We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, hip and very tasty” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mochi

Mochi
Ranked #28 of 3,943 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Leopoldstadt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming, hip and very tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Located on an attractive, small square in the quiet 2nd District, Mochi managed to squeeze us in without a dinner reservation. We were delighted to find it a non-smoking restaurant. We noticed too, that none of the sushi chefs or wait staff were Japanese, and that nothing especially Japanese decorated the premises; but this didn't matter, once the 'Mochi for Two' combination began arriving. The set consists of three plates, arriving one after the other. All were quite tasty, most laudable being the sashimi--not quite, but nearly melt-in-the-mouth tender, with a nice assortment that included octopus. The waitress was kind to bridge a few language barriers, and to compensate for jet lag-addled social skills. We enjoyed our meal very much.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BMGibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    79
    21
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Reading the many positive reviews you can't help but conclude that either a hype or some serious Tripadvisor-rigging is going on. The food is not bad - but nothing special. A bit on the fusion-side - caught in the middle. Only a fraction of the staff is actually Japanese and so is the atmosphere. As this restaurant is slightly off the beaten track, I don't recommend searching for it and going all the way to there: You can get significantly better Japanese food in downtown Vienna. Prices are modest.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
25 Thank Albin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

It is an extremely busy and trendy place requiring you to make reservations well in advance. It is all worth it as the dishes are innovative and tasty. We especially like the combinations of texture and flavour in their sushi rolls.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Etmo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food in a cosy atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

The food here is wonderful - really fresh and full of flavour. You will not regret trying the Sake Teriyaki which comes with Kimchi and is beyond words.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ToChiU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahuhara
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quite tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Indoor it is somewhat crammed so I've always taken away so far but during summer they have outdoor seating - not sure how it is but looks nice. It is really busy and because it is usually a spontaneous decision I take away form them because if you don't reserve your chances to get a place are small.

Food is pretty good, not the most amazing sushi I've ever tasted but pretty good. Would recommend for anyone to check it out. Also they were always pretty fast even though I was taking away (within 10 minutes).

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MiaVerro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mochi also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Mochi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing