We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anton Best Waiter Ever”
Review of Ribs of Vienna

Ribs of Vienna
Ranked #23 of 4,161 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $33
Cuisines: American, Austrian, European, Central European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Inner City
Description: "RIBS OF VIENNA" is situated in the very center of Vienna, only a few steps from the famous cathedral St. Stephens. We are well known for spareribs and steaks. Of course we serve typical Austrian food and vegetarian dishes as well. A subwaystation is near by. Our friendly staff speaks besides german also english, russian and polish. Come and share this great experience. Reservation is required.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anton Best Waiter Ever”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Went here with 3 buddies for a manly ribs meal. Got exactly what we wanted. Must get the sesame ribs. Anton the waiter made our meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheExplorerD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,605
    681
    199
    78
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and even better people”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was travelling in Austria and found myself in this restaurant. We wanted ribs and thats what they delivered. So many delicious ribs!
After some amazing local wine which was suggested from the knowledgeable staff, we left for our hotel.

In the morning I awoke and noticed I had lost my wallet the night before. I started searching the room frantically with no luck.
I did have an Austrian sim card in my phone and the number just happened to be in my wallet.
The owners found my wallet in the restaurant called me and returned it !
I thought I was screwed, but the honourable people of this establishment helped out a lowly canadian skier.
I highly recommend stopping in for dinner and thanks again !

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stumpy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“very nice for young people”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

excellent food. the room in the underground is nice but very noisy overcrowded with stong modern music. For eldery like I am the room on ground floor is more quiet but with less charm.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coulapic7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“4 hours in the downtown”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I with my colleague were going back to home and had got possibility to spend really short time in Vienna. We wanted to have quick lunch and then have short walk (run) through the downtown. We went to side street from Karnten Strasse took couple of blocks and randomly selected a place. That was Ribs of Vienna. Do not be afraid of going to basement and little bit lower. We entered and heard people speaking Russian, waiter and one of the guests. We quickly got a place and menu. Place looks very nice and cosy. Waiter was quick, helpful and friendly (tall guy with tattooes). We ordered garlic soup and meat meal for 2 persons and 2 beers. Meals were big, tasty and looked nice. We enjoyed our stay and quickly continued our city tour;)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oleksandr H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
247 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Must try 1 Metre Long BBQ Spare Ribs!!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have been to this restaurant a few times with friends and visitors. We all liked it very much. There are many types of BBQ spare ribs, not just the original version; they include the Hawaii (with pineapple), Diablo (spicy), Chilli (sweet chilli), Asia (lots of garlic), Vulcano (black-pepper), etc. My favorites were original Ribs of Vienna BBQ Spare ribs, Diablo spareribs and Chilli spareribs. If you want more than one type of spareribs, you can chose the mix plate and you can have 3 choices of spareribs. Their side orders of kraut salat, french fries, potato wedges, mixed salad, and others, are good to eat along with the BBQ ribs.

The service depended on the number of customers they have. Usually the service is quick. But if the place is full/packed, service tends to be quite slow. But have patience, as the staffs are friendly and trying their best to cope. If you are on a budget and have a few mouths to feed while you're traveling, then you should go to Ribs of Vienna. You can feed 2-3 hungry persons with 1 meter long of delicious BBQ spare ribs.

Address: Weihburggasse 22, 1010 Vienna.
Directions: Take Tram 1 or 2 and stop at Stadtpark. Go to Marriott Hotel, and find Weihburggasse. Then walk up this street and find the restaurant. From Stephansplatz/Kartnerstrasse, find Weihburggasse and walk down this street until you find the restaurant. Just take note that the dining area is located in an underground vault, which looks like a huge wine cellar. Really cool.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Helenz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ribs of Vienna also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Ribs of Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing