We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff and breakfast are the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Ranked #8 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I was at the hotel on a city break.
When I arrived, I was greeted by very helpful receptionist. I have to admit being disappointed when i entered my room. It is a bit dated and the dark red paint with golden ceiling was not the most appealing. Bathroom needs updating. The standard of the room will be that of a 3 star.

However, the lounge area is really cosy and you can sit there by the fire place in the evening. I missed the afternoon cakes which was a real shame.
Breakfast was great!

Location is good too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moumin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

904 - 910 of 2,471 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

I have been travelling to Vienna for 25 years, and have stayed in a wide variety of places, including a half dozen times in this hotel. The Alstadt is in a class by itself. It is stylish / cool while providing old school service you would imagine belonging to a previous age; the location is great, near the Ring and museums; and the rooms, beds and all provide top quality comfort. There are some lovely big hotels in Vienna, but if you want something a bit more personal, a bit more special, this is the place to stay.

One recommendation: Even if your schedule is full, take time for breakfast in the hotel's lovely, bright dining area / lounge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harkish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Very simply summarized: a great hotel, a heaven of atmosphere. It is spread over several floors in a huge typically Viennese house, where still some residents live, the rooms are specious and all individually design, very tasteful, l'Occitance toiletries, great beds, fantastic breakfast, original artwork on the walls (allegedly the reason to open that hotel in the first place: that the owner needed wallspace to hand his art collection), and, above all: extremely friendly and helpful staff. I as traveling with a small dog, no problem at all (not allowed in all rooms). And the price is, considering what you get, very ver reasonable. Free WLan, just to mention it.

Room Tip: look at the rooms in the internet to find out which atmosphere of the very individually appointed ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unstraight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altstadt, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for sharing your experience in our house with the travel community!

It's just wonderful to hear, that you enjoyed the design and atmosphere as well as the breakfast and the qualities of our service that much! Of course it goes without saying that not only our human guests but also their beloved pets are more than welcome to get spoiled when being with us! - we hope your dog enjoyed his stay too! :)

It would be a real pleasure to welcoming you some other time in the near future again!

Greetings from sunny Vienna,

the Altstadt Vienna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

It was a pleasure staying at the Altstadt... delicious buffet breakfast, wonderful rooms with great decor, really large luxurious shower and afternoon cake and tea was a nice touch too! Really glad that we made the choice to stay here... would definitely recommend for a romantic getaway, and would definitely come back :)

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank NatashaLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altstadtvienna, Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear NatashaLa!

We thank you very much for having chosen the Altstadt Vienna as your residence during your recent visit to Vienna.

Great to hear, that you have enjoyed the rooms, the breakfast and the complimentary afternoon tea. Thats how it should be!

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review and yes, you definitely have to come back!

Greetings to London
Alexandra & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Excellent choice! You feel welcome, even before you arrive. Communication regarding details was fast and very friendly. The hotel is an old townhouse (it would seem as if there still were 'normal' apartments), redecorated in an original and colourful style. Our family was distributed in three, very differently decorated and spacious rooms, a rarity in the hotel world. Excellent breakfast with fresh bread, fresh fruit (including freshly made fruit salad), a variety of delicious preserves and free tea and cake in front of a warming fire on a cold January day makes you feel cared for in a special way. The staff is very friendly and makes you feel part of the 'Altstadt' family from the moment you step in. Thanks for the 'Bettmümpferl', I hadn't seen it in years.
I most warmly recommend it, if you wish to make your Vienna trip extra special.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 23Sylvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altstadtvienna, Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear 23Sylvie!

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our house with the travel community.

I have already shared your wonderful comments with my team and we are most appreciative of your recognition.

Thank you for your support and especially for making our day!

Greetings to Odense
Alexandra & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This hotel is a real one-off. Quite different from most other hotels!

I was tempted to book after reading other reviews on Trip Advisor, so took the plunge and booked for a 2-night business trip in January

This is one of the friendliest, most interesting hotels you could choose to visit. The rooms are excellent, very clean and comfortable and with some interesting and quirky art.

The staff are very friendly. Without fail, the service was impeccable but very genuine.

My favourite feature of all was the salon. Great for breakfast, fab for free tea and cake in the afternoon and a most relaxing place to sit and unwind with a glass of wine at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeamishG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altstadtvienna, Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear BeamishG!

On behalf of the entire Altstadt Team I would like to thank you very much for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay with us and the travel community.

We are thrilled to hear that you found the Altstadt Vienna to be one of the friendliest and most interesting hotels to visit. And your wonderful comments about the staff couldn't have been more motivating!

Thank you very much for your visit and for your support.

It would be a pleasure to welcoming you some other time in the near future again - until then wishing you all the best!

Greetings to Warrington
Alexandra & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Great hotel with high-ceilinged, well-furnished rooms and a great buffet breakfast. It's located in what was once a working-class inner city district that has now been gentrified.

It's less than ten minutes' walk to the ring and the staff are very welcoming. There's also a good array of small bars and reasonably priced restaurants in the area, so, all in all, a winning combination of quality and location!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisSBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 358 in Vienna
1,537 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#4 of 358 in Vienna
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#13 of 358 in Vienna
1,388 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#3 of 358 in Vienna
1,120 reviews
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altstadt Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altstadt Vienna

Address: Kirchengasse 41, Vienna 1070, Austria (Formerly Romantik Hotel Altstadt Vienna)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vienna
#2 Business Hotel in Vienna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $178 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Altstadt Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of the city’s 7th district and next to Vienna's Museumsquarter, behind the splendid façade of an old patrician house, one finds the Hotel Altstadt Vienna. Since its opening in 1991 the stylish 4-star hotel has been a favourite hideaway for art-lovers, design aficionados and cultural insiders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Altstadt Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadt Vienna Hotel Vienna
Altstadt Hotel Vienna
Vienna Altstadt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing