We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and service in Vienna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Ranked #6 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Hotel Altstadt Vienna was exactly what we needed for our December stay in Vienna. For the eight nights we were there, we were very well taken care of due to the professionalism and helpfulness of the staff. They did everything to make us feel welcome, which added to our experience in beautiful Vienna. Restaurant recommendations were all excellent and the front desk helped us sort out train connection requirements for our side trip to Bratisalva.

Because the hotel sits just outside the the main city ring it is a tremendous value but is still close to attractions and public transport. My guess is that we paid half of what it would cost to stay in the dead center of town. The subway and tram connections are a short five minute walk down the hill from the hotel. Just take the time to learn the very easy subway and tram system, buy a multi-day ticket, and see all of Vienna with ease!

Our double classic room was very large, making it great for relaxing and feeling more like a local than a tourist. We were on the sixth floor with a nice view of a church tower and Vienna's rooftops. Beds were comfortable and the bathroom was very modern with a great shower. Breakfast was very good each day and we never ventured out hungry. The wait staff was very attentive and friendly.

If you like boutique hotels of great value and like a more local experience than glitzy resorts are able to provide, this is a great place to stay. Again I can't say enough about how helpful the staff was. It really makes me want to rebook here when we go back. Enjoy Vienna!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ADayNotWasted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,093 - 1,099 of 2,513 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a nice small hotel in the museum district of Vienna. We enjoyed our stay here with a large room and attentive service. Breakfast was excellent and the serving staff was very professional.
One of the quirks of this hotel is the floor and room numbering. There are actually 6 floors but they list them as E, R, M, and 1-3. See the attached photo. The elevator on the entry floor (E) is hidden behind a wall so it is easy to miss. The reception is on the 2nd floor (R) where they also serve breakfast. If you miss the elevator, it’s a long way up the steps to reception with your luggage! Plus the room numbers don’t correspond with the floor numbers – a little confusing.
The location is excellent....close to many museums and the government buildings. It is also convenient to public transportation. We had a special package that also included a concert and tickets to the Schonbrunn Palace and a city tour. Well worth it and the staff made the reservations for us.

Room Tip: Our room was on the rear side and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FF13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

we visited Vienna for or 42nd wedding anniversary and used the Hotel Altstadt. It is well situated in Vienna with staff who were very plesant, nothing was too much trouble and always smiling. Breakfast was very good as was the service and when our luggage was lost again the staff did everything they coould to retrieve it for us from BA

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

....to stay in Vienna for business or pleasure. This hotel ticks all the boxes, lovely rooms, fantastic beds and freebies, a quiet location but only a 10 min walk to the UBahn and the Museum Quarter, charming staff and the most amazing breakfast I have every had (includes unlimited sparkling wine). They also do a very good light supper which is ideal for pre or post theatre.

Room Tip: Individually designed rooms, all seem large. We were at the front and in winter it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exbiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great hotel. Friendly, helpful and efficient staff, top location a few minutes walk from the historic centre and out of its hustle and bustle. Charming area full of vintage clothes shop, art galleries etc. I would definetely recommend to opt for one of the Matteo Thun rooms, which are wonderfully decorated. Breakfast is super, served in a cosy salon which is also avalaible to guests throughout the day and where free tea and cakes are served every afternoon. Reasonably priced for this standard of comfort.

Room Tip: Matteo Thun rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giorgionet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The reason I rated average can also be due to my high expectation before the visit. "The top rated hotel" in trip advisor etc. etc. Generally nothing was bad, but the rooms were depresively small. We had 3 rooms reserved; so I could have a chance to see a variety of choices. My room was in the corner in 2nd floor; and was really hard to walk in the room two people. It was clean; but this is anyhow what you expect in a 4 star, isn't it? The breakfast small but satisfactory. Since we stayed in a weekend it was crowdede so breakfast service had problems. I had to wait all the 3 mornings we stayed there, more than 15 minutes for my first coffee. Still tolerable cause they really tried it; they were not chatting in the corner while the guests waited. And the location: I also expected something more central.Luckily Vienna is a small city and nowhere is so far away; and if you like to walk it is OK. I should admit the service/the team was very helpful; kind. They gave a nice present when we checked out; moon calendars or choclate. This is very selective I find. So, as a result I would recommend conditionally; with minumum expectation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank esenjilg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Altstadt. It was just perfect. The location could not be beat, particularly because of the nearby restaurants and shops and the Spittelberg Christmas Market. The staff was more than helpful and the charm of the hotel itself was wonderful.
The close proximity to the U-Bahn and the "Ring" made everything accessible.
Don't miss the afternoon tea and cake by the fire!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorgeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 358 in Vienna
1,555 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#2 of 358 in Vienna
1,895 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 358 in Vienna
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#4 of 358 in Vienna
1,534 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#3 of 358 in Vienna
1,126 reviews
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altstadt Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altstadt Vienna

Address: Kirchengasse 41, Vienna 1070, Austria (Formerly Romantik Hotel Altstadt Vienna)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vienna
#2 Business Hotel in Vienna
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $178 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Altstadt Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of the city’s 7th district and next to Vienna's Museumsquarter, behind the splendid façade of an old patrician house, one finds the Hotel Altstadt Vienna. Since its opening in 1991 the stylish 4-star hotel has been a favourite hideaway for art-lovers, design aficionados and cultural insiders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Altstadt Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadt Vienna Hotel Vienna
Altstadt Hotel Vienna
Vienna Altstadt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing