We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Nearby Hotels
$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$117
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$372
$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna(Vienna)
$583
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$107
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$266
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$212
$156
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$208
$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,143)
Filter reviews
1,143 results
Traveler rating
564
456
89
24
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
564
456
89
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno air conditioningtraditional hoteltram stopsmall liftbreakfast was excellentcity centresingle roomsparkling winebreakfast roomold world charmrecommend this hotelnice hotelopera houseopen the windowunderground stationvery pleasant stayflat screen tv
Filter
Updating list...
356 - 361 of 1,143 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Very pleasant stay in an excellent location. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful and quick to correct a minor fault in our room. Room was extremely clean and comfortable - could do with more English TV channels but this is abroad! - and the breakfast buffet was excellent although the breakfast room got a bit crowded at the weekend. Proximity to the metro and trams made it an excellent location with many restaurants in the local area within easy walking distance.
Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay in a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear lyalli,

We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed a very pleasant stay at our Hotel Erzherzog Rainer and thank you for posting your impressions.

We hope you will keep us in good memories and wish you a nice Christmas season.

Best regards from Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I've chosen this hotel because of its good location yet not in a noisy area as I needed to show the city to someone who was there for the first time. Unfortunately the really good location proved to be the only advantage. Nothing particularly wrong (noisy tram line and road works in the morning aside) but all services (including reception, breakfast and general attention to the client) are of 3 star maximum, not declared 4.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena_Helena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Elena_Helena,

We are sorry to learn that with exception of the hotel's location, we did not convince you and therefore you rate our offer as average.

We regret this very much, because we aim to offer our guests a pleasant and unforgettable stay with us, true to the Motto “Over a century of Viennese Charm”.

We would be very pleased to get another opportunity to convince you and therefore will gladly advise you in your choice, at the time of your next booking.

Looking forward to your next visit, at one of the Schick Hotels, we remain,

with best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Having booked this hotel for its vicinty to the "Naschmarkt", it was impossible to find free parking anywhere near. The room was rather small but very effectively furnished, and wireless internet is free. The bathroom was not 100% clean and amenities are not up to 4* standard. Breakfast selection was very good, including many different teas albeit not loose tea. Overall, an uneventful stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanneMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear SusanneMunich,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to write a review and give us important feedback.

The parking areas around the Hotel are so-called short-term parking zones, thus you can park up to max. 90 Minutes. Therefore we recommend booking a garage parking space directly at the time of your room reservation.

We have high standards particularly in service and quality and we regret even more to learn that you were not completely satisfied with the cleaning of your room; please do accept our sincere excuses. Your information has already been forwarded to the housekeeping department.

We appreciate your compliments for our breakfast buffet and noticed your note concerning loose tea.

We still hope that you will keep your experience in good memories and send best regards to Munich.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Vienna is a beautiful city. The four days we spent walking its streets, visiting its museums, gazing at its monuments and marvelling at the impressive architecture of its buildings convinced me of that fact. However, it was my time at the Hotel Erzherzog Rainer that I'm likely to remember most, but not for the right reasons. Back in June, the high temperatures of the day carried over into the night, and you could feel the humidity hanging thick in the air as you lay in bed. But what about the air-conditioning? Was it broken? No, our room and the room of my cousin located on the same floor did not have air-conditioning. Well, the hotel kindly had placed a small fan in each of our rooms. But this fan was a poor and noisy substitute for the dry, cool effect of a ducted air-conditioning unit. Fortunately, our room's large windows could be opened for some respite from the oppressive heat. But while open windows did let in some slightly cooler night air, they also let in the noise of those trams! And while I did appreciate the Hotel's proximity to the nearby tram stop during the day, I came to resent those trams at night which at various times, seemed to run right through the middle of our room... In the end, I decided it was better to have a quieter night without the interruption of tram noise, closed the windows and endured the heat.

While I found the day-time Front Desk staff to be professional and efficient, the night-time staff were certainly less so. A simple request to assist in the printing of our flight's boarding passes from the hotel's ground floor PC and connected printer proved to be quite a challenge. The staff on duty that night were very casual in their approach and not very helpful. Outdated software versions on the Hotel's PC was the likely culprit preventing the simple printing of an e-mail attachment. Perhaps the software has been updated since...

On the plus side, the breakfast buffet was mostly reasonable in terms of variety and quality (although pastries were quite ordinary). The best feature of this hotel is its restaurant which doesn't offer a wide menu, but what is on offer is surprisingly good. We thoroughly enjoyed our meals on the 2 nights we dined in.

Overall, I can't say I enjoyed my time at the Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, due mainly to experiencing poor sleep quality at night. I must admit I did not enquire at the Front Desk as to the availability of alternative air-conditioned rooms. This was perhaps a gross oversight on my part and possibly due to the effects of tiredness caused by...(well, you know the rest!).

Room Tip: Check if your room has ducted air-conditioning when travelling during the warmer months of spring and summer.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank domeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear domeyer,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are sorry that due to the lack of air-conditioning in the room, you did not completely enjoy your stay.

We noticed your remark regarding the lobby computer and printer; we already contacted our support in order to check and improve the software system. Thank you for steering our attention to this matter.

We appreciate your compliments for our breakfast buffet and are happy that you were very satisfied with your restaurant visits and already passed your feedback to the team.

Maybe we can recommend you another Schick Hotel for your next trip to Vienna? We would be glad to become a further chance to convince you.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We visited Vienna for the Christmas Markets and this hotel was an excellent base. It's about 10 -15 minutes walking to the Opera and the underground station and tram stop is almost outside the door. The staff were very friendly and welcoming.

Breakfasts were a treat! The choice was fantastic and really set us up for the day.

We loved it and would stay here if in Vienna again.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Surrey-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Surrey-M,

We are happy that you found the time to write an assessment regarding your stay during the Christmas season 2012 and appreciate your nice compliments.

As we read you would choose us again, if visiting Vienna in the future. We would be glad to welcome you back and look forward to your next reservation.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews