We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - get the right room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Ranked #46 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
West Sussex
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great stay - get the right room”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had a great 4 night stay at this hotel. our room was small and facing the inner courtyard, and although at first we were a little disappointed, i think these are the best rooms. Silent day and night, cant hear anything from neighbouring rooms due to the layout and no street noise, which due to no air con meant we could have the windows open all night with no problem. the people we went with had one of the side street facing rooms (Mozart street) and although much larger with big windows, they said it was noisy all the time with the trams going late into the night and street cleaners starting at 5.30 in the morning - request a courtyard room and you wont go wrong. Also beware of rooms that are right opposite the stairwell and lift as i imagine they are pretty noisy too. Everything else was great, location was good as an easy 10 minute walk to the city centre on a straight road downhill and the metro only minutes away too, and if you cant be bothered to walk back you are within the 1euro price to get the metro home from the cathedral square. I loved the bed, a bit hard for some but perfect as far as i am concerned, bathroom great, staff great and possibly the best hotel breakfast ever! Must mention the little italian restaurant a few steps away in Mozart street - do go if you want really good value food and great pizza.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ggmon76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear ggmon76,

Thank you for posting your experience.

We are happy that you could fully enjoy your stay with us and thank you for your compliments especially for the breakfast buffet.

Wishing you a nice spring, we remain,

with best regard from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    374
    71
    19
    8
See reviews for
127
423
84
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, found the hotel staff very helpfull. The hotel bar serves great food and again we could not fault the service. The rooms though old were well kept and had all that you need. The hotel offer a taxi service to the airport (40€) which was on time and a little cheaper than the taxi from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Mark B,

Thank you for your writing a review about your Vienna holidays.

We are delighted to learn that you found our staff to be very helpful and that you enjoyed the offered services.

We wish you a nice spring continuation and remain,

with best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for three nights in the hotel before Easter (as a gift). The hotel was clean but not of a very modern style. However, the beds were comfy and the bathroom even had a window which was much appreciated. The staff at the reception was very friendly and attentive and available 24/7. The breakfast room seemed to be too small as we almost always had to move to the adjoint restaurant which took a bit longer to reach the buffet. The buffet offered all you can wish for including fresh fruit, eggs, a very good coffee machine and champagne.
We also ate one night at their restaurant which was of average Austrian style, nothing fancy but ok. The only drawback was that something was stolen from our coats while having breakfast, but this happens every once in a while, the receptionist said, so bad luck. So make sure you lock your belongings well. The location of the hotel is perfect for reaching Vienna downtown by tram and Belvedere is in walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear biaci,

thank you for posting your impressions.

We are happy that you were very satisfied with the hotel staff the cleanliness and the buffet offer.

At peak times not all guests can take place simultaneously in the breakfast room, so we offer additional seating in the restaurant.

We are sorry that you had something stolen from you coats hanging at the wardrobe. This does not happen often, but already happened once. Please do not leave any value unnoticed, we do offer safes in every room. Just ask at the reception for any further information.

We still hope you will keep your stay in good memories and remain,

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
146 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

A very nice and special place. Wonderful service, spotlesslly clean, perfect breakfast. 10 minutes walk to the Opera, 15 minutes walk to the Belvedere Palace. Quite a number of different restaurants in the neighbourhood. Everything was just flawless.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regaleks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear regaleks,

We are pleased to read that you appreciate the special atmosphere of the Hotel and so could spend some relaxing days in Vienna.

We hope you will keep your stay in good memories and remain,

with sunny regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

A lovely hotel away from the centre of Vienna but near enough to walk to most of the sights. This family run hotel is an oasis of calm.Excellent staff,good clean rooms and a breakfast buffet which ranks amongst the very best. Nothing is too much trouble.A small restaurant provides coffee and cakes during the day and has an adventurous menu to tempt discerning palates in the evenings.We have stayed in many hotels in Vienna but this for us is perfection.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willkommen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Willkommen,

Thank you very much for your positive review.

We are delighted to learn that you felt very comfortable at our Hotel Erzherzog Rainer and thank you for your nice compliments.

Best regards to West Midlands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here for four night's in March.Good location , 15 minutes walk from town and the tram stop is close to the hotel. The hotel is clean and the food at breakfast is very nice, A lovely place to stay and the staff were all very helpful and informative. I would recommend this hotel for a stay in Vienna,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DD10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear DD10_10,

thank you for posting your impressions.

We are happy that our offer convinced you and you passed some nice days in Vienna at our Hotel Erzherzog Rainer.

We appreciate your compliments and thank you for your recommendation.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel is conveniently situated near the underground stations so perfect location. Stayed for 5 days, the hotel could do with some updating and renovation but don't let this put you off, the hotel is spotlessly clean the staff are wonderful and make this hotel a little gem. Food, what I tried was excellent and my friend had no complaints either. I would say if you were considering a trip to Vienna then don't overlook this hotel purely on looks because the staff at this hotel really do make your stay special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angeltinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear angeltinker,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read about your stay and really appreciate your praise for our staff as well as your recommendation to other travellers!

Wishing you a nice spring beginning, we remain,

with best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Schani Wien
#34 of 360 in Vienna
684 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Johann Strauss
Hotel Johann Strauss
#130 of 360 in Vienna
413 reviews
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#25 of 360 in Vienna
826 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#24 of 360 in Vienna
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erzherzog Rainer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erzherzog Rainer

Property: Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Address: Wiedner Hauptstrasse 27/29 | 1040 Vienna, Vienna 1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Vienna
#39 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#51 Business Hotel in Vienna
#58 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#87 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Erzherzog Rainer 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradition for 100 years, Viennese charm and outstanding Austrian hospitality await guests at the 4-star Hotel Erzherzog Rainer. The central, convenient location in walking distance to the Vienna State Opera and the "Karntner Strasse", in the historic centre of Vienna, guarantees a vacation in which there is the opportunity to immerse oneself deep into the Viennese soul. 84 Comfortable rooms offer conveniences such as WLAN (free of charge) and Flat screen TVs with Sky programs. At the hotel's restaurant 'Wiener Wirtschaft' typical Viennese down-to-earth cuisine is served in a relaxed ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Erzherzog Rainer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erzherzog Rainer Hotel
Best Western Vienna
Erzherzog Rainer Vienna
Vienna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing