We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just don't...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vienna Brigittenau - Youth Hostel
Ranked #87 of 203 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just don't...”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hostel facilities are fine. The place is clean and the breakfast is ok. However, I'd rather stay in a dingier hostel without breakfast if the location was better. This hostel is far from absolutely everything. It feels like a hospital or some sort of institution. There is no fun of any kind to be had here, and there were TONS of kids there on school trips---which made sitting in the common area (the only place where it was possible to pick up a wifi signal) absolutely miserable. The staff were also unfriendly, but you'll find that pretty much everyone in Vienna is unfriendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderwoman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1200vienna, Geschäftsführer at Vienna Brigittenau - Youth Hostel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your comments and the positive feedback to the "hardware" of the hostel. Of course we have to accept your personal opinion that the hostel is "far from everything", in fact it takes 20 minutes by tram to the city center, the shopping and entertainment center "Millenium City" is about 10 minutes walk away and the leisure paradise "Danube Island" is also a 10 - 15 minutes walk. We are a youth hostel and so we have also young guests here, for "finding fun" our guests are responsible themselves, we do not offer an "animation team". We are of course sorry that you found our staff unfriendly, lot of other people find it very friendly and helpful, but sometimes it's just a question of personal expectations, which has been in your case obviously to high, as you judge "pretty much everyone in Vienna" as unfriendly. Best regards from Vienna HI Vienna Brigittenau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    35
    21
    11
    16
See reviews for
9
29
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I was really impressed with this hostel. It is fantastic value for money. Reception is open 24 hours a day and is staffed by bright and helpful people. There's a secure bicycle store. Three meals are available if you want them, and are considerably cheaper than what I was paying elsewhere. There's free wifi in the public areas which worked well. There's a lift which is handy if you have heavy luggage. The hostel is not close to the centre of the city, but there's a tram stop just outside, and the U-train station is less than 10 minutes' walk away. The hostel is a great pick if you are cycling along the Danube since it is very close to the river, so you don't need to work out how to cycle safely through the city to get there from the river. That said, Vienna is very cycle friendly and there's a great cycle planner online for the whole city. I would definitely stay here again: it met all my needs at a really good price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_boardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
2 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hostel is located right in the center of the city, not expensive and absolutely comfortable to stay in. The rooms are large, neat and well-equipped for such an attractive price. Most of all I liked the snug lounge that is full of books in different languages, magazines and other entertainments. It's really important i think that it has an Internet connection. All personnel are polite and helpful. Next time I’ll certainly choose this hostel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristinkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Let me start by saying I have stayed in A LOT of hostels, so I've not exactly got high expectations. But this place is the worst I have ever stayed in. I just travelled from Budapest, where I stayed in a hostel by the same company Hostelling International. I paid half the price of this place for the same amount of nights. I was greeted by friendly staff, not emotionless robots like here. I was helped without indignation. This hostel is as cold as its exterior. It's a terrible location for the price, the food isn't anything special and if you're an individual traveller like I am, good luck finding company. I made loads of friends in Budapest as the company was the same as me. Yet in this hostel, it's all school trips and people who can't speak a word of English. Good luck getting to sleep before 2am with the screaming school kids who aren't controlled at all.
The facilities are disappointing and frankly, I wish I could have asked for some of my money back. I'm off to Krakow now, I reckon it will be a better hostel there - it's not exactly hard to beat this place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mich_edmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1200vienna, Manager at Vienna Brigittenau - Youth Hostel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear guest

We ´re sorry , that you felt disturbed from the other young guests of our hostel but you have to understand, that young school groups also have a right to stay with us. They are always accompanied by teachers, who are responsible for them and if other guests still have problems with them, they can contact our reception, which is open 24 hours, you´ve probably not done. We regret that you found our service expensive, but we think, you need to compare our prices with other hostels in Austria or in West Europe and not with countries in which all prices are half as high as in Western Europe. We are still one of the cheapest hostels in Western Europe. We regret that you didn´t found friends as you expected, but you have to understand we´ve much more languages in Europe than English, our guests are international but it is impossible for us to examine their english skills before they arrive. Please note, that in Europe is good knowledge of English not a condition to be allowed to travel.

We apologize that you did not like our architecture and equipment but you have to accept that taste is a personal thing. Many of our guests seem to bear a better relationship to the modern architecture than you.... and a last thing:

we´re no robots, we really are humans with feelings and emotions and we really love our guests, but sometimes we must keep a small distance to them, because we don´t want to be misanderstood ;)

Best regards from Vienna HI Vienna Brigittenau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Average hostel.
It is a little bit out of the way, but the trams are very easy to use and right out the front of the hostel too. Though the rooms are very quiet - you don't get a lot of street noise or anything like that. The only noise we got was a choir that was staying there practicing on our floor.
Breakfast is free and decent, but I do not recommend paying the 6 euro for their dinners! They are not nice at all and you can get some really great, CHEAP, local eats that are really close by! (I recommend Kopp Pub).
The rooms were clean and comfortable. Internet connection quite good too.
All the staff were pretty helpful although a couple of them are quite sour and pretty obviously hate their jobs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlyB212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Spotless youth hostel with a nice price-quality index. The rooms in the youth palace wing are just perfect if you are looking for a place to sleep and to have a shower.

The other part offers older room which should be renewed but they are still okay. Shared facilities are clean.

All you can eat breakfast is a great way to start the day.

The free wifi is not working properly though. They charge a furtune to use the internet on the computers in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maro310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Actually i am writing this review quite late; i stayed there for 7 nights in July, 2010. I went to attend a conference in Vienna and one of the conference organizers suggested me this. I booked pretty well in advance; i booked in May, and therefore got one of the best rooms they have. My room was “Category 3: Two bedded room Youth Palace (with attached shower and toilet)". This part of the building was new back then, so my room and bathroom was brand new and quieter than the other rooms. They clean it every day, both the room and bathroom was spotless clean. But some of the other rooms that other people were staying were not good and noisy.

The free breakfast they provided, shouldn't be free, because it was huge. I have stayed in other hostels in some other countries too, but i have never seen so many options for breakfast in any youth hostel. And the food was tasty with good nutritious value. Room rent was very cheap, though it was peak season; one bed was 22.50 Euro at that time. Though there were two beds in my room, I was the only person to stay in that room, and they did not charge me for the other empty bed; paying 22.50 Euro per night for such a big room with attached toilet was really unbelievable.

Only drawback is the location, quite far from the city, but bus and tram stands are located just beside this guesthouse, so going to city everyday is very easy and takes very little time.

Room Tip: Category 3: Two bedded room, Youth Palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arunthia21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hietzing
Hostel Hutteldorf
Hostel Hutteldorf
#48 of 203 in Vienna
168 reviews
Mariahilf
Westend City Hostel
Westend City Hostel
#32 of 203 in Vienna
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 203 in Vienna
898 reviews
Amici Apartments
#130 of 203 in Vienna
11 reviews
A&T Holiday Hostel
#39 of 203 in Vienna
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vienna Brigittenau - Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vienna Brigittenau - Youth Hostel

Property: Vienna Brigittenau - Youth Hostel
Address: Adalbert Stifter Str. 73, Vienna 1200, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 203 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Vienna Brigittenau - Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jugendgastehaus Wien Brigittenau Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing