We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast”
Review of Das Capri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Das Capri
Ranked #15 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had two rooms, one facing the street and one facing the back. The one at the back had a balcony and overlooked another apartment block, the one at the front no balcony and overlooking the street. We didn't find it noisy in the streetside room and we slept with the windows open - as others have noted, no air-conditioning. We had a view of the church from our bed! Rooms were spacious and clean. Good location, very near metro (across the road if you take the elevator up from the platform), walking distance to the river. Breakfast provided an excellent choice. Check in and out was very efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony - some of the street side rooms have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geekgirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 659 of 1,729 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

The staff at the reception are really kind and helpful. The breakfast buffet offers a lot of different products and should have something for everyone. The quality of the food was very nice (and fresh).
We had booked a package online and when we got to the hotel, we were told that they had upgraded us to a premium room which was a real nice bonus. The room was large and had a big fridge (which came in handy as we had bought some products along the way that we wanted to keep cool). The room was clean and offered comfortable beds.
The bathroom was a bit on the small side. For me a larger shower would have been more comfortable. Having said that, everything was nice, working and clean. Which to me is a big deal. So overall the room and the bathroom were very nice.
The location of the hotel is great as there is a subway station about 2 minutes from the hotel that will take you into the city center (Stephansdom) in about 10 minutes.
The hotel offers private off street parking at a fee. If you want you can also reserve one of their garage boxes in advance.
I consider the price/quality (location) for this hotel to be very good and definitely worth the money.

Room Tip: A room at the front will experience a bit more noise but offer a nice street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a top quality hotel in a very good location, not far from the city centre. rooms are spotless clean. Breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of food to choose from. The staff were very friendly. I would reccomend this hotel to my friends and family if i had any :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holycowperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Capri in early July. I was hesitant to stay in a hotel on the Praterstrasse due to some reviews about the noise from the busy street. We were fortunate to have a room facing the courtyard and that made all the difference. There was no air conditioning so it was a bit warm even with a fan. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The neighborhood was a mix of small businesses and restaurants - nothing fancy. We were pleasantly surprised to find that it was only a short walk to the canal and that there was a variety of activities, restaurants and interesting gardens and street art (graffiti) to enjoy as we walked toward some of the more touristy areas of the city. The U Bahn stop right outside the hotel was also very convenient when we wanted to ride home. I would recommend this to others who were looking for a nice, clean, basic place to stay and not looking for a luxury spot to celebrate a special occasion.

Room Tip: courtyard, for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sstg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Huge rooms with separate bathroom and toilets ideal for families with kids --even had a verandah though not with any great view but could breathe the fresh air from your own balcony ! Huge buffet spread though stating your name / room no. everyday could easily be avoided. One of the receptionists could have been more polite --- though the other one was very nice and forthcoming on our queries etc. Could easily go to other places with the metro

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Areful I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed for a week on a business trip and this is a great place in terms of location and value-for-money. The rooms are clean and spacious and the staff are friendly and helpful. I would choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChengPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Capri for a week in June 2013 and had a wonderful stay. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. The room was very spacious and opened to the quiet courtyard. The buffet breakfast was one of the best I've had during my travels. Lots of choices and everything very fresh and tasty! The U-Bahn stop was right across the street, very convenient for getting anywhere. Great hotel at a great price!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard, it was quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andram27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 359 in Vienna
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,922 reviews
Serviten Quarter
The Harmonie Vienna
The Harmonie Vienna
#17 of 359 in Vienna
662 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Capri

Address: Praterstrasse 44-46 | 1020 Vienna, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Vienna
#17 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $92 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Das Capri 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel follows a clear philosophy oriented primarily toward the expectations of our guests, guaranteeing that you will love your memories of your stay in Vienna. Our philosophy here at Hotel Capri is easy to describe, but better to experience. Learn more about the merits of our popular family-run hotel in Vienna.The Hotel Capri PhilosophyDiscover the beauty of the Austrian capital and spend the night in our hotel in Vienna known and loved for its ideology of friendly service. Our family-run business scores not only with its courteous, personal treatment, but also the individualised service, overall tidy impression and relaxed, familiar atmosphere. Experience yourself why our hotel in Vienna is to well-liked by holiday and business travellers alike.The Hotel in Vienna that meets its customers' demandsWhether for a weekend trip, a business meeting or just for an entire week: with our comfortable and centrally-located hotel, you've made the right choice. The proximity to the most popular tourist attractions, along with the perfect link to Vienna's subway network makes it a popular destination for visitors coming to Vienna from all over the world.Environmental awareness is a major commitment. In 2005 and 2009, our hotel has been honored with the Austrian Environment Award for Tourism. Since this award is only valid for 4 years, we will re-submitted to the environmental enterprise certification process and look forward to once again being awarded the Austrian Environment Award for Tourism in 2013.Spend the night in a family-run hotelSimply convince yourself of the how the philosophy of true hospitality is practiced at the Capri. Our team is looking forward to receiving your non-binding rates inquiry, and we hope to see you to Vienna very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Das Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing