We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable base for exploring Vienna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Ranked #53 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent 4 nights here as a base for our first visit to Vienna - a beautiful city. Friendly, multi-lingual reception staff were welcoming and helpful (stored our cases after check-out before leaving the city). The single 6-person lift coped remarkably well throughout our stay. As others have said, location is a big plus, with 3 tram routes passing the front door and the U1 metro line just round the corner (only one stop away from the main railway station).

Our 5th floor room faced the main street, so we were aware of the trams but not so loud as to waken us from a comfortable sleep! The room was a reasonable size but the "double" bed was actually two singles pushed together - not ideal. The en suite bathroom gave us all that we needed, although the bath was a little on the short side and took a long time to fill. No problem with cleanliness throughout. Multi-channel flat screen TV had only two English language channels (one of which was BBC's Russia Today!) and the in-built "Weather" feature didn't seem to give results for Vienna, so knowing whether to take rain-wear or T-shirts was a bit of a gamble.

Breakfast choice was good from the hot or cold buffet spread. Staff were again efficient and helpful, and we never had to wait for a table. We used the in-house restaurant for dinner on one evening - excellent value for money but the menu could have been a bit wider - schnitzel but no strudel!

Overall a comfortable base for our stay and we'd be happy to recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main street will probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gvh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear gvh67,

Thank you for posting your experience with us and giving us important feedback in order to control and improve our offer.

We hope you will keep your stay in good memories and thank you for recommending us.

Best regards from Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (999)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

I really like my one week stay at this hotel. Great reception and very friendly staff. I was smashed with the breakfast service - still can't forget those shining coffee pots! And you won't stay hungry with all that variety - eggs, meat, sausages, different kinds of cheese, fresh pineapples, melons, amazing pastry.... Everything is of high quality and totally delicious. I was travelling alone but that breakfast always made my day :)
The room was a bit too small but very neat. It was cleaned every day even without a reminder. One day I had to stay in a bit longer and didn't expect the room to be cleaned in the afternoon. It was not even necessary because I was leaving the next day. But when I came back I found my room all clean and fresh. It was very nice.
The only thing that disturbed me was the absence of air conditioner - it was about +40 degrees (C) outside and it was absolutely impossible to sleep at night. There was a little fan on the table but it was not enough.
And there are some steps on the way to the elevator and if you have a heavy bag (like I had!) it may be not pleasant to carry it.
But the location is very central (7-10 min to the Opera House) and it is a worthy place. If I am ever back, I will definitely choose Hotel Erzherzog Rainer again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alla I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Alla I,

We are happy to learn about your impressions and thank you for your praise. Especially for the breakfast offer and the house-keeping department. Thank you.

We regret that the lack of air-conditioning affected your stay and noticed your critic as well as your remark regarding the steps to the elevator. Thank you for submitting your improvement suggestions.

We still hope you enjoyed your stay with us and would be pleased to welcome you back in future.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 7 nights. Very comfortable and spacious room. Excellent buffet breakfast choice. Easy walking distance to the major sights and only a stone's throw from both the Underground U1 and Tram lines. Cannot fault our stay. Staff always helpful and friendly. Had a good evening meal in the restaurant too. Tea and coffee facilities available in room plus reasonably priced mini bar.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CandBSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear CandBSuffolk,

Thank you for writing an assessment regarding your stay with us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your vacation and appreciate your compliments.

Looking forward to welcome you back in our beautiful city, we remain,

with best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Traditional hotel in a good location near metro and tram stops. Charming old-fashioned elevator and keys to your room that has to be left at the desk whenever you leave the hotel. Restaurant serves a very good spread for breakfast. Front desk staff was very helpful with dinner recommendations and reservations.

Room Tip: Lack of air-conditioning was not a problem in autumn but rooms facing the main street can be noisy i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear ET880,

We thank you for your nice review and are happy that your headline is “feel right at home”.

This is a great compliment, thank you.

Wishing you a nice summer ending, we remain,

with best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I had a two nights' stay at the Erzherzog Rainer in last half of August and experienced a fully equipped and well organized hotel - from the Front Office, the breakfast restaurant and the guest room service. It gave an impression of having been recently (successfully) refurbished - both in guest rooms and common areas.
Room and bath room was experienced as rather small but comfortably furnished, and with all required/expected amenities.
Unfortunately, by the high summer temperatures one major infrastructural disadvantage demonstrated its most negative effects:
During my stay the outdoor temperatures were pending around 30 C - and no guest rooms in the hotel has air condition installed. This caused inferior nights sleep and even day time frustration when working in the room as even with a mobile fan the windows had to be open for air circulation and the traffic noise.
Still, from a year around perspective (more moderate temperatures...) I feel that this is a very good hotel from the above reasons and which with a more up to date interior climate easily might move several of my scores up to five!
Recommended - except for periods with hot temperatures ..!

Room Tip: If you are on business in this part of Vienna and the outdoors temperatures are not too high choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olav Egil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Olaves,

Thank you for submitting your opinion.

We are happy to read that you experienced a fully equipped and well organized hotel and appreciate your compliments.

As you wrote the rooms do not have an air-conditioning system but offer fans. We are sorry that this fact affected your comfort.

We still hope you will keep us in good memories and send best regards to Oslo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Room was nice and comfortable. Breakfast was great. Had dinner in the restaurant and it was decent. Front desk is very friendly and speak good English. Well located with tram station and underground station very nearby.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Friendship88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Friendship88,

We are glad that you took the opportunity to review your stay and thank you for giving us the possibility to control our service and quality.

We hope you had a nice journey back home and remain,

with best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a good hotel in many respects, and one I would certainly return to again. The rooms are well appointed, the breakfasts truly superb, and the staff very friendly and helpful. Walking to the Ringstrasse is only about 5-20 minutes, and perhaps another 5 to the centre of the city.

Our only problem was that the rooms are not air conditioned (they do have large and efficient fans), and the temperature was 32C+ when we were there during the day, and this meant that the room was hot, even at night.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the roads
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentishMan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear KentishMan56,

thank you for posting your experience on TripAdvisor.

With pleasure we learn, that you and your family enjoyed your vacation and would return again to our Hotel Erzherzog Rainer.

As your wrote the rooms do not have an air-conditioning system but offer fans.

We hope you still had restful nights and would be very happy to count you again to our guests.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Wieden
Hotel Johann Strauss
Hotel Johann Strauss
#118 of 359 in Vienna
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#23 of 359 in Vienna
762 reviews
Margareten
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Holiday Inn Vienna City
#59 of 359 in Vienna
1,120 reviews
Wieden
Austria Trend Hotel Beim Theresianum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erzherzog Rainer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erzherzog Rainer

Address: Wiedner Hauptstrasse 27/29 | 1040 Vienna, Vienna 1040, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Vienna
#39 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#51 Business Hotel in Vienna
#58 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#87 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $95 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Erzherzog Rainer 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradition for 100 years, Viennese charm and outstanding Austrian hospitality await guests at the 4-star Hotel Erzherzog Rainer. The central, convenient location in walking distance to the Vienna State Opera and the "Karntner Strasse", in the historic centre of Vienna, guarantees a vacation in which there is the opportunity to immerse oneself deep into the Viennese soul. 84 Comfortable rooms offer conveniences such as WLAN (free of charge) and Flat screen TVs with Sky programs. At the hotel's restaurant 'Wiener Wirtschaft' typical Viennese down-to-earth cuisine is served in a relaxed ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Erzherzog Rainer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erzherzog Rainer Hotel
Best Western Vienna
Erzherzog Rainer Vienna
Vienna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing