We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Nearby Hotels
$373
$336
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 05/31
Book now, pay at stay
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna(Vienna)
$477
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$118
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 06/02
Book now, pay at stay
$238
$198
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$227
$190
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$259
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$242
$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,140)
Filter reviews
1,141 results
Traveler rating
562
456
89
24
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
562
456
89
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno air conditioningtraditional hoteltram stopsmall liftbreakfast was excellentcity centresingle roomsparkling winebreakfast roomold world charmrecommend this hotelnice hotelopera houseopen the windowunderground stationvery pleasant stayflat screen tv
Filter
Updating list...
400 - 405 of 1,141 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in this hotel - picked due to decent reviews, location and price - as a couple. Very friendly staff on Reception - and throughout hotel. Allowed to put bags in room early (11am) so that we could get the most out of our first day. Decent size double room, very clean room and modern bathroom. Only very minor gripe is that we had to ask for free of charge tea/ coffee-making facilities and code for internet access (free wifi in room - only 2 english-speaking tv channels). Comfortable beds, thick curtains and room 418 overlooked central courtyard so no noise at night. Windows are 'tilt/ turn' so can be left tilted open for air but are still secure. Electronic safe in room as well. Fantastic buffet breakfast - spent a good hour there each morning enjoying good food and coffee - and even sparkling wine!
Easy walking distance to all major attractions. Used hotel restaurant one evening and had a very good meal at a reasonable price. Again, staff very friendly. Despite hotel being full, never queued for lift or breakfast table, never disturbed by other occupants at night. Vienna is too big to cover in $ days so will use this hotel again when we go back.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking central courtyard don't have a great view but are quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Grahamdue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Grahamdue,

Thank you for posting your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for your compliments, which have already been passed to the complete team.

We wish you a joyfully Christmas season and remain, with best regards from Vienna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Excellent service, comfortable room and friendly staff, especially receptionist, big guy always in good mood. Nice breakfasts. Good distance from historical center. Felt like at home. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ludvik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Ludvik L,

Thank you very much for your nice compliments.

We are happy to read that you felt like home and already passed your praise to our staff.

We wish you a nice winter beginning and remain, with best regards from Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a four days in Vienna where we stayed in the Hotel Erzherzog Rainerl. I checked for reviews on tripadvisor before booking and found that the many laudatory reviews were very accurate.
This is an excellent hotel with easy access to the main areas of interest in Vienna as it is only ten minutes walk from the Opera area and the underground. Two tram cars pass the hotel giving ready access to many parts of the city. The hotel staff were both friendly and very helpful and we were provided with an excellent breakfast with a wide of choice of food. I would highly recommend this hotel for a visit to this wonderful city but we found with so much to do four days was not enough time..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hazeldenedublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear hazeldenedublin,

We found your review being accurate too and thank you for your positive comments!

We wish you a nice Christmas season and remain,

with best regards from Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We like the hotel very much. Beautiful design of the breakfast room, very nice and comfortable rooms, 15 minutes walk from the city center. Very good service. We would like to stay in this hotel each time we're in Vienna.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laforza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear laforza,

Thank you for your nice review.

We are very happy to read about your experience with us and are glad you fully enjoyed your Viennese holidays.

We would love to welcome you at any of your future travels to Vienna and already look forward to your next visit.

In the meanwhile, we remain,

with best regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese Charm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The hotel is great. I love the design of the breakfast room so much and because of this place I will definitely return back. The design of the stairs, sitting room and breakfast room especially let you feel like in real Vienna – more than in a lot of famous cafe& restaurants in the city centre.
The room was big, warm, quiet and cosy with a nice wooden lay around. I really appreciated separate bathroom and toilet. Small surprise is the wardrobe with light inside. In the room there was a big safe box with really easy use.
The breakfast is great. I like the tomatoes grilled with parmesan cheese. It was really delicious. There was a huge selection of bread and pastry, ham & cheese, eggs & sausage & ham, fruit salad and vegetables…The also served sparkling vine, but I did not try it. They had a vanilla sugar by the tea and forest fruit by the yogurth -waw.
The restaurant is nice and they served also traditional food, I liked it. The guy in the restaurant was really helpful and friendly, he still smiles on the guest and was polite.
The young dark hair lady in the breakfast room was also great, she recommend me 2 restaurants in the city centre- both excellent. Younger receptionist and the front office manager were really helpful and friendly.
The hotel has good position; it is in a walkable distance from the centre and if you are little bit lazy just jump in to the tram 1 or 26 that will take you everywhere. The Belvedere is about 10 minutes by walk from the hotel and the Geometer is on the same underground line as the hotel.
I will come definitely back.

Room Tip: I had a great room to the coutyard- could sleep with open window as home(:
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelJulianPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear HotelJulianPrague,

thank you for posting your impressions about our Hotel Erzherzog Rainer.

We are delighted to read that you loved the design of the breakfast room and will definitely come back to see it again.

Your entire stay in Vienna seems to have been up to your expectations and we thank you very much for your compliments and your praise to the staff.

We will be happy to welcome you back again and look forward to your next booking.

In the meantime, we remain,

with kind regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a Century of Viennese charm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews