We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty close to perfect”
Review of Das Capri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Das Capri
Ranked #15 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I think the only negative I actually have about this hotel is that the wifi only worked for one device at a time (seriously the ex backpacker in me is very ashamed to admit that this is where my standards are these days!)

Everything else was pretty spot on - the room was huge, the beds were comfy, the service was efficient, not overly friendly but good enough, the breakfast buffet was the best I’ve ever had, decent coffee, massive choice and all good quality.

The location was perfect for us, 10 mins walk to the edge of the centre, 20 mins to the heart, and best of all for us less than 10 mins walk to the boat down to Bratislava when we were moving on to our next destination.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FoodfiendWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,736)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

728 - 734 of 1,736 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel was a one night stay on our trip around Europe. Smart, modern and clean the room was comfortable, the pillows were soft but not flat this is not always as easy to find as you think.
Good location with the underground on the doorstep as it were.
Breakfast was busy you could hear the chattering and china clinking before you got there, and it was value and a great way to start our day. Would book again and could stay for a week easily.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roronow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Hotel in a good location with easy access to the centre of Vienna - it'sjust a ten minute walk or two stops on the underground, the nearest station is right outside the front door. I received a warm welcome from reception staff and they were most helpful providing information about restaurants and attractions throughout my stay.
The room was very spacious, well equipped and standards of cleanliness were superb. The cleaners too were always friendly and helpful.
There was a really wide choice at the buffet breakfast, breads, meats, cheeses, yoghurts, cereals were all in plentiful supply and constantly replenished.Once again, staff were very friendly and helpful.
For the price I paid, I was really impressed with the outstanding service I received. I will definitely stay here on my next visit to Vienna. Thanks to everyone at Hotel Capri.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HOHOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were 5 family members in the 6th floor suite- very comfortable, well designed and beautiful atmosphere. The breakfast buffet was rich and varied ,the service was excellent, attentive and resourceful. Location is fantastic- 2 minutes to the nearest underground station and a very easy access to get out of the city.
We enjoyed very much our stying at the Capri Hotel, and recommend it especially as a solution for families or small groups travelling together.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Capri for one night in January before traveling to Eastern Europe. I booked based on reviews on trip advisors. We were looking for a comfortable, quiet hotel with a reasonable price and were not let down.

Positives: The front desk staff was extremely helpful and friendly. They stored our skiis in the basement overnight for us without any hassle and in fact it was their suggestion. The room was clean and pretty basic. Free Wi-Fi worked in the room and was a decent speed. Minimal street noise even though we overlooked the street and were staying on a Friday night.

The best part of our stay was the European breakfast--we found it to be comprehensive and fresh with meats, cheeses, yogurt and muesli, breads and juices. Perfect before starting a day of traveling or sightseeing.

The U Bahn is a short walk and there is a Billa and Spar right up the street for snacks/water/groceries/beer/etc.

We would definitely stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jskendzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

While this is not a luxury hotel, it has everything you need. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was spacious and clean. The location is good, there is a u-bahn station just in front of the hotel (Nestroyplatz station) which makes all the attractions easily accessible.
To arrive the hotel you could take the s-bahn from the airport to Praterstern station and then take the u-bahn for 1 more stop. You can take this trip using 24 or 72 hour travel card (about 14.5E) or vienna card+ 1 more ticket (costing 2 euro) rather than paying 12E single using city airport train and than changing two trains.
Breakfast buffet was pretty good with nice selection of fresh food. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a good all-around package.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WereRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel is located really quite close to very central part of Vienna city, in the middle of Vienna’s Second District. It is easy acessible by subway. The elevator of metro station is in the middle of road nearly opposite to entrance of the hotel. The street is quiet, rooms are not large, but sufficient spacious. We took a standard room for very attractive price. It was clean, bright, and comfortable. Receptionists were always friendly and helpful. Cleaning was done regularly and perfectly. Breakfast buffet has quite large selection for three star hotel. We were lacking some fresh prest juice, but there were good quality fruits served and what more important to us as a heavy coffee drinkers, unlimited availability of fresh coffee from coffee maker.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanisLatvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 359 in Vienna
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,928 reviews
Serviten Quarter
The Harmonie Vienna
The Harmonie Vienna
#17 of 359 in Vienna
664 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#4 of 359 in Vienna
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Capri

Address: Praterstrasse 44-46 | 1020 Vienna, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Vienna
#17 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $94 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Das Capri 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel follows a clear philosophy oriented primarily toward the expectations of our guests, guaranteeing that you will love your memories of your stay in Vienna. Our philosophy here at Hotel Capri is easy to describe, but better to experience. Learn more about the merits of our popular family-run hotel in Vienna.The Hotel Capri PhilosophyDiscover the beauty of the Austrian capital and spend the night in our hotel in Vienna known and loved for its ideology of friendly service. Our family-run business scores not only with its courteous, personal treatment, but also the individualised service, overall tidy impression and relaxed, familiar atmosphere. Experience yourself why our hotel in Vienna is to well-liked by holiday and business travellers alike.The Hotel in Vienna that meets its customers' demandsWhether for a weekend trip, a business meeting or just for an entire week: with our comfortable and centrally-located hotel, you've made the right choice. The proximity to the most popular tourist attractions, along with the perfect link to Vienna's subway network makes it a popular destination for visitors coming to Vienna from all over the world.Environmental awareness is a major commitment. In 2005 and 2009, our hotel has been honored with the Austrian Environment Award for Tourism. Since this award is only valid for 4 years, we will re-submitted to the environmental enterprise certification process and look forward to once again being awarded the Austrian Environment Award for Tourism in 2013.Spend the night in a family-run hotelSimply convince yourself of the how the philosophy of true hospitality is practiced at the Capri. Our team is looking forward to receiving your non-binding rates inquiry, and we hope to see you to Vienna very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Das Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing