We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Der Wilhelmshof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Der Wilhelmshof
Ranked #31 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Travel to Vienna quite frequently and Der Wilhelmsdorf ranks among the best Hotel's I've stayed in. Good location, comfortable modern premises, friendly and welcoming staff and reasonably priced. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

477 - 483 of 1,541 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

This hotel is incredible. We had just a standard room, but it was very spacious. There was a large bed, a desk and chair and a table with two seats with plenty of space to swan about in. There was a large wardrobe to hang clothes in and the bathroom was spacious and clean.

The rooms are beautiful. The wall behind our bed was a big fresco painted in red with small metallic areas that changed colour depending on the time of day. When we arrived they looked just like leaf gold, but in the morning they were more silvery and at some points they were coppery. Really beautiful.

The staff are very helpful here, they were friendly and were able to tell you how to get about or where things were.

Breakfast was wonderful. To give you an idea of the range, there was a choice of three different honeys. Continental style breakfast, with coffee or hot water for tea brought to the table (there is a selection of teas in the buffet).

The location was brilliant, you're a five minute walk away from the subway system which is excellent.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

A neat, comfortable hotel within an easy subway ride to the centre of Vienna. Staff extremely helpful ( we arrived with a burst tyre and they helped to sort it out with no difficulties ) and always cheerful and polite. Great, varied breakfast included in the price for the room for which we were also given an upgrade at no extra cost. Parking available for €17 a night which saved us the worry of parking tickets or leaving the car unsupervised while we explored the city. A lovely couple of days. Many thanks for your hospitality.

1  Thank sketty68
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Wilhelmshof is a very nice hotel which lives up to its good evatuations. Nice and clean rooms, delisious breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steffen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Booked this Hotel online as a test drive for an exhibition that we have coming up.

I don not understand why this Hotel gets such good reviews.

The Hotel totally sucks. When you arrive, you think you are at the back entrance of the Hotel, you're not. How they pulled that photo off on their website is amazing.
The location is terrible, unless you only want to go to the Prater. The neighbourhood is nothing and there is not a decent restaurant or bar around.

Forget the recommendations from the staff, they have no clue what decent food is ( I was send to a pizza pasta place although she thought it was a great Italian restaurant).

My room was very small and outdated. It did not have a decent desk chair to work. The shower was nice and big, but the showerhead was at 5' height with almost no water pressure. Absolut disaster.

The bed was very old and worn. The matrass had such a huge dent in the middle that I rolled back to the same spot everytime. Didn't get any sleep and my back hurt for 2 days.

Breakfast was nice, but I will never book this hotel again.

My advice : Spent your money somewhere else.

Don't go here, it is heavily over priced for what you get. There are better places in town which are also better positioned.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mveen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilhelmshof, Geschäftsführer at Der Wilhelmshof, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

First of all we want to thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that your stay at our hotel disappointed you.

We are always trying to improve our standards and our service. Therefor it is important for us if you could let us know your room number so that we can test the water pressure and the mattress! We would be very gratefull if you could provide this information via direct e-mail or telephone so we can immediatly act and improve our hardware. Please also note that in case you would have told us during your stay we would have had the chance to deliver a better service.

There are a lot of good restaurants in the second district and around the hotel (please see also other reviews of our guests with their recommendations). Our staff usually recommends restaurants near the hotel with a good price-quality-ratio. Of course we also offer recommendations for top quality restaurants (which are mainly located in the 1st district) as well as all kind of speciality-restaurants - if requested by our guests.

Referring to many other reviews we want to mention that our guests are regularly very satisfied with our neighbourhood and the short distance to the city center (15 minutes walk od 10 minutes with underground).

We really regret that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel and would be glad to welcome you back any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Free WiFi that works ;-), excellent breakfasts. It's worth it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TadashiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilhelmshof, Leiter Front Office at Der Wilhelmshof, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy that our effort in improving our Wireless connection seems to suceed. We are looking forward to welcome you again and wish you all the best from Vienna

your wilhelmshof team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

So glad I choose this hotel for my stay. The decoration in the Wiener ART level rooms was unique as was the entire hotel! The location, although not in the old city center, is near Prater park and the Prater tram/subway stop (2 short stops to the old city). It is less than 5 minutes walk to the station.

The breakfast buffet had a large selection. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful...we had plenty of questions!
One thing I found odd was that the toilet and bidet was in a separate room/area from the sink and tub/shower. It would have been nice to have a sink closer to the toilet.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1HereThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#15 of 358 in Vienna
1,712 reviews
Serviten Quarter
The Harmonie Vienna
The Harmonie Vienna
#14 of 358 in Vienna
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 358 in Vienna
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Wilhelmshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Wilhelmshof

Address: Kleine Stadtgutgasse 4, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Vienna
#21 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#24 Business Hotel in Vienna
#25 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $95 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Der Wilhelmshof 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Der Wilhelmshof - the arthotel between the city center of Vienna and the famous PraterIn the immediate vicinity of one of the main attractions of Vienna, the Ferris wheel in Vienna's Prater, our arthotel «Der Wilhelmshof» is located in a quiet side alley.The interior of the family-run 4-star hotel impresses by its warm, artistic atmosphere, which, together with the modern technical equipment and personal service, is thoroughly tailored to the needs and the well-being of our guests. We are a special hotel, since art accompanies our guests throughout the hotel – from the elegant entrance hall through the artistically staged mezzanines up to the stylish guest rooms that are individually designed. Besides the WLAN access which is available for our hotel guests, free of charge, there is also a hotel-owned garage. Please note that Der Wilhelmshof a non- smoking hotel.Our professionalism, the comfortable and cozy atmosphere and our passion for details rank among our strengths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Der Wilhelmshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Wilhelmshof Hotel Vienna
Wilhelmshof Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing