We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Nearby Hotels
$175
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Austria Classic Hotel Wien(Vienna)(Great Value!)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$214
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$307
$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$207
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$188
$142
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$393
$341
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$253
$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$152
$146
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Harmonie Vienna(Vienna)
$162
$141
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,120)
Filter reviews
1,120 results
Traveler rating
553
445
88
24
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
553
445
88
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno air conditioningtraditional hoteltram stopsmall liftbreakfast was excellentcity centresingle roomsparkling winebreakfast roomold world charmrecommend this hotelnice hotelopera houseopen the windowunderground stationvery pleasant stayflat screen tv
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
363 - 368 of 1,120 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The location was fantastic- fifteen minutes on foot to the concert hall, passing lovely buildings, restaurants, cafes, boutiques etc. And about ten minutes {if that} to the Naschmarket!

The staff were superb, and very friendly/knowledgeable {and spoke many languages perfectly}

The rooms were great, very comfortable- no air conditioning, but huge windows and an effective desk fan.

Breakfast was incredibly- fresh yoghurt, fruit salads, eggs in all forms, bacon, sausages, cheeses, breads {so many breads!} locally made jam and a coffee machine which was gloriously high tec. Also sparkling wine, aha!

Really recommend this hotel- great location, great value, and lovely people.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viennaberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Viennaberry,

We are delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for your throughout positive review.

We appreciate your compliments and thank you for recommending us.

Looking forward to welcome you back in future, we wish you a nice summer ending.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights. A very nice hotel,loved the atmosphere in the breakfast room,services were good. But the receptions were not so friendly with us . We felt that there's differences when we saw they served other guests...
It was really hot during our stay in Vienna. No AC in hotel rooms in Vienna are common,but there was a facade construction,the room was dusty.they shouldn't offer those rooms to their guests.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank shirleyliulee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear shirleyliulee,

We are glad to read that you found the Hotel Erzherzog Rainer to be nice and loved the atmosphere as well as the offered services.

But we are sorry that you were not satisfied with our reception staff and assure you that we put great importance to every single client. We deeply regret, that you did not felt as welcome as you should and kindly ask you to accept our excuses for this misunderstanding.

We hope to get a further chance to convince you and therefore look forward to your next visit.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Well located hotel, with perfect services. Reception speaks many languages, but the stuff on breakfast spoke German only. Room was small but nice and spacy enough for one person. I had double room on 2nd floor. Room was good equipped but what is important during business trips there is no ironing equipment in room. Nice and tasty cousin in Hotel's restaurant, various and very tasty breakfast with so many products. Great choice of fresh fruits. I do recommend this hotel for business trips, to the very city center there is approx. 40 min. walk.

Room Tip: Rooms with main treat view are noisy due to trams.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lothse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Lothse,

Thank you for posting your impressions.

We are happy that your enjoyed the hotel location and thank you for your compliments.

As you wrote due to fire protection measures, our rooms do not offer ironing equipment. But we do have an ironing room, which can be used by our guests. Please contact the reception during your stay for any assistance needed, they will be pleased to advise you.

The famous Kärntnerstrasse and the opera can be reached by a 10 Min. walk or you can take the nearby underground to easily reach every attraction in short time.

We hope you will keep your stay in good memories and remain,

with best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

It was our oversight when booking the hotel as we didn't realise that there is no air-conditioning in the room. As it was summer with high temp of 30 over degrees, it was very stuffy. Plus there was construction going on right outside of the window on level 1. I couldn't believe it till I heard workers talking and working outside. With no AC, we need to open the windows for air. The construction brought the dust onto the bed so overall it was a bad experience with the rooms. As we stayed only one night, we didn't request for a change of rooms. Seriously, they shouldn't offer those rooms to any guest. That said, the breakfast selection was good, the tables were properly laid with tablecloths, there was a cozy atmosphere and prompt service for the first meal of the day.There is a convenience store nearby. Good location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyTravelerSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear HappyTravelerSarah,

Thank you for your comments. We regret that you were not completely satisfied with your vacation.

As you wrote the rooms of the Hotel Erzherzog Rainer have no air-conditioning system, but we do offer fans. We are sorry that this fact affected your stay.

Since the Hotel celebrates its 100th anniversary some maintenance works are necessary on the façade. The works take place in sections and therefore only a part of the rooms is alternating affected.

We appreciate your compliments for the breakfast buffet, the hotel atmosphere, the service and the hotel location and hope to get a further chance to convince you about our entire offer.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I think I am unlucky about Vienna, 3rd time and still not so good hotel. Actually, I would have given this one a 4 star if it wasn't that hot or there was AC in the room! Did you read, no AC in the room and when Vienna is hot, it is hot! OK maybe for 2-3 months but this is the peak season guys what were you thinking when designing this hotel? Small ventilator in rooms would be enough? No, it is not! So if you are planning a trip in winter, go for it. Good location, decent hotel. If it is summer, double or even triple think!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raindeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear raindeep,

Thank you for posting your impressions.

We regret that you could not fully enjoy your stay due to the lack of air-conditioning. As you wrote we offer fans.

The Hotel Erzherzog Rainer celebrates its 100th anniversary and stands for tradition and history. We are happy that you were satisfied with the hotel itself and the location and would be pleased to welcome you back.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews