We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Options Avaliable”
Review of Tourotel Mariahilf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tourotel Mariahilf
Ranked #268 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Despite all the review I read on TripAdvisor. I still choose this hotel because it had rooms available, and I like the idea of having a more spacious room.

However after I arrived I was extremely disappointed to find that my room was not all spacious, the floorboards beneath the carpets creaked constantly. Wifi was slow and temperamental and could only be accessed from the lobby. No kettle or mugs etc in the room. And the complex lock mechanism is just downright strange and unnecessary. The bed was also extremely uncomfortable.

Hint: to open your hotel dour at tourotel remember to swipe your card first, wait for the green light to flash and turn the knob roughly half a cm clockwise until you feel some resistance.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wandernyonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 400 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

Good location, only 5 minutes walking to Westbahnhof. Spacious room but basic. Strange lock...
Minuses: no fridge, no air conditioning, wifi only in the lobby, breakfast overpriced (8 Eur). Staff OK. Hotel exterior need some improvements, interior look nice...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romaniaspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

stayed in room 105 facing main street ( mariahilfer ) as other people have said it was a big room with wooden floor, no coffee making facilities but plenty of places around...we arrived into vienna and had pre-booked the CAT train ( expedia) to take us from the airport straight to the centre( landstabe)..got on the U3 metro ( orange line)...7 stops to the westbahnhof train and metro station...straight out of station and 5 mins down the main road to hotel ...get back on the same tube and go 5 stops to get to centre ( stephahbplatz) from here you can walk up 5 mins north to the bermuda triangle ( loads of bars)...you can go down karntner strabe and enjoy the shopping.....next too the hotel as you go to the left is a corner cafe wher they served breakfast in the morning ,, didnt do breakfast but enjoyed a few nice beers and my wife enjoyed the austria dry white wine...just further up on the left is a coffee /cafe bar called news bar which is also good for a drink!....did a day-trip to budapest from vienna aswell ( contact me if you need details)

Room Tip: ask for another pillow because ones not enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee2806old
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed in Room 106 which was a large room facing Mariahilfer Straße. The room had beautiful, old herringbone wood floors. The amenities were very basic - tiny safe, one armoire, very small TV. No hot water kettle and no fridge. Our double bed was actually two twin beds pushed together. But, this is the norm in Europe and to be expected. The bathroom was modern with clean white tile and a European shower handle.
Wi-fi was only accessible from the lobby but there are plenty of comfy chairs to sit in while you check emails and whatnot. The Westbahnhof U-bahn station is only a five minute walk down the street and is very convenient for getting to the city center.
The neighborhood doesn't have much night life but there are a few different cafe options for breakfast in the area and several grocery stores as well.

A few things of caution:
1. There is a good amount of street noise however that woke us up in the wee hours of the night a few nights.

2. Our room was VERY hot. Even with the radiator turned off, we had to sleep with our windows open....in the middle of November!

Overall, I'd say the hotel is very conveniently located, well priced and a good option if you are a hardy traveler just looking for a safe spot to sleep at night.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street are very noisy in the wee hours of the night. Street traffic, constructi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaclyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Traveled solo in Nov and stayed there for 3 nights. Easy access from train station, only 5 min walk. Reasonable price if you just need the basic. One male receptionist at night was pretty rude and not helpful at all. Filed complaint to daytime manager, from what I could tell he was a frequent complaints receiver. Wireless not working in the room you have to go to the lobby to pick the signal.

Thank JJWALKER_1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

* Well , i loved the fact that our room was spacious , such spacious bathroom and room :) ,
* Location was in such a lovely place the famous Mariahilf Street , You would find anything near you from the supermarkets , to the Small Turkish Kioshk , to the shopping stores , etc .
Its very near to the subway station which is 5 mins waling and there is a tram too in-front of the hotel to get you to the subway station if you don't want to walk !
* The disadvantages about the hotel from my view were 2 things , the breakfast is not included in the package , and when its separate its 8 Euros per person everyday . personally i didn't like that + The weird Lock for the doors , i guess the locks are safe indeed , but what the hell is up with these locks , they do have even a model of the lock at the reception explaining to the guests how they should open the door !
* as for the reception : there are people who change places everyday , one of them was very nice and the other one was indeed rude ! , when we asked her about locations and stuff , she said "I am very busy now come back again later or something like that !" , Ain't this part of her work or is she guiding us for locations as charity from her side , that i didn't know really . But seriously they should evaluate employees attitude from time to time .

In overall i was satisfied with the hotel nothing was majorly terrible [money and location are more important to me].

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmiraSallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank basakko .
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
7 Days Premium Vienna
#246 of 359 in Vienna
16 reviews
Ottakring
Hotel Hadrigan
Hotel Hadrigan
#289 of 359 in Vienna
201 reviews
Hotel Cryston
#281 of 359 in Vienna
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#163 of 359 in Vienna
1,714 reviews
Mariahilf
Leonardo Hotel Vienna
Leonardo Hotel Vienna
#157 of 359 in Vienna
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourotel Mariahilf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourotel Mariahilf

Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 156, Vienna 1150, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#155 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $50 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tourotel Mariahilf 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tourotel Mariahilf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourotel Mariahilf Vienna
Tourotel Mariahilf Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing