We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly quirky, modern, arty hotel”
Review of Der Wilhelmshof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Der Wilhelmshof
Ranked #31 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slightly quirky, modern, arty hotel”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Warm comfortable hotel, very convenient for airport train connection and Prater park. Great modern art in the rooms and public areas. Helpful friendly staff. If you stay here use the tram network for the city centre, don't bother with the bus tours, you can see it all from the trams!
Cafe Heine on Heinestrasse has the rudest waitress in Vienna, don't go there.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippaiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    474
    82
    25
    7
See reviews for
388
589
52
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Linville Falls, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Der Wilhelmshof is an excellent hotel, nice rooms, VERY clean, and a breakfast that appeals to most anyone, regardless of nationality. The hotel is NOT on a main drag or major thoroughfare. It is located on a very quiet side street and surrounded by privately owned flats. The advantage to this is that there is also very little street or traffic noise. It is within very easy walking distace to the Prater Park, bakeries, and shopping and there is an U-bahn station also within a short walk. Just across from the entrance to Prater Park, you will also find food, arcades, vendors and the S-Bahn station. The staff is English language friendly (some more than others but all very competent) and were very helpful with local info and calling for taxis, directions to various attractions such as the Lipizzaner Horse Training School, the Schatzkammer, museums, etc. An entire rack of brochures is available in the lobby and there is a lounge downstairs as well. We take our own small bed pillows with us when we travel to Germany and Austria because the traditional bed pillows there are VERY soft, no firmness at all. For people who value firm pillows, you may need to take note of this. And unlike some hotels in Europe, Der Wilhelmshof has EXCELLENT air conditioning. European air condtition can be much different (less cool) than what Americans are accumstomed to, but the temperature control is located in each room and you can get it quite cool.

Room Tip: Bring small firm pillows if you do not like soft flat ones. Most who travel from America should als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for one night in September 2011 due to a business meeteing at a nearby bank. Since I used to live in Vienna for more than 20 years, the area was known to me and it is clearly not a dangerous area. You have a couple of drunks in every major city hanging out at the metro entrances in the evenings. The hotel is pretty nice in the reception area and the breakfast was good. The rooms are not too big ( at least the one I stayed in) and the bathroom was ok as well. There were no special amenities and the towels were pretty worn out. The biggest problem was that the wifi in the room did not work well and I was not able to connect to my e mail server, eventhough they charged me for it. Also the television was an old analog set and it was broken. They managed to start it after I intervened with reception ( it took me 3 calls and 45 min to get someone to help) and it shut off later in the evening so i gave up watching it. The price was also very high for this quality but there was a convention in Vienna nad lack of rooms so i had no choice. Would definetely not come back here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilhelmshof, Leiter Front Office at Der Wilhelmshof, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback.
We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay at Wilhelmshof.

We want to clear a misunderstanding regarding the Wireless Lan connection at our hotel. The connection is free of charge at any time and in any room for all of our guests. We did not charge you anything for the Internet connection. We regret that the connection was not working well during your stay and will do our best to improve the Wireless Lan connection in the future.

Furthermore we are currently replacing our towels and will also replace all old televisions until December.

We would be happy if you would visit us again and experience the improvement on your own.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I stayed in this hotel during a conference in Vienna. The hotel has a convenient location not far from the Praterstern metro station. Easy to reach every part of Vienna that way.
The staff is very nice and friendly; always meeting you with a great smile. I enjoyed the breakfast; especially Irenes fruidsalad. I really loved that.
The first day I arrived, the wifi in my room did not work. I told the receptionist about that, and she said they will fix it the next morning. The next morning, everything was operating perfectly.
I will definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankiBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilhelmshof, Leiter Front Office at Der Wilhelmshof, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thank you very much for your nice review. Our staff is more than happy that you are so satisfied with our service.

We are looking forward to welcome you at our house next time when you are in Vienna.

Kindest regards from your Wilhelmshof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed three nights at this hotel. Firstly, location - at first glance it seems far from the sites but it is actually only 3 U Bahn stations from Stefansdom and can be walked. The hotel is a couple of minutes from the Praterstern U Bahn station. This station has many exits, the one that is closest to the hotel is the Heinestrasse exit. If you take this exit, you will easily find the hotel. The area is not very touristy, which explains the lower rates charged, but we did not see any evidence of it being dangerous as indicated by other reviewres - even at night. We took the U Bahn to go to the airport, and it took around 30 minutes including the 16 minute ride on the airport train. By the way, we purchased the 72 hour Vienna Card that gives unlimited access to public transportation and discounts to restaurants and attractions. This was an error for us, the discounts are very insignificant, restaurants ans stores offering a discount are not always easy to find so it is difficult to make-up the cost. As for the unlimited transport, we probably broke even because we forced ourselves to take the transport since it was unlimited. In actuality, once you arrive to a site in the morning, it is easier to walk to your next site rather than taking the public transport every time otherwise, you would get in and get out continuously. You should calculate this before purchasing.

The hotel is classy looking and well kept up. Rooms are well maintained, clean and of a good size. Our room faced the road but we could not hear anything at night. The in room internet access is not perfect, but this was the case at every hotel that we stayed at. It was sufficient to do what we wanted to do. There could be a few more English speaking TV channels, but TV wasn't a priority for us. The bathroom was clean and updated. Service at reception was very good and pleasant. The same for the breakfast service. Breasfast had a good variery of choices and everything was good. There are two elevators in the hotel so it is easy to bring your loggage up to your room.

I would recommend this hotel if you want to pay reasonnable rates for a very decent hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookie1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilhelmshof, Leiter Front Office at Der Wilhelmshof, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
We want to say thank you very much for such a great feedback. Your review made our staff perfectly happy.

We are looking forward to see you soon in Vienna and in our hotel.

Kind regards from Vienna your Wilhelmshof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I enjoyed my 3-night stay thoroughly, having walked in off the street. My room was beautiful and the breakfasts were very good for my taste (probably less good if you like a cooked breakfast, which I don't). The hotel is decorated with a bit of style, and is very clean. I asked for help once at the desk (to store a bike overnight) and they were obliging. The location is very good for access to the underground and the airport. The only negative is that the location is away from the centre (about 20 mins walk or two stops on the underground), and the neighbourhood isn't too smart. The walk to the centre is pleasant. The off-centre location was more than offset by the pleasantness of the hotel, and more significantly by a price that was way below city centre costs. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the street, but there was no significant street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

As the first time visit in Vienna my wife and i prefer a family hotel above the normal chain hotels like Best western or other well-known hotels. And according to the reviews at booking.com and tripadvisor. But this turns out a bad choice! This is NOT a 4 star hotel.

First the goods about this hotel:
- the breakfast staff was the best above all the redundant reception staff, way too much behind the reception.
- internet in room.

Now the dirty list and points which are not mentioned in the reviews:
- do not stay at this neighborhood if you are with kids or single female! When the dark falls the Prater station is very very dodgy and grim. Lots of drunks and rovers! Avoid the metro exits heading to the quite park! Luckily we walked with a group from the metro when 2 guys jump out of nowhere outside the dark bushes.
- this is NOT a 4 star hotel compared to the standard hotel chains! It is defintely 2/3 star, will explain later.
- way too overpriced for a 'classic' room ( this is the cheapest), for this amount you can stay at the innerstadt centre at a better 3 star chain hotel! We stayed 2 nights and payed just below 300 euro!

Im doing this compare with the 4 star hotels i stayed in.
- the rooms are definitely outdated!
- the beds and blankets are way too short; even when you are 1.85mtr;
- they never heard about lcd tv, we had a tv as small as our hand-luggage and bad satellite tv;
- no toothbrush/ comb;
- limited choice in breakfast;
- no bellboy, you have to carry all your luggage via all the stairs in the hotel.

Conclusion: this is indeed a family hotel. They are very stingy and did not invest in this hotel, but overcharged the rooms. You can notice this in the way they train their receptions staff.
Pick a hotel in Innerstadt as you will stay there for most of your time! Vienna city was very beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#18 of 360 in Vienna
1,631 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#24 of 360 in Vienna
950 reviews
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Serviten Quarter
The Harmonie Vienna
The Harmonie Vienna
#12 of 360 in Vienna
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Wilhelmshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Wilhelmshof

Property: Der Wilhelmshof
Address: Kleine Stadtgutgasse 4, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Vienna
#21 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#24 Business Hotel in Vienna
#26 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#30 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Der Wilhelmshof 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Der Wilhelmshof - the arthotel between the city center of Vienna and the famous PraterIn the immediate vicinity of one of the main attractions of Vienna, the Ferris wheel in Vienna's Prater, our arthotel «Der Wilhelmshof» is located in a quiet side alley.The interior of the family-run 4-star hotel impresses by its warm, artistic atmosphere, which, together with the modern technical equipment and personal service, is thoroughly tailored to the needs and the well-being of our guests. We are a special hotel, since art accompanies our guests throughout the hotel – from the elegant entrance hall through the artistically staged mezzanines up to the stylish guest rooms that are individually designed. Besides the WLAN access which is available for our hotel guests, free of charge, there is also a hotel-owned garage. Please note that Der Wilhelmshof a non- smoking hotel.Our professionalism, the comfortable and cozy atmosphere and our passion for details rank among our strengths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Der Wilhelmshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Wilhelmshof Hotel Vienna
Wilhelmshof Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing