We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2/5 its just surprisingly not at a level you could expect from Wien.”
Review of Alla Lenz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alla Lenz Hotel
Ranked #218 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“2/5 its just surprisingly not at a level you could expect from Wien.”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Food was just so,so. The worst thing is with the look of the corridors and the building. Its old normal block of flats changed into a hotel. The staircase will explain you everything straight from the beginning after you will enter hotel. Rooms are clean but very old, country like, agrotouristic way of look. I dont buy it. Bathroom was exactly the same as you can find in old polish students hostels, its just not at the proper level. Hotel its just ok but only for students for a night or two. Nothing more. Location is good thoug, 10 m away from Hofburg Palace and 5m from the train station.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christifemus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    47
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
26
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

For 3 of us, this was a convenient place to stay because it was just around the corner from where my sister was living while studying abroad and it wasn't far from an u-bahn stop (but there aren't many places in Vienna that are too far which is really nice once you get the hang of the subway, which is pretty simple). The hotel was clean, one queen bed (2 twins pushes together) and a little day bed like thing (not quite a bed, but better than a sofa sleeper), wifi, a decent breakfast, and very helpful employees. They wanted us to pay in cash, which was a little shady, but they gave us free breakfast for it. None of the famous sites are in this area, but it is a quite mainly residential apartments area. We were pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilesmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2011

I was there 2times to visit wienna,we took 2 room and we got a discount. Room are big enough and very clean. I like it because it s not far away from center of city. The breakfast was good, but not so many to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielzgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

Located in a 'seedy-looking' neighborhood, but only two blocks from Metro stop and only 1 block to bus to center. Pricey by US standards for the amenties provided - but then this IS Europe!

Maybe better to look for accomodations in a more attractive area on outskirts - probably for better pricing too. Vienna's transport system is so good that an extra 10 to 15 minutes on public transport into the center would be worth it.

Minibar in room if you want a night-cap.

Indoor pool is over-rated - 40 feet by 15 feet enclosed on roof top in adjacent building - accessible only by going outside.

No secure place or system to leave bags after checkout - have to just leave it in open area.

Good selection of breakfast items. Bar in dining area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank St_LouisTripGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2009

The hotel rooms occupy the 1st and 2nd floors of an apartment that also hosts small businesses with the reception and breakfast area on the ground floor. Breakfast was included in the room rate and was the usual buffet affair and was a good quality. the staff were efficient, and the lady in charge speaks a wide variety of languages. Our room was cabin sized but had everthing you need, even a hairdryer in the compact bathroom. If you do attempt to find the swimming pool, it is located in the middle building of the U shaped complex on the 6th floor. Use you key to enter the building, then go all the way to the top following the airplane symbol, then go through the conference room and there you have it!
As mentioned in a previous review, there is a peep show along the main road into town Burggasse, but unless you pop into it, you won't see anything untoward, and on the plus side, Schilling is on the opposite corner, a nice little bistro worth popping into.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sug8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2008

When we arrived in Vienna, the transport system appeared the same as Berlin, but dodgier. We felt very vulnerable walking to this hotel for the U-Bahn station (Burgasse-Stradt). We found the signs for the hotel easy but as we were walking in the dark (about 6.30pm) we did not feel safe (lots of dodgy characters!). When we arrived at the hotel - in what looks like an office block - we were warmly greeted by the owner. He knew we were on honeymoon and said he'd given us the best room, as long as we paid cash.

The room was fab - a bit 80's but clean and spacious. It was definiely the best room we stayed in. The owner even gave us a bottle of champagne! The breakfast was really good too! There is free internet access in the bar area for 30 mins which was very handy. All in all, good hotel but not so sure about Vienna itself!

  • Liked — Excellent service and big room. Good breakfast, too!
  • Disliked — Location - didn't feel safe.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank debg84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2008

If you are looking for a comfortable and clean hotel to stay for a couple of nights then I would definitely recommend Alla Lenz. My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night as we were travelling through Europe and we were very happy with it. The staff was extremely friendly, the room was very comfortable and clean and the breakfast was satisfying.

There are a few drawbacks however. The hotel is not located right in the centre , but if you don't mind walking for about 15 minutes it's a good way to see the city. You can also take the bus or the metro which are located right next to the hotel. Also, if you are carrying a lot of luggage, you may want to take a cab from the train station - it will cost you about 7-10 euros.

Overall, we were very happy with Alla Lenz and would recommend it to those who are travelling on a budget.

  • Liked — clean and comfortable room
  • Disliked — location (not very close to the city centre)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Buttercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Ottakring
Hotel Exe Vienna
Hotel Exe Vienna
#226 of 360 in Vienna
669 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Pension Walzerstadt
Hotel Pension Walzerstadt
#209 of 360 in Vienna
94 reviews
Neubau
Novum Hotel Kaffeemuehle
Novum Hotel Kaffeemuehle
#271 of 360 in Vienna
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld
Neubau
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
#154 of 360 in Vienna
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alla Lenz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Lenz Hotel

Property: Alla Lenz Hotel
Address: Halbgasse 3-5, Vienna 1070, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#107 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alla Lenz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alla Lenz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alla Lenz
Alla Lenz Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing