle
#279 of 367 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Pension Schoenbrunn
#187 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alla Lenz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Lenz Hotel

Property: Alla Lenz Hotel
Address: Halbgasse 3-5, Vienna 1070, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#107 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alla Lenz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Alla Lenz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alla Lenz
Alla Lenz Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing