We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent position and furniture”
Review of Der Wilhelmshof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Der Wilhelmshof
Ranked #31 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 24, 2012

It's the second time I visit this hotel and, although I cannot pronounce its name, I consider it my best stay in Vienna up to now. Clean, classy, artistic, modern, yet with all comforts you need either for business or leisure travel. Tea in the room, modern bathroom, large continental breakfast, kind personnel. And a nice, silent position just a few steps away from Praterstern. In one word: worderful, and I will be back!

Room Tip: Artistic room was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanieleGiuffrida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

463 - 469 of 1,540 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for one night and were very impressed. The receptionist was welcoming and helpful and the lobby area was nice and modern. It was easy to find the hotel coming from Praterstern S-Bahn station.
Our room was quite big and had a very comfortable bed as well as a safe and a fridge, which were both useful. The bathroom was very large and had a nice bath/shower combination. The only problem we had was that the room was very hot and the air conditioning was not in action (perhaps due to it being the winter months).
Breakfast was good with a nice selection of breads, pastries, meats and cheeses among many other things. There were also sausages, bacon and eggs.
The hotel's location is particularly handy for public transport, especially coming from the airport as you won't need to change, but also for getting anywhere in Vienna, as Praterstern S-Bahn and U-Bahn station is really nearby. It is also a short walk to the Prater wheel and not too far to walk into the city centre, either. Leaving luggage is not a problem, as there are plenty of lockers with a €1 returnable deposit. The luggage room, we happened to notice, also had an iron and ironing board, so that could be useful.
I would certainly consider staying in this hotel again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I found this hotel on Trip Advisor. Although it is not right in the centre, its very close to the train & underground stations as well as trams and buses - so you are right in the city centre within minutes! The staff are great - nothing is too much trouble and they are keen to offer advice and suggestions. They can book things for you and advise on where to go and what to do. All the rooms are individually decorated. We loved the decor, furnishings and the atmosphere. Its very clean and bathrooms are lovely too. Breakfast is very nice and there is a nice bar area too. Would certainly go back if I visitied Vienna again.

Room Tip: Look on their web site! Tell them which ones you like! We upgraded from delux double to a suite on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel certainly deserves its 4 star rating. The staff at the front desk, the bar, and the morning breakfast are very pleasant and helpful. One young lady spent almost an hour with us, explaining the sights, transportation, and local restaurants. The rooms are clean, spacious, and the beds comfortable. The decor, with its walls painted by local artists, is quite unique. The only negative is that it is not close to the center of the city, although the is a train within a short walk that will take you to the Ringstrasse in just a few minutes.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sailor1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I think title says it all for this hotel! Very beautiful and artistic hotel. All the rooms in this hotel are a piece of artwork inspired from some renowned artists and painters. Here is a short summary of my experience in this hotel:
1. Location: 3-4 stations away from city center.
2. Rooms: Large, neat and clean, bathrooms are very beautiful.
3. TV: LED TV in rooms with very good quality.
4. Wifi/WLan: Though there is WIFI/WLAN available, the quality and speed is really not upto the standards, I think this is the only drawback that I found in this hotel, rest all the points were amazing.
5. Breakfast: Buffet breakfast served, the quality of breakfast, in particular the variety of breads and cakes is really amazing. I was more than satisfied with the quality of breakfast here.
6. Staff: Very nice and co-operative staff which is important for the success of any hotel. Every morning during the breakfast, I used to get personal attention and my choice of coffee was served with utmost care!
I would love to stay here in this hotel again!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurjeetSachdeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed there for just one night: standard business stay. It has everything you need: friendly staff, trouble-free check-in, clean, well equiped room. As for the night, bed was big (actually, a double one) and in a good shape. Who likes to watch TV, there is a big variety of channels covering many coutries and cultures. Wifi connection was without problems as well (staff at the desk give you login data automatically upon check-in).
At breakfast, the selection was definitely above standard and the staff attentive.

Searching for hotel for this kind of stay, I wouldn't hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GKR79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights at the silver moon ART suite. Very modern but functional suite. Modern bathroom, spacious and practical. The staff is very friendly and welcoming, got us hot water kettle on request, with tea, fruits, etc. Nice touch. Breakfast is very efficient, convenient, with enough variety. It is very convenient both to downtown center and for my purposes, the VIC is convenient. We had a very nice dinner at the nearby Temple restaurant. It is a good value for the money, and will not hesitate to come back on my return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrMac27126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#15 of 358 in Vienna
1,712 reviews
Serviten Quarter
The Harmonie Vienna
The Harmonie Vienna
#14 of 358 in Vienna
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 358 in Vienna
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Wilhelmshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Wilhelmshof

Address: Kleine Stadtgutgasse 4, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Vienna
#21 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#24 Business Hotel in Vienna
#25 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $95 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Der Wilhelmshof 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Der Wilhelmshof - the arthotel between the city center of Vienna and the famous PraterIn the immediate vicinity of one of the main attractions of Vienna, the Ferris wheel in Vienna's Prater, our arthotel «Der Wilhelmshof» is located in a quiet side alley.The interior of the family-run 4-star hotel impresses by its warm, artistic atmosphere, which, together with the modern technical equipment and personal service, is thoroughly tailored to the needs and the well-being of our guests. We are a special hotel, since art accompanies our guests throughout the hotel – from the elegant entrance hall through the artistically staged mezzanines up to the stylish guest rooms that are individually designed. Besides the WLAN access which is available for our hotel guests, free of charge, there is also a hotel-owned garage. Please note that Der Wilhelmshof a non- smoking hotel.Our professionalism, the comfortable and cozy atmosphere and our passion for details rank among our strengths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Der Wilhelmshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Wilhelmshof Hotel Vienna
Wilhelmshof Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing