We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect trip to Vienna!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Ranked #7 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

After staying in the Altstadt, Vienna it is safe to say it was the perfect trip to Vienna! The staff were excellent and the rooms and designs throughout the building were engaging and exciting. As we walked through the halls to find our room we were thrilled to find out what designs were to come next. Everything worked together to create a brilliant hotel.

We were pleased with our rooms which were of generous sizes with clean bathrooms (which also had products of a high standard).

The food and service was also excellent and we were very pleased with the afternoon tea in the lounge.

Overall, great hotel which is highly recommend.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank bevtaylor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

977 - 983 of 2,592 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

Picture this: a plane departs Melbourne airport at 3.00pm and we've been awake for nine hours already . . . fly to Bangkok (another ten hours), wait for four hours, then fly to Vienna (another 11 hours). Now it's a bit after 5.00am, we've been awake for 34 hours and the Austrian sun is about to rise . . .

And over the next couple of hours we realise what a wonderful choice of hotel we've made! We'd arranged things by email several months earlier, and the Altstadt had arranged a chauffeur who is waiting for us, grabs our bags and drives us to the hotel. There's a lift - well two in fact - to the first floor and the girls at reception are wonderful. Out room's not ready - no surprise there given it's 6.00am! - but our bags are safely stored and we're invited through to the restaurant on the same floor and find the most wonderful buffet. The coffee is great, the selection of savoury and sweet items is lovely, there's Prosecco on the sideboard, and they'll cook things to order. We spend a couple of hours there, grab 24 hour transport tickets from reception, and then head out to familiarise ourselves with the city.

The hotel calls us shortly before noon and we return to move into our room. We'd selected the Suite Privée to provide separate bedrooms for mum & dad and for our teenage daughter, We could not have been happier and as we walked in we couldn't have been more amazed: an entrance hall with dressing room (photo attached) to the left and large bathroom to the right. Then straight ahead into the living room with sofa, chairs, desk (and it's excellent pod coffee maker!), and a very large screen TV. Our daughter's bedroom was small with a double and single, whilst ours was enormous with a king sized bed.

What didn't work out well? Nothing other than the fact that we were defeated by the heating system and simply couldn't get it cool enough at times (yes it was about zero C outside!) without opening a window or two.

What did work out well? We loved the location in Spittelberg with a Christmas market just a couple of streets away. Transport wise it's ideal, with the 13A route in the street outside, and the 48A heading in and out of Dr Karl Renner Ring (linking up with the Ring trams and trains) in the streets left and right of the hotel. In the streets beyond, one had the trams on each, and it was just a short walk to Volksoper station. We loved the drinks and cake each afternoon, the wonderful breakfasts, the ridiculously attentive staff (that's a good thing), the lounge with the Christmas tree and our amazing suite.

Will we stay there again - absolutely!

(Note: We stayed just prior to Christmas in December 2012 but I've left it too late to write the review and TripAdvisor has removed the Dec 2012 box.)

Room Tip: Spend some time on the Altstadt's web site - every room is different and we were not at all disa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nawlinsgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Before we even arrived the reception staff had been extremely helpful with booking meals over Christmas (they met our brief perfectly) and a car to collect us from the airport. We wanted to stay somewhere which reflected Vienna: the old, the new, the art, the warm hospitality, the 'wow' factor. This was 'spot on' for a relaxing Christmas break, with its impeccable, friendly service, real fire, stunning artwork, delightful afternoon tea & cake and great breakfasts, complete with Prosecco and wonderful Viennese breads. The two rooms we had were quite different but both featured good beds, amazing design features and an array of furniture and special touches to make guests feel cosseted: good lighting, easy chairs, books, magazines, good toiletries and chocolates! Highly recommended if you want to relax at Christmas or any other time of the year, not least as you can walk to many of the museums; there are public transport stops nearby (tram/bus/metro) and/or helpful, friendly staff will call a taxi for you, which will arrive promptly. There are good, typically Austrian (and other) restaurants within walking distance - just ask the staff! We would definitely choose this hotel again and have already recommended it to friends.

Room Tip: If you want a treat, go for one of the slightly bigger 'design' rooms - ask the staff which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful hotel, perfect service and friendly hosts. A 15 minutes walk to the Hofburg palace. The hotel is located in an upcoming, trendy part of the city. Breakfast with plenty choice of whatever you would like. This is a place to revisit!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank janchantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We spent three days at the Alstadt towards the end of November (first snow of the year fell) and also towards the end of a European tour. It was the best place ever to end a tour! We had a junior suite, one of the older style rooms (they are all so different) and it was amazing - great bathroom, heaps of room, four poster QS bed. The evening time was so good - relax and have a wine or a beer, and not be charged excessive hotel prices. The staff were great at check-in, really helpful in assisting us with restaurant choices and offered fantastic service. Breakfast was good - amazing array of breads and continental offerings as well as eggs done any way you like. Over all, it was just a fantastic three nights. The Alstadt Hotel Vienna rocks! And hey, check out the artwork around the place - from bizarre to truly beautiful ... an experience not to be missed. Loved it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KPC4348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was a nice find. We stayed here for a weekend in December and can confirm the very friendly service mentioned in the other reviews.

First impressions, if you are dragging a suitcase from the nearby metro station, aren't great. Once you have located the hotel, you are confronted by a flight of stairs to reception (or a lift). Once you have negotiated that, reception is through a narrow door with a little step, not really designed with suitcases in mind. However, once that hurdle was overcome, and my luggage was installed, I very much liked this hotel.

The breakfast was good and varied although there were fewer items prepared to order than one might have expected in a hotel of this quality. Perhaps we were there at the wrong time.
Afternoon tea / Kaffee und Kuchen was an unexpected bonus and a very nice way of warming up after a cold afternoon outside in Vienna. Tea, cake and an open fire. Mmmmmmmm.
We did not eat at the hotel in the evening - I'm not even sure that you can - but there is a little map with good local recommendations freely available at reception and the receptionist happily made a dinner reservation for us at a nearby restaurant.

The hotel was well located for walking into the city centre or travelling by tube or tram. The nearby Christmas market Am Spittelberg was definitely worth a visit but we also walked to the markets at the Rathausplatz, Maria-Theresienplatz, the MuseumsQuartier and the Karlsplatz.

The room was a very good size with a high ceiling. The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. The only niggle about the bedroom - why hide the electric sockets behind the bedside tables? There is a good chance that guests will want to plug in their mobile phones or laptops. It's a pain to have to pull the table out and scrabble down the back of it!
The bathroom was very small. It would have been nice to have had a little more room in there.

Note for silly British tourists like me: there are roller blinds between the two windows. Do not assume that the curtains are too narrow - they are for window dressing only! And they also cover the radiator so it is not a good idea to draw them in winter. Use the blinds!

The wifi was faultless and free and worked on three devices (apple phone, android phone and laptop).

The info in the hotel says that the owner purchased it as he was looking for somewhere to display his art collection. This certainly gives the hotel a very unique feel. Whether you are an art fan or not, you certainly don't feel as though you are in an American chain hotel. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff also contribute towards this feeling.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Weary235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altstadtvienna, Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Weary235!

On behalf of the entire Altstadt Vienna Team I would like to thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to write a review concerning your experience in our house.

Your wonderful comments are not only velvet on our soul (!), we are certain that your detailed description will be very helpful and informative to the travel community!

We thank you also very much for pointing out small things that can and will be improved and for your overall support.

It would be a pleasure to welcoming you some other time in the near future again!

Merry Christmas and all the best for 2014!
Alexandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip to Vienna. Excellent helpful staff. I stayed in a single room and it was average and small - standard European room - but had everything I needed. Staff was really great and helpful. Breakfast very nice and good coffee. I would definitely stay here again.

Walking distance to so many Christmas markets. ;)

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank lmlmlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altstadtvienna, Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear ImImIm!

Thank you very much for having chosen the Altstadt Vienna as your residence during your recent visit to Vienna. Your wonderful comments about location, breakfast, coffee and especially about the staff are most motivating!

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such nice words and yes, please come and visit again!

Greetings to Boulder, Colorado
Alexandra & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,962 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,603 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage Design & Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 359 in Vienna
1,435 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#6 of 359 in Vienna
1,022 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altstadt Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altstadt Vienna

Address: Kirchengasse 41, Vienna 1070, Austria (Formerly Romantik Hotel Altstadt Vienna)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vienna
#2 Business Hotel in Vienna
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $186 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Altstadt Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of the city’s 7th district and next to Vienna's Museumsquarter, behind the splendid façade of an old patrician house, one finds the Hotel Altstadt Vienna. Since its opening in 1991 the stylish 4-star hotel has been a favourite hideaway for art-lovers, design aficionados and cultural insiders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Altstadt Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadt Vienna Hotel Vienna
Altstadt Hotel Vienna
Vienna Altstadt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing