We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location,excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Strawberry Youth Hostel Mittelgasse
Ranked #79 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Reviewed September 15, 2012

stayed here just for one night while doing a quick spin round vienna.Nice big rooms clean and comfortable with a good unsuite. Good location with main shopping streets near by and public transport.staff very helpful with good english.Could leave our bags there for the day even after check out which is a big bonus.Would definately come back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taz886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 130 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

Great location, close to the metro. Clean room with own bathroom and fridge.
I just missed wifi in the room but there is a common room where you can use the internet or wifi.
I will return if Im in Vienna again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Veronika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Been here with my boyfriend. Clean two person room with own bathroom and fridge! That was a great surprise. We have cooked in the kitchen on our floor twice, so easy. Kitchen could be a little better equiped. Hostel has a great location, nearby Westbahnhof where we took the metro and train back to Holland. Loved this hostel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guusjevdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed my three nights at this hostel. The staff were very helpful and really helped with our queries. The loctation is fine, just a 25 min brisk walk into to the old civic centre, and really near both the west city station (west bahn Hoff) and the main shopping street.

The room ( we had a twin) was basic but it was clean and it's ensuite shower was lovely.

A nice large common room makes it easy to meet people and it has a ping pong table and a tv along with some free computers. I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitters80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

This was our first time in a hostel & I was very impressed. The location is perfect-very close to the metro, which is very to navigate & will take you anywhere you want to go.

The room was private, clean, quiet, with our own bathroom & shower & the beds were extremely comfortable (nicer than most hotel beds in fact).

The staff is friendly & helpful. There are maps & directions of things to do & places to see.

There is no AC, but the front desk will give you a fan if you ask (for free). They sell beer & water at the front desk for very reasonable prices& there's free wifi & games to play in the common room.

Overall a great stay! Will definitely return if I'm in beautiful Vienna again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Besssara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We travelled to Vienna from Budapest by train, so we only had to walk a few minutes from Westbahnhof to find the hostel. Metro station and tram were very close, we could get to Schönbrunn or Stephansplatz in 15-20 minutes. The staff was friendly and smiling. The room was pretty small and hot, but we only went there to sleep and shower so i guess it does not matter if you prefer taking your time sightseeing and not sitting in your room :) Also there is a fridge in the room with refridgerator too, and we could use the hostel kitchens. I was really surprised that there were no loud parties, actually it was quiet after 10 pm. We had a great time and I recommend this place to anyone who does not want to spend a lot of money on accomodation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _Betti_4_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Not the absolute best location but nice little hostel. We stayed in a 6 bed room and it was fairly spacious. The bathrooms were kept clean. The rooms were nice and quiet and we had no trouble getting to bed. Unfortunately there aren't many great places to eat around this area unless you venture closer to the city circle.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holy-ung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 221 in Vienna
964 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,588 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#48 of 359 in Vienna
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strawberry Youth Hostel Mittelgasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Youth Hostel Mittelgasse

Address: Mittelgasse 18, Vienna 1060, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range: $24 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Strawberry Youth Hostel Mittelgasse 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strawberry Hostel Wien is located just 3 minutes from the most famous shopping streets in Vienna, the ´Mariahilfer Strasse´ and near to the 'Westbahnhof´ railway station. You can reach the city centre in just a few minutes by public transport.The Strawberry Hostel offers comfortable rooms with private shower and toilette and refrigerator in each room. We provide our guests cooking facilities in fully-equipped kitchens. We also have laundry facilities, television and luggage room. Our friendly, helpful staff have excellent knowledge of the city's hot spots and can help with tourist information. We are offering 1-2-3-4 bedded rooms with shower and toilett inside the rooms. There are many different and nice restaurants in the direct neighbourhood for lunch and dinner.The hotel is an ideal starting point for your stay in Vienna. Nearby public transport connections provide a fast connection to Vienna's sights and locations further afield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Strawberry Youth Hostel Mittelgasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strawberry Youth Hostel Mittelgasse Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing