We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Ranked #7 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
163 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Altstadt Vienna is a very friendly boutique hotel. Do not be misled by the first impression on entering the building foyer where you have a sign informing you to take the lift to the reception which is on the first floor the second sign is the more important sign telling you that you are in one of the small luxury hotels of the world. Altstadt lives up to this reputation it is a small luxury hotel where the people make you very comfortable and welcome.

The hotel serves a very good breakfast with a good selections of fresh fruits both cut and uncut, cheese, cold meats and salmon, salad vegetables, some very good home made pâté, excellent selection of breads, cake, eggs to order selection of coffee and a big selection of teas to choose from. The hotel also offers tea, cake, chocolate bites and fresh fruit as evening tea.

Location wise the hotel is very central less than a 10 minute walk from the Museum Quarters.

We stayed two nights at the Altstadt and enjoyed our stay here immensely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyKochhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,621
    351
    57
    17
    3
See reviews for
319
1,070
118
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South West London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just back from two days at the Altstadt and wish it could have been longer. Absolutely lovely hotel, smart, stylish, comfortable and welcoming. Gorgeous room, fabulous breakfast, delightful staff, convenient location two spits away from the Museum Quartier and a lovely twenty minute walk to the Hofburg and the centre of town. Not cheap, but fantastically could value for what you get. Couldn't have liked it more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotelsarelovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altstadtvienna, Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear "Hotelsarelovely"!

Thank you very much for staying with us during your recent visit to Vienna and for your recognition. Your comments are indeed very motivating for us - couldn't have liked it more!

Thank you for your support and remember to stay longer on your next visit!

Alexandra & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Hospitality of this hotel was great! Was very pleased with the co-operative staff. Breakfast was great! Will definitely recommend to everyone. Location was great!. We were traveling with our 20 month baby and they were so baby friendly. Our room was a designer room and was very beautiful and spacious which you would not expect in a European hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rohitmittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altstadtvienna, Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear rohitmittal!

If you are happy, we are happy, too!

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your support by sharing your wonderful comments with the TA travel community.

Greetings to Chicago
and a big kiss for the baby!

Alexandra & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torbay, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Super friendly and efficient right from the start of booking online, everything was perfect for our dream trip to Austria. Location fantastic could walk everywhere, breakfast amazing loved it. Very helpful nothing was a problem. So quite even though we were in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altstadtvienna, Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Suzanne B!

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback concerning your experience in our house. We are very happy to hear that we could contribute to your dream trip to Austria!

Greetings to New Zealand
and we hope to see you sometime in the near future again

Alexandra & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Lovely hotel off the beaten path with outstanding customer service. Breakfast area looks like an art museum with great food as well. They were extremely helpful with anything I asked. Room was large and well appointed. Would have loved to stayed longer.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Freud junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlinghurst, SYDNEY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

one of my favourite hotels on my long RTW trip. got upgraded to the felix suite, which was sensational. only trouble was finding the light switches in the dark, dark room with dark dark walls and floors. seriously sexy interior decoration and cool bath elevated on a platform - great fun. thankfully the room was cool, the weather was crazy hot!
shower temperature control knobs made no sense and every shower was a gamble....

breakfast was unimaginative. didnt find the gym, cant comment...

had to leave vienna early, but wish I could have spent more time in this room! will stay on my return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grainger22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were 1 of 3 couples staying here so we had the opportunity to see 3 different rooms all located on level 1. Clean but not much of a view if that is what you are after. Huge shower stall and bathroom. The location was a 10 minute walk to most major attractions. The breakfast and afternoon tea was included in the rate which is great after eating out for lunch and dinners. I would recommended Hotel Altstadt to a friend. The only negative was the extremely small and hot reception area. There seemed to always be a line. Staff was helpful but when asked about an open drug store on Sunday (everything but restaurants and museums are closed on Sunday), she sent us to a wrong location and then was frustrated upon our return! At the next one we had to ring a bell for a small window to be opened. Something again she forgot to mention.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altstadtvienna, Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Tippet_fromchicago!

Thank you very much for staying at the Altstadt on your recent visit to Vienna and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback concerning your experience in our house.

We sincerely apologize for having sent you to a wrong location when looking for an open drug store on Sunday and for not mentioning the door bell. Those are little things we already take for granted therefore please forgive us for not having thought of it.

Thank you very much for pointing this out as this is a big help in order to improve upon our services!

Greetings to North Carolina
Alexandra Wallner & Altstadt Vienna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altstadt Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altstadt Vienna

Property: Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Address: Kirchengasse 41, Vienna 1070, Austria (Formerly Romantik Hotel Altstadt Vienna)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vienna
#2 Business Hotel in Vienna
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Altstadt Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of the city’s 7th district, behind the splendid façade of an old patrician house, one finds the Hotel Altstadt Vienna. Since its opening in 1991 the stylish 4-star hotel has been a favourite hideaway for art-lovers, musicians, and non-group travellers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Altstadt Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadt Vienna Hotel Vienna
Altstadt Hotel Vienna
Vienna Altstadt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing