We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a City Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Ranked #28 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2014

A good location ten minutes walk to the City and a few minutes from the underground this hotel is ideal for a short break. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The room was very clean the breakfast was very good. The hotel did not have a restaurant but there are many eating places within a short distance. The room had a fridge/minibar but no coffee/tea making facilities. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

573 - 579 of 1,478 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2014

We recently stayed here for 3 nights, having made the booking with BA flights, which represented good value. We had 3 rooms which, although not large, perfectly adequate, spotlessly clean and well maintained. There were open storage areas which meant you were not disturbed by other guests opening and closing doors and drawers at unsocial times. It is true there can be some traffic noise at the front of the hotel so we kept the window closed at night and we relied on the air conditioning which was extremely effective. One member of our party had a room away from the main road and did not experience any noise from traffic. The bathroom and shower were excellent.
Continental breakfast was available from 6.30 to 11.00 which allowed great flexibility. We never had any difficulty in finding a table. There was a good range of meats, cheeses, fresh fruits and much more. Staff prepared boiled eggs to your liking. I particularly enjoyed the good range of teas and coffees. Staff served drinks if you wished, or you could help yourself. It was so nice to have my own teapot with my favourite tea. We found staff to be very approachable, friendly and helpful. Nothing seemed too much trouble. I had a slight problem with the safe and a member of staff attended to it immediately. On our last day we were having a birthday lunch and requested a short extension on our rooms so we could get changed, again staff were accommodating. Links to the tube and trains are only minutes away and there are convenience stores a couple of minutes away. A hotel with the personal touch and one I would.be happy to visit again

Room Tip: If you prefer to sleep with an open window request a room at the back .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris_m_barnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We were very happy with our visit to this hotel. The staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. The breakfast offered a good variety. The vicinity to the trains was an added bonus. Price was very reasonable and the room was recently updated. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank JoeP14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This is a fantastic hotel; perfect location (10 mins by U-bahn from the city centre and 35 minutes by S-bahn from the airport); very friendly and attentive staff; clean and tidy rooms and an excellent breakfast. We found that the staff couldn't do enough for us. There would be no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel for its good price and location. As the name suggests, the hotel is of a classic design, including the furniture and room decor. I found the carpet and velvet armchair in the room a bit musty, but overall, the room was very clean. Most of the staff were cheerful and friendly.

The only problem we had was the air con. We arrived on a rather warm afternoon. Although the nighttime was cool/cold, the room itself hasn't cooled off. We opened the window initially, but the noise from the evening thunderstorm and the traffic was really too much, as the room was on the first floor facing the main street. In the end, we decided to try the air con. Wow, we really regretted doing so. The noise from the air con woke me up a few times. I even dreamt that there was a helicopter in the room! The cool air from the air con was also a smelly. Probably because it hadn't been used for a long time during winter months. Anyway, we didn't touch the air con on the second night and just kept the window open. Temperature wise, it was fine. But the noise from the late night pedestrians and traffic (including the odd ambulance siren) woke me up countless times. The moral of the story? Ask for a higher for room or one that doesn't face the main street.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank HChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicHotelWien, Manager at Austria Classic Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Mrs. Chan,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am sorry to hear that obviously your A/C was broken and literally traumatized you. We did not know that it was broken until we read your review that you published 3 weeks after your departure.

I apologize for any inconvenience!

Unfortunately things do break sometimes, it happens everywhere! We really appreciate it if guests do report such things DURING their stay! This gives our maintenance team the opportunity to do repairs immediately and to provide full functionality of the facilities.
We had the annual check of our A/C system during the last 2 weeks and I personally checked your room (#106) today. The A/C there is purring like a sweet kitten and does not smell at all.

We are looking forward to welcome you again at “helicopter-free” Austria Classic Hotel Wien.

Kind regards
Ingeborg Seitz
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed her in May 2014, and whilst our trip to Vienna was less than perfect weather-wise, the staff at this Hotel did everything they could to still make it a brilliant stay. They sorted everything for us at no additional cost, and even had umbrellas to borrow to keep us dry during our sorties out into the rain. And the buffet breakfast was deluxe, everything from traditional to typical western and healthy to cakes. As well, they also had a great automatic coffee machine for proper ground coffee!!! On top of all of this, it is very affordable and felt like a special treat without breaking the bank.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank PCandKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed at this wonderful three star establishment for 6 days in room 307 and were impressed from the moment we arrived until we left. This is a classic older style hotel with a wonderful etiquette and service ethos from all the staff we met. From the moment we arrived we were given excellent attention, having booked using my BA Avios points we had reserved a standard room, however at check-in the lady in charge took one look at our large assortment of luggage and two small children (4 & 1) year old and immediately upgraded us to a larger room. Waiting in the room to the great delight of our 4 year old daughter were two little teddy bears, one for each child to keep, the hotel mascot known as Mr Blumi. Nothing was any trouble to the staff and they always went out of their way for us, even making a snack for our children when we departed at 7 in the evening. The hotel, although not located close to the high street, there are two well located stations in easy walking distance (4 minutes walk) namely Nestroyplatz and Praterstern where you can access all public transportation and all the main sights are between 5 and 20 minutes at most from the stations. Vienna public transportation is possibly one of the best in the world and to get around with two small children was effortless. The sights in Vienna are endless however travelling with two small children we focussed on the nearby Prater funfair, visited the Zoo, Natural History Museum (dinosaur displays!), Zoom (children activities at the Museum Quarter), the Hunderwasserhaus, children's museum at the palace, some retail therapy near Stephanplatz and some walks along the Donauinsel (Danube Island). Well recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KZNSharks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#15 of 358 in Vienna
1,712 reviews
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#24 of 358 in Vienna
1,376 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#2 of 358 in Vienna
1,896 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Classic Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Classic Hotel Wien

Address: Praterstrasse 72, Vienna 1020, Austria (Formerly Nordbahn-Wien)
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Vienna
#18 Family Hotel in Vienna
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $83 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Austria Classic Hotel Wien 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our centrally located hotel, with its 200 years of history, is one of the most traditional houses in Vienna and combines comfort with contemporary flair. The natural warmth of the staff, best service quality and special attention to details provide a unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Austria Classic Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Vienna
Vienna Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing