We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Ranked #7 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best hotels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

we visited Vienna for or 42nd wedding anniversary and used the Hotel Altstadt. It is well situated in Vienna with staff who were very plesant, nothing was too much trouble and always smiling. Breakfast was very good as was the service and when our luggage was lost again the staff did everything they coould to retrieve it for us from BA

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,621
    351
    57
    17
    3
See reviews for
319
1,070
118
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
297 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

....to stay in Vienna for business or pleasure. This hotel ticks all the boxes, lovely rooms, fantastic beds and freebies, a quiet location but only a 10 min walk to the UBahn and the Museum Quarter, charming staff and the most amazing breakfast I have every had (includes unlimited sparkling wine). They also do a very good light supper which is ideal for pre or post theatre.

Room Tip: Individually designed rooms, all seem large. We were at the front and in winter it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exbiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great hotel. Friendly, helpful and efficient staff, top location a few minutes walk from the historic centre and out of its hustle and bustle. Charming area full of vintage clothes shop, art galleries etc. I would definetely recommend to opt for one of the Matteo Thun rooms, which are wonderfully decorated. Breakfast is super, served in a cosy salon which is also avalaible to guests throughout the day and where free tea and cakes are served every afternoon. Reasonably priced for this standard of comfort.

Room Tip: Matteo Thun rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giorgionet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

The reason I rated average can also be due to my high expectation before the visit. "The top rated hotel" in trip advisor etc. etc. Generally nothing was bad, but the rooms were depresively small. We had 3 rooms reserved; so I could have a chance to see a variety of choices. My room was in the corner in 2nd floor; and was really hard to walk in the room two people. It was clean; but this is anyhow what you expect in a 4 star, isn't it? The breakfast small but satisfactory. Since we stayed in a weekend it was crowdede so breakfast service had problems. I had to wait all the 3 mornings we stayed there, more than 15 minutes for my first coffee. Still tolerable cause they really tried it; they were not chatting in the corner while the guests waited. And the location: I also expected something more central.Luckily Vienna is a small city and nowhere is so far away; and if you like to walk it is OK. I should admit the service/the team was very helpful; kind. They gave a nice present when we checked out; moon calendars or choclate. This is very selective I find. So, as a result I would recommend conditionally; with minumum expectation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank esenjilg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Altstadt. It was just perfect. The location could not be beat, particularly because of the nearby restaurants and shops and the Spittelberg Christmas Market. The staff was more than helpful and the charm of the hotel itself was wonderful.
The close proximity to the U-Bahn and the "Ring" made everything accessible.
Don't miss the afternoon tea and cake by the fire!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorgeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Great hotel set in an apartment building. Each room/suite is decorated differently and is spotlessly clean with modern bathrooms. We had a junior suite which consisted of a lounge room, bedroom, bathroom and walk in wardrobe. The hotel is filled with modern art.

The excellent breakfast is served in several rooms/salons and both the food and service is high quality. Eggs are made to order and the breakfast buffet has plenty of choice. They serve a free cake and tea in the afternoons and light meals and drinks in the evening.

All staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed for 5 nights and loved it so much we are coming back next year.

Room Tip: Get a suite if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treasureParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Whenever I travel to Vienna it is clear that I stay in the Altstadt. The location is central and in walking distance to many touristic sites. Every room has a character of its own. They are spacious with all the amenities and luxury I need. I love to sit in the lounge next to the cosy fireplace. The staff is very courteous and attentive. Breakfast is superb. One of the most memorable places to stay and one of my favorites worldwide.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altstadt Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altstadt Vienna

Property: Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Address: Kirchengasse 41, Vienna 1070, Austria (Formerly Romantik Hotel Altstadt Vienna)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vienna
#2 Business Hotel in Vienna
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Altstadt Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of the city’s 7th district, behind the splendid façade of an old patrician house, one finds the Hotel Altstadt Vienna. Since its opening in 1991 the stylish 4-star hotel has been a favourite hideaway for art-lovers, musicians, and non-group travellers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Altstadt Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadt Vienna Hotel Vienna
Altstadt Hotel Vienna
Vienna Altstadt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing