We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ideal hotel for a good value visit to Vienna”
Review of Das Capri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Das Capri
Ranked #17 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel was perfect for our trip to Vienna. It was an easy walk into the centre of the city and to the Prater park. The entrance to the underground was very close to the hotel doors and on the one rainy day, this was a bonus. The room was clean and well equipped - we even had a fridge so bought milk for our coffee. Our spacious bathroom had a bath and a shower over this. The breakfast was amazing with so much choice of food that it was hard to decide what to eat. We did not need a lunch after that. Had a room on the first floor and it looked out on to the main road. It was fairly quiet with the window closed but it would have been impossible to sleep with the window open. There is no air conditioning in the bedrooms so this could be a problem in mid summer when it is very hot.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for one at the rear of the building, away from the road and the church...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcmleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,676)
There are newer reviews for Das Capri
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

632 - 638 of 1,676 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great location, comfy, big room, nice bath.

Incredible breakfast with the best machine coffee I've ever had, top quality breads, honey, cheeses, juices, cakes and more.

Really lovely staff- one made us a brilliant recommendation for dinner which was one of the highlights of our trip.

If you are looking for a fairly-priced place to stay in central Vienna, you've just found it!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank AlexSwallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Good bed, good location, satisfying breakfast with really good scrambled egg, excellent shower room. Metro station at a few steps with one stop to the old city. I was very satisfied - my only criticism would be that it isn't a full service hotel with a bar and restaurant. On the other hand, they don't charge full service prices!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Campbell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very friendly staff who are keen to help with any queries. Stayed in room on the 7th floor at front of building. Room excellent but if you like window open at night traffic very noisy so look for room to rear of building. However room is very bright and you have a good view out of window. Buffet breakfast is very good, with large range of food to select from. Excellent location to visit city and main centre of interest is a short walk away. Also U station right outside hotel so travelling around city and from airport is very easy. Wi fi available and also use of PC in hotel loby.

Room Tip: If you open windows in rooms to front of hotel traffic very noisy day and night.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just returned from a four night stay at Hotel Capri. We had a twin room on the second floor at the back. You can hear sounds from people in other rooms but nothing that was a problem - I always use ear plugs in hotels anyway. The room was comfortable and clean, bathroom great. Hotel location was excellent for access to the u bahn and is on line 1, only two stops from Stephanplatz; if you use the lift to come to street level when returning to the hotel, it's even nearer to the hotel entrance. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was great - lots of choice and constantly replenished by staff. If you like having a cup of tea in your room and prefer English breakfast tea and like tea as much as we do, you might want to bring some tea bags with you, they supply four tea bags a day automatically but only one EB bag.

Room Tip: If you prefer to sleep with an open window, it's worth asking to stay at the back.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon trip to Vienna May 2013.

Checking in was a breeze. The room was ready hours in advance, meaning we could get in, washed, and hit the road for some exploring of the Vienna city-scape. The check in staff were lovely and very informative about local activities and the sights to see.

The room was spacious and more than adequate in furnishings for two people. We were situated at the back of the hotel which was quiet and perfect (even during the MASSIVE thunderstorm which we could only hear with the window open) The Internet was fast and you didn't need to re log in every time you wanted to use it, unlike some other places I've stayed.

The biggest pleasure was how clean the room was. The room and bathroom were spotless. The cleaning staff were around from early in the morning making sure everywhere was spotless.

The breakfast was plentiful with great choice for a continental.

The location is about 10-15 minutes walk from the stadtpark area and about 5 or so minutes more to the Stephansplatz area (the very middle). Easy to walk around from but if your mobility is a little restricted (like mine) then there is a tube station literally exactly opposite the hotel with a lift entry onto the platform (take note, London!)

I'd definitely stay again :)

Room Tip: I'd definitely ask for a back facing room :)
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Praow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The staff was lovely and helpful during check-in/ check-out. We were given a city map and sightseeing tips too.

Hotel location was fantastic for us - arrived on boat TwinCityLiner from Bratislava, Slovakia to "Schwedenplatz" Vienna, Austria and took the Metro U1 and stop at Nestroyplatz, the stop for the hotel. We took the lift from the metro and overground we quickly spotted the hotel next to restaurant or shops which was only a few steps away from us after the pedestrian crossing.

The room we had was on the top floor and the views were beautiful facing the mountain and church and busy main road. There weren't air con. but a electric fan which we switched on plus we had the windows opened. It wasn't too warm so it was fine for us. There were tea/coffee making facilities plus a fridge- great for chilling drinks which you can buy from supermarkets (Must check with Hotel of their opening time! At around 9 pm they were closed. About 5 minute walk).

Breakfast was great with good selections of hot and cold items and the staff was lovely too. It was very busy. Loved the delicious pastry and cakes!

Would recommend this hotel especially for the value; lovely staff and ease of access to great transportation!

Room Tip: High floor and may be not facing the busy road during the hot summer.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lipsytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 361 in Vienna
2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Capri

Address: Praterstrasse 44-46 | 1020 Vienna, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Vienna
#17 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#19 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $101 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Das Capri 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel follows a clear philosophy oriented primarily toward the expectations of our guests, guaranteeing that you will love your memories of your stay in Vienna. Our philosophy here at Hotel Capri is easy to describe, but better to experience. Learn more about the merits of our popular family-run hotel in Vienna.The Hotel Capri PhilosophyDiscover the beauty of the Austrian capital and spend the night in our hotel in Vienna known and loved for its ideology of friendly service. Our family-run business scores not only with its courteous, personal treatment, but also the individualised service, overall tidy impression and relaxed, familiar atmosphere. Experience yourself why our hotel in Vienna is to well-liked by holiday and business travellers alike.The Hotel in Vienna that meets its customers' demandsWhether for a weekend trip, a business meeting or just for an entire week: with our comfortable and centrally-located hotel, you've made the right choice. The proximity to the most popular tourist attractions, along with the perfect link to Vienna's subway network makes it a popular destination for visitors coming to Vienna from all over the world.Environmental awareness is a major commitment. In 2005 and 2009, our hotel has been honored with the Austrian Environment Award for Tourism. Since this award is only valid for 4 years, we will re-submitted to the environmental enterprise certification process and look forward to once again being awarded the Austrian Environment Award for Tourism in 2013.Spend the night in a family-run hotelSimply convince yourself of the how the philosophy of true hospitality is practiced at the Capri. Our team is looking forward to receiving your non-binding rates inquiry, and we hope to see you to Vienna very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Das Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing