We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Tough Ribs Ever!!”
Review of Ribs of Vienna

Ribs of Vienna
Ranked #23 of 4,161 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $33
Cuisines: American, Austrian, European, Central European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Inner City
Description: "RIBS OF VIENNA" is situated in the very center of Vienna, only a few steps from the famous cathedral St. Stephens. We are well known for spareribs and steaks. Of course we serve typical Austrian food and vegetarian dishes as well. A subwaystation is near by. Our friendly staff speaks besides german also english, russian and polish. Come and share this great experience. Reservation is required.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worst Tough Ribs Ever!!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I can't believe I went off the reviews for the best Ribs in Vienna. I'm glad they weren't claimed as the best in the world! We visited September 9th 2013 here having the Meter Ribs with the 3 selection and all were tough. These ribs are not the best at all, they don't fall off the bone...more like you have to cut or twist them hard to seperate them. I was very disappointed with them. I would not go back here again :(

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ozzieollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,605
    681
    199
    78
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
104 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Every flavour of ribs you can think of!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

After reading some good reviews on Tripadvisor, we decided to visit Ribs of Vienna. It was located towards the end of a quiet street, not too far away from the centre of town. We had not booked but was lucky they had a table for us since it was a Saturday night. The decor was basic, but interesting as it was underground. We chose the ribs menu for 2 people, which meant we could choose up to 5 flavours of ribs along with vegetables, coleslaw, garlic bread and potatoes. We opted for 3 flavours in the end and wow, the portions were really big - good value for money! We did not even finish all the ribs, let alone touch any of the other side dishes! The vegetable, coleslaw and garlic bread was only ok, but the potatoes were delicious. I would suggest booking a table as it was busy. Overall, great experience - the staff were all very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank orangutanBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good restaurant, good food, good place”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Though the location is quite hard to find and the underground restaurant seems to block all the smoke inside, the ribs of Vienna are superb. My recommendation for girls is that you should order a portion to share as the dish is quite big for a girl.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Don't miss when visiting Vienna”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food! Cheap prices and excellent service. Easy to find near Stephansplatz. Old cellar, nice atmosphere. Portions are big, ribs are very juicy and meaty... Definetly will eat there again!

Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Places to eat in Vienna”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you like ribs this is the place to go in Vienna.
Grate food fast and very friendly service fantastic atmosphere and they cater for veggies without laughing at your wife when she asks for veggie food in a rib joint.
Very popular place for ribs so book a table and they will have ribs, if you just walk in they may well have sold out of ribs.
I went for the 3 rack special and this is a meter and a half of ribs,take your pick of different flavourers from the menu and get your rib face on.
My wife had onion soup,deep fried mozzarella with salad and fries witch she says was lovely.

We found this place after looking for and finding a very snobby veggie restaurant witch was a place to be seen eating over priced veggie food in a meat centric city, not for us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank THE_DREW_REVIEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ribs of Vienna also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Ribs of Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing