We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Ruthensteiner
Ranked #1 of 195 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2006

Although this hostel wasn't my first choice for Vienna, I was extremely happy with the place! I stayed in a double room, which was very clean, although small. There was a bathroom immediately outside of my room, which was almost like having one to myself. Although the place was full, I never had to wait for the toilet or shower. It seemed like the bathrooms were constantly being cleaned, and the breakfast that was offered (for 2.50 euros) was excellent - freshly baked bread, jam, butter, and coffee/tea. The location was excellent, both close to the train station, public transportation, and a major shopping street in town.

The kitchen was TINY, which wasn't a problem for me, but it might be for someone who plans to cook a lot. There also didn't appear to be any common/TV room; the pretty courtyard out back was the only place for socializing. The internet service was extremely reliable and quite fast, although it cost 2 euros for 25mins.

Overall, definitely a great place to stay in Vienna!!

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank suprchick77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    222
    43
    15
    4
See reviews for
61
154
310
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2006

The room was quite small and the toilet smell not so good.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank kirinhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2006

first off, they cramp 5 bunks for 10 people into a tiny room. then there isnt even a bathroom in the "suite!" it is in the hallway...just two toilets for 30+ people on each floor (in the annex building}. THEN the bathroom didnt even have a sink to wash your hands and the lights hardly ever works. the people are noisy as hell, no respect for 10pm city noise ordinance. didnt even tell you beforehand that sheets were not included and shower is as cramped as it can be...barely fit a normal siye person. AVOID this place at all costs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It's a real crap hole.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Tips/Secrets — avoid this place
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank psychojet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Receptionist at Hostel Ruthensteiner, responded to this review, December 6, 2016
Hi there.. In case that someone is reading this, a lots of things changed since this review was written (2006): You Tube existed for one years, Nokia 3310 was the top-selling communication device, the last book of Harry Potter was not published yet, ...
Lots of things can change in 10 years, so maybe you can give us another chance!? :) All the best, Jelena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2006

Differently from the last review, I don´t have any complaints about the neighborhood of this hostel. In fact it´s locattion is pretty convinient because it´s very near to the bahnhof, so transport is not a problem. The lobby, the kitchen and other general common facilities is very good. But the big deception for me was the triple room we booked, it looked like a prison cell ! The room was less than 2 meters wide and there was virtually no place to leave your bags without being in the middle of the room ! I personally would try other hostel next time.

  • Liked — location, common facilities
  • Disliked — the triple room.
  • Tips/Secrets — Don´t get the triple room
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank F_C_BR_IT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2005

i stayed here in august 2005 and thought it was excellent. the only problem i can think of is that there was some quite extensive renovation going on. this meant the reception room had a large hole in the wall and it was very noisy, very early on the morning. once the work is complete, there wont be a lot wrong with this place.

the best thing about it is the common room/bar. if youre looking for something a bit more relaxed, with music at a volume at which you can have a conversation, then its ideal. there was one girl who was under the impression that we wanted to hear her sing and play guitar but once she'd got the message all was well again.

the staff are extremely friendly as well, at first it seems like it might be a bit fake/forced but i dont think it is. the room was very clean and quite big as well.

didnt think the area was too bad either (something i read on another review). its quite far out of the city centre, requires using the underground, but thats the only drawback regarding the location.

a pleasurable stay was completed by meeting a lovely chap called dave. sadly i cant guarentee you will also meet him, he's probably gone home.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2005

I stayed 3 nights in this hostel in the beginning of June 2005. This hostel is run like a very efficient and well put together business. There are a lot of young kids but the place is very quiet and clean. Even though they take your credit card while booking, booking a room does not quite mean that you are going to get that particular room. For example I booked a private room but by the time I arrived there I got a room with 3 bump beds. The next day I was able to get to a private double room. There is a breakfast consisting of a coffee and 2 pieces of bread for 2.50. There is also an internet room where they charge 2 euros per 30 min. There is a nice garden, laundry machines, bike store where you can rent a bike for 10 Euros a day. I think in the center you could get it cheaper. That all said, I must mention that the area where the hostel is located is quite shady. We saw some prostitutes working just around the corner around 1 am and some suspicisious looking dudes. Caffe Mozart where you can get some decent food works only at night.....! must be to accomodate the clientale. Don't exchange money at the hostel - they have the worst rate.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2005

Extremely clean and nice rooms! The beds are super-comfy! Stayed in an 8-bed dorm and it was great value at 15 euro. Staff was helpful and nice, and the showers and bathroom are amazingly clean. For 2,50 euro you can get breakfeast which is two rolls, butter, jam and a cup of coffe and tea. You get free lockers that fits a big backpack and it's a great place to meet new people. Highly recommended with a good location near Westbahnhof. My top choice in Vienna!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fajoh002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#160 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Ruthensteiner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Ruthensteiner

Property: Hostel Ruthensteiner
Address: Robert-Hamerling-Gasse 24 | 1150, Vienna 1150, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 195 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Ruthensteiner 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Vienna's original independent backpacker's hostel, Hostel Ruthensteiner is the perfect place to stay - with its friendly, international atmosphere in a smoke-free environment. * "One of a kind" and not "one of a chain", our fun hostel is run by family and good friends and is the ideal hostel for the individual traveller or small friends/family group. * Newly renovated, our early 1800's historical building is just a stone's throw from the Westbahnhof Train Station and equidistant between the City Center and lovely Palace Schoenbrunn. Here, weary travelers can rest their bodies and refresh their souls! * "Cleanliness & friendliness" is our motto, helping you feel at home is our passion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostel Ruthensteiner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Ruthensteiner Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing