We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have enjoyed being in this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Ranked #27 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We have enjoyed being in this hotel!”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We were in Austria Classic Wien hotel 5 nights. It's really great hotel. First of all it has about 200 years' history. Location was very suitable for us - 15 min from the city center, 3 min from the U-Bahn and 5 min from Praterstern station. We had quadruple room. The room was really ok for 4 people. In bathroom was even two sinks. Hotel is clean. In the room was all that we need - big safe, clean bedding, clean towels. toiletries, table. Breakfast was excellent - many tasty dishes. We enjoyed this breakfast! Staff was friendly. There are gym and sauna in the Hotel. We used sauna twice - staff gave us the keys - everything was great! I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlenkaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    509
    62
    11
    3
See reviews for
294
597
91
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ypsilanti, Michigan USA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed at the Austria Classic Hotel Wien for several nights. Although the room was small, it was immaculately clean and comfortable. But what really mattered was the staff. They were absolutely the best. Extremely friendly, helpful, cheerful, and good-humored. As others have said, our room was immediately ready when we arrived. Check-in was immediate. The breakfast was delectable--something for everyone--and plenty of it. The Praterstern Train Station was less than a five-minute walk, from which we traveled to the main station for connections to our other destinations--Bratislava and Budapest. A bit of a walk to the city center for shopping, but it was well worth it. Several good restaurants and coffee shops in the area. Our desk staff directed us to the Hop on-Hop Off buses and gave helpful information of anything for which we inquired. Yes--I would certainly stay again--absolutely! Hats off to their wonderful staff!

Room Tip: Can't really say. Our room was over a parking lot which looked over to the other side of our ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, MI
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel is nicely located not far from the City Center and the tram station where you can catch trains for other destinations. There is an amusement park right down the street.

Rooms are small and the bathrooms SMALLER!! You can seriously get stuck between the door and the sink. That having been said the rooms nicely serve their purpose and are kept spotless.

The front desk staff are very friendly and very helpful....a personal shout out to Christoph!! The courtesy breakfast is very tasty as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinnyMYpsilanti_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingoer, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We arrived around lunch time and were pleasently surprised that our room was already available.
The hotel is situated very well for both the airport and city center. We took a train directly from the airport til Praterstern Station and walked maximum 5 minutes to the hotel. To the city center we could take a direct U-Bahn.
We had upgraded to a superior room for + 10 € pr night. We were a little disappointed that the room was on the small side. However the room was clean and tidy.
We had a very nice breakfast buffet and on Easter morning we all had a small easter egg at the table. The buffet was well assorted and the staff replenished when necessary.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We booked this hotel based on the feedback on tripadvisor. The location of the hotel is excellent with just 2 metro stations from city centre. The breakfast was sumptuous with ample options. The rooms very neat and clean, though small. Also the annoying factor was that the AC was not turned on and the reason given by staff was the AC system is usually available from May onwards. Apparently at the time of booking it was not mentioned and neither did the staff mention it at the time of check-in. I had booked it from expedia

Pros: Location, neat & clean rooms, very good breakfast options

Cons: Rooms are small, unavailability of AC

Room Tip: When booking please clarify that AC system will be available. This is really annoying since it can g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocks81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicHotelWien, Manager at Austria Classic Hotel Wien, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for your review!

We are happy that you liked our location, breakfast and service.

Austria and especially the city of Vienna are famous for it´s quality of life and we see it as our duty to keep it that way. We definitely try to avoid any waste of energy because that’s pollution and therefore we do not activate the A/C during spring-like temperatures of 20 degrees and cool (sometimes even cold) nights.

Our simple and environmentally friendly solution for our guests who stay with us during the wonderful spring and who feel that 20 degrees is too hot: please simply switch off the radiator in your room, open the windows before going to bed for a few minutes and let the 10 degree evening air cool down your room.

We are sure that it is also in your interest when the environment is not polluted by waste of energy and we hope to welcome you again in Vienna.

Kind regards
Ingeborg Seitz
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The first incredibly useful detail about this hotel is that it is close the S-bahn from the airport. You can buy a one-day transit ticket for seven euros at the airport, hop on, and be at the Praterstern station in about 40 minutes. The hotel is a block from the train station (make sure to head straight across the tram tracks toward the monument to find the easiest route to Prater Straße). Our room was comfortable, clean, and well-furnished. After we'd settled in, we found that there were two close U-bahn stations in addition to the S-bahn at Praterstern, loads of drug stores and convenience stores, coffee shops, and bars. The Vienna Boys' Choir's secular theater is a 15- minute walk from the hotel as well and worth finding tickets to. Moreover, the staff was incredibly helpful and breakfast was FULL of options. I would recommend this hotel highly!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anisoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Not often I give 5 stars for anything but all in all the Austria Classic deserves it. From the moment we walked in were greeted by a smiling and efficient girl and checked in less than 2 minutes, entered the spotless lift, we then found our room. Still reeling in shock at the efficiency we went into our classic styled room, with air can and a normal sized spotlessly clean bathroom. Wi Fi worked and even the windows open if you want. I hate hotels that chain the windows shut with a sign saying, "For your protection the windows are locked shut", ie you are too stupid to be left unsupervised with an opening window!The breakfast was nice. All in all a pleasant stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pcgrowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#24 of 360 in Vienna
1,276 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#17 of 360 in Vienna
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#31 of 360 in Vienna
1,456 reviews
Serviten Quarter
The Harmonie Vienna
The Harmonie Vienna
#12 of 360 in Vienna
577 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Classic Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Classic Hotel Wien

Property: Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Address: Praterstrasse 72, Vienna 1020, Austria (Formerly Nordbahn-Wien)
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Vienna
#25 Family Hotel in Vienna
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Austria Classic Hotel Wien 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our centrally located hotel, with its 200 years of history, is one of the most traditional houses in Vienna and combines comfort with contemporary flair. The natural warmth of the staff, best service quality and special attention to details provide a unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Austria Classic Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Vienna
Vienna Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing