We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Alstadt is a great place from which to explore Vienna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Ranked #9 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife and I just finished a 12 day 30th Anniversary Trip to Europe (Prague, Vienna and Budapest). We tend to stay at places that are 3 to 4 stars as we usually do not need pampering. However, we do expect a nice bed, comfortable room, hot shower and decent service. The Hotel Alstadt met and exceeded all of these expectations. MOST IMPORTANTLY: The service was 5 stars. Every service person associated with the front desk, breakfast and room service went beyond the call of duty to be friendly, take the time to help you, and make the stay a great one.

Other Highlights of Positives:

1. Room was large and nice (we stayed in a classic room)
2. Front Desk provided a nice convenient card with recommended restaurants including local map which saved us from figuring it out.
3. Breakfast was outstanding (fresh fruit, great coffee, cappucino, etc)
4. They actually had hand towels in bathroom!

My only recommendation is to have a ledge put in the showers for soap, shampoo, etc. They provided trays but this was a little ackward.

Mark

Room Tip: Classic is classic. We were on 3rd floor which was nice.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altstadtvienna, Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Mark J!

First of all we feel very honored that you have chosen the Altstadt Vienna as your residence in Vienna on the special occassion of your 30th Anniversary Trip.

We are most obliged to hear that we have not only met your expectations but also exceeded them! This is our only and every day aim and your recognition really adds to our motivation.

Thank you very much for your kind and wonderful comments and we hope to welcoming you soon again - latest on your 31st Anniversary!

Alexandra & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,373)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Altstadt Vienna
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

914 - 920 of 2,373 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is a gem in a very good location for transport and restaurants. From check in you notice they do things differently with some excellent personal touches. Service and staff attention to detail is excellent. The decor and furnishings are top class and collectively this creates a very 'homely'. The afternoon tea and breakfast is exquisite which is why I missed exercising in the pool or fitness centre!

As for the rooms, we were lucky enough to have a suite which is simply elegant and very comfortable. Again the decor and layout were very sophisticated and created an air of relaxation. Book this room if you want to spoil or impress someone!

Overall our stay was extremely pleasant and relaxing and I could not fault the hotel or its staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDoctorX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night during the week in summer and it was simply a pleasure. From check in to check out everything went smoothly and the staff was very welcoming and responsive. The design of the rooms is really unique for the city and you did feel like home, even The hotel is a hidden treasure in the heart of Vienna.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H_P_111188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

The service was outstanding at this small and charming hotel. It is not a place for those seeking the trimmings of large hotel chains but for those who want a comfortable and charming hotel with personal service, great breakfast and comfortable beds, Altstadt is perfect. The classic rooms are quite large (particularly if you are used to Paris or New York room sizes) and more than adequate for a few nights.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicholasbarrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We arrived at Volkstheatre station and tried to walk to the apartment with our luggage. It was a long walk. Wouldn't recommend this. Take the tram 48A for one stop instead.

The hotel is lovely with high ceiling, lots of space and a huge bathroom. There were nice touches like a bottle of wine, a coffee machine and a fruit platter. The toiletries provided from from L'Occitane and there were 2 rubber duckies in the bathroom. Even we were a group of three, there was plenty of space.

Tea is provided daily from 4-6 pm. Not much variety but a slice of cake with hot coffee and tea was welcome. The complementary breakfast was delicious! I found the breads, the butter, cheese and cold cuts splendid.

Hotel is within walking distance to main sights and if you, like us had walked too much in Europe, you can always take a tram around. Very convenient.

I really like this place, and would highly recommend visitors to Wien.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faith_Liu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is the first hotel in my entire life where I had the impression of being home. The room are big, the bed extremely comfortable and it really looks like a super stylish apartment.

It could have 5 stars if some walls were painted again and if the service was a bit more helpful (very nice people indeed, but the level of service they provided is weak compared to hotels of the same standing. For example, the reception is at the first floor and nobody helped us carrying our 5 pieces of luggage, neither at our arrival our departure.)


The fact that all the rooms are decorated differently, as well as the presence of a "smoking saloon" is a massive plus. Also the breakfast was absolutely brilliant.

If you have money and are looking for a "home feeling" instead of a "luxury feeling", just go there (but please not when we'll come back)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qlemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The location is very good. It is a walk distance from touristic places and also to public transportation. The building is very nice and so was our suite. Well decorated and full of details.
Breakfast is wonderful. There is even champagne. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
It is on a quite street.
It is a wonderful hotel. Different in many ways. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: A suite is the best option. The room is big, there is even a coffee maker. The bathroom is wonderf...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,479 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#4 of 361 in Vienna
1,093 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#13 of 361 in Vienna
1,362 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altstadt Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altstadt Vienna

Address: Kirchengasse 41, Vienna 1070, Austria (Formerly Romantik Hotel Altstadt Vienna)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vienna
#2 Business Hotel in Vienna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#9 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $178 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Altstadt Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of the city’s 7th district and next to Vienna's Museumsquarter, behind the splendid façade of an old patrician house, one finds the Hotel Altstadt Vienna. Since its opening in 1991 the stylish 4-star hotel has been a favourite hideaway for art-lovers, design aficionados and cultural insiders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Altstadt Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadt Vienna Hotel Vienna
Altstadt Hotel Vienna
Vienna Altstadt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing