We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special in the city centre”
Review of Pension Domizil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pension Domizil
Ranked #126 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“Nothing special in the city centre”
Reviewed December 14, 2009

If it wasnt for the location the pansion Domizil that is classified 4star... I would definitely rate it 2star.

A basic room with two chairs and tiny beds. A small shower (thank god for that) and toilet and some amenities that was a plus.

The hotel had a small dining area with a tiny breakfast but good quality.
The is no bar at the hotel or dining options but there is a safe and a mini bar...

A big plus was the free internet in the hotel.

I would not return as for the same money or with 10-20eur more I would stay in Renaissance or Intercontinental.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TomasMousoulides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    95
    26
    4
    2
See reviews for
39
114
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ill
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2009

We loved this place! It was not overtly fancy but we did not need that! It was friendly, helpful and very clean! Break fast was great! Loved the location! Would go back in heartbeat! Could really like this city to live!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burnsy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Husband and wife stayed in early Sept 2009. Nice small hotel with friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast & clean rooms. No room service but that was something that we did not need. Excellant location right in the city center. We wanted a hotel room that we were going to use sparingly but could rely on for being clean and have a good breakfast and this is what this small hotel gave us.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maritoNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2008

lovely little hotel, perfectly located in the old city, within two blocks of St. Stephen church, walking distance to everything - restaurants, museums, subway, the Danube, etc. Rooms are clean and efficient, complimentary breakfast is exceptional. If you are attending a conference at any of the hotels (including the Hilton) that ring the Staadtpark this is a pleasant alternative, not quite a 10 minute walk from any of them. Service is friendly and efficient. Complaints are minor - elevator is slow, and there is no iron or ironing board provided (I brought my own travel iron; I would suggest a $100 investment on the part of the hotel would be worthwhile). Also, this is ideal for a single business traveler or a couple in town to visit the sights, not sure about young kids (I didn't see any, not sure if there are suites).

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SeanSMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2007

I booked the hotel in last minutes at the vienna airport on the evening for better location and found hotel and sfatt are wonderful. It it nice comfortable hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpfull.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank hatena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Pension Domizil in Vienna in late September. It is a small bed & breakfast located half a block from historic St. Stephen's Church in the heart of Vienna. The room & bathroom were small but clean & comfortable. Where the hotel excelled was in the personal attention and the wonderful breakfast buffet. The front desk clerk (there were 2 in the 3 days we were there, they alternated) was always friendly and most accommodating, helping us with theater tickets, changing money, and restaurant recommendations, always with the utmost kindness and a smile!

The breakfast buffet was wonderful, I can't imagine too many hotels in this price range (around $125 a night) with such a great breakfast. The location was absolutely fabulous, in the heart of it all. We walked everywhere. The only time we took a cab was to & from the airport. Highly recommend!

Helpful?
8 Thank MomLovesBaseball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2005

Great location very good price. Quality is fine. Definitely get your moneys worth. One downside we stayed in July and there is no air-conditioning (there is a ceiling fan) so it gets very hot.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank khylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#82 of 361 in Vienna
701 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#164 of 361 in Vienna
593 reviews
Inner City
Pension City
Pension City
#134 of 361 in Vienna
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Wandl
Hotel Wandl
#174 of 361 in Vienna
374 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#97 of 361 in Vienna
806 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#140 of 361 in Vienna
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Domizil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Domizil

Property: Pension Domizil
Address: Schulerstrasse 14 | First District, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#118 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#122 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pension Domizil 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Pension Domizil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Domizil Hotel Vienna
Domizil Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing