We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good enough for 2 nights” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Der Wilhelmshof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Der Wilhelmshof
Ranked #27 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good enough for 2 nights”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

The hotel is not in the centre but it is only only 3 stops on the U-bahn (~10mins) to St Stephens cathedral. The hotel is a few minutes walk when you take exit Heinstrasse I think it is called. U-bahn is great to use as you can get to most places quickly. The Prater train station areas though is quite dodgy at night (and not that much better during the day). Taking the exit mentioned above means you can avoid the dodgy characters! The train station does run directly to the airport in about 30 minutes which was really convenient.

This is an adequate hotel for 2 night stay. The room is an ok size though with two single beds, a sofa bed and two tables along with chairs this reduced the space for 3 people. Things that were great about the hotel was a good selection of breakfast - hot & cold items, free wifi and staff are pleasant.

A few bugbears for me was the air con which didn't work and the room was very stuffy and hot when the windows were not open. We did have to call to get bedding for the sofa bed. Bathroom rail was loose so had to get this fixed. In saying that though, the bathroom was a nice size. There was no complimentary tea and coffee facilities. When I asked for this they did give this to us for free but said we would have to pay for any more. Building work was going on so very noisy and didn't feel like waking up to this at 8am. These are little things but when it all added up I felt a bit disappointed. I would rate this a very good 3* hotel but not 4* when comparing to other hotels. I wouldn't stay here again but more because of the area than the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shopntravel_more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roman_Mayrhofer, Manager at Der Wilhelmshof, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your Feedback and Review. We regret that you were not completly satisfied with our provided service.

We want to appologize that your third bed in your room was not ready at the time you arrived and that the bathroom rail was broken. I am glad to hear that we managed to fix it immediatly.
But you are indeed right things like that should not happen in our hotel.

We are very happy that you were satisfied with our breakfast, free w-Lan and our staff.

In our higher room categories we offer free tea and coffee facilities. In our StandART categorie, which you reserved, are these facilities not included. We were glad to make an exception in your case.

Unfourtuanetly there is some building work going on at our neighbours house and we are truly sorry that you were disturbed by that noise.

We would be very glad to see you again any time at the Wilhelmshof.

We send you warm regards from Vienna your Wilhelmshof team
--
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    438
    75
    22
    6
See reviews for
358
559
49
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very good hotel, makes refreshing change from buisness chain hotels. Nicely appointed rooms and every working smoothly. Good free wifi, varied breakfast. Only possible area of improvement was the coffee.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcooksley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Every year for the past 10 years I have brought a group of law students from Brisbane, Australia, to stay at this hotel in Vienna to participate in a student mooting competition. The rooms are affordable, clean and comfortable; the hotel has a lovely, friendly, 'home away from home' feeling; the staff are friendly and accommodating; the breakfast is amazingly good;and there is a very pleasant bar area to grab a drink or snack in. The location is also good - close to the beautiful Prater, and just a couple of U-Bahn stops into the city. I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel, and hope to have the opportunity to stay in this hotel every year for another 10 years!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Therese222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roman_Mayrhofer, Manager at Der Wilhelmshof, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Therese,

thank you very much for such a nice review. The whole Wilhelmshof team is more than happy that you come back every year with your lovely students. We are very grateful that you enjoy your stay everytime and that we are always able to satisfy you and your students from Australia.

Moreover the whole reception team is always very excited to follow the competion of the Moot.

We are looking forward to welcome you and your team again next year.
Lovely greetings to Australia from the Wilhelmshof team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
188 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The main concern would be inexperience and language issues show by the staff while handling certain issues. Also when I compare with other places I have stayed in my trip, I feel some operational things can be improved.... For eg: Wifi passwords and bathroom slippers can be offered at the time of check in, the guests need not have to call explicitly for that.

However the rooms are neat and clean and it is what is shown in the website and other pics.

Kitchen staff and waitresses have minor issues in communicating with English....

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roddamranganath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roman_Mayrhofer, Manager at Der Wilhelmshof, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your review and your Feedback. First of all we are truly sorry that you were not completly satisfied with your stay at the Wilhelmshof. We also regret that obvisly you did not receive our usual high standard of service during your stay. Asking all our guest during check in if they need access to our free Wifi is normally part of that service standard.

We can also understand that you found it kind of troublesome to get a new Wifi code every 24 hours on top of that. We are glad to tell you that we already working on a new system to provide our guests only with one code for their whole stay.

We also thank you for your information that the English skills of our breakfast stuff are not good enough. We are constantly offering our staff training opportunities in Subjects like English for example too improve the current situation.

We are glad that you found our hotel clean and neat and hope that you could still enjoy your stay in Vienna.

We would be very happy to welcome you back at any time to show you that we can offer you way better service.
Kind regards from Vienna and all the best from the Wilhelmshof team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Middle destination of our three cities trip. Had said how long we were married and that we didn't have kids in tow for once. We were given a free upgrade to an "art suite". Lovely long room, very comfortable with minibar, free wi-fi, underfloor heating in bathroom.

Breakfast rooms were bright and clean, with a huge selection, too numerous to mention.

Staff at reception were friendly and helpful. Loved the art on the landings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barfly51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I have been staying here for business for the last three years and have always enjoyed the hotel. Very nice staff, efficient and friendly. The location is in a nondescript neighborhood but very few close to the Praterstern U barn, and so you can get to either the conference center or Stephansplatz in 20 minutes. Could be great for families due to proximity to Prater amusement park.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I was in Vienna on business for a couple of nights so needed easy access to both the exhibition centre and town centre. This hotel is in between the two on the U1 train line so you didn't have to change trains and it was in a very handy location. It is also only a few minutes walk from the train station which was convenient. The hotel staff were helpful and the room was very nice a spacious. The hotel was also quiet which was great. There is a large breakfast selection and free wifi at the hotel - perfect for a few nights' stay although if I was paying for the room myself, I would have stayed somewhere cheaper and nearer the main shopping street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hol84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#20 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#18 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#8 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Wilhelmshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Wilhelmshof

Property: Der Wilhelmshof
Address: Kleine Stadtgutgasse 4, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vienna
#21 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#23 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#24 Business Hotel in Vienna
#30 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Der Wilhelmshof 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Der Wilhelmshof - the arthotel between the city center of Vienna and the famous PraterIn the immediate vicinity of one of the main attractions of Vienna, the Ferris wheel in Vienna's Prater, our arthotel «Der Wilhelmshof» is located in a quiet side alley.The interior of the family-run 4-star hotel impresses by its warm, artistic atmosphere, which, together with the modern technical equipment and personal service, is thoroughly tailored to the needs and the well-being of our guests. We are a special hotel, since art accompanies our guests throughout the hotel – from the elegant entrance hall through the artistically staged mezzanines up to the stylish guest rooms that are individually designed. Besides the WLAN access which is available for our hotel guests, free of charge, there is also a hotel-owned garage. Please note that Der Wilhelmshof a non- smoking hotel.Our professionalism, the comfortable and cozy atmosphere and our passion for details rank among our strengths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Der Wilhelmshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Wilhelmshof Hotel Vienna
Wilhelmshof Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing