We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but cozy room with stale air”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Ranked #27 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed in a small but comfortable (and clean) double room. There was just enough space for two people to stay and operate without inconvinience. The room reservation was made with a preference for a quiet room and the room was indeed quiet. The only major complaint was the lack of ventilation, which made the air in the room pretty thick. Fortunately there was a large window that could be opened. The hotel breakfast was nice and the service was friendly both at the reception and in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeesbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

Liked this classic hotel with very nice tasty full breakfast buffet. Mainly impressed by staff and paticularly, Andrea, who so patiently explained directions (at least 3 times) to the Vienna woods. Nice location and easy walk to the center of town. Room nice and clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dot R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We spent two wonderful nights in this cosy and quiet hotel at the outskirts of historical center of Vienna. The hotel has a good location 2 min walk from Praterstern station (U1, U3 and S7) and 3 min walk from Nestroyplatz station (U1). Prater park located nearby so you can go jogging in the morning. Hotel rooms are smal but comfortable, breakfast is average with no hot meals, but we always found something to eat. The staff is extremely polite and helpful, we got great advise about where to go and where to eat from them. Great hotel, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed staying here at the Hotel Wien. Its location perfect just 10 minutes walk to the center of the City or two stops on the Metro just outside the hotel. Our room was excellent and breakfast delicious with a wide variety to choose from. I looked forward to it the moment I woke up. It was also served until 11a.m which is unusual in my experience. The staff were delightful, helpful with directions etc. Our room was small but spotless and the bathroom perfect. I would be very happy to return if I should be so lucky!!

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor looking out over the terrace area which was very quiet as it was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eithne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I were very happy with our 3 night stay at the Hotel Wein. Our room was small but comfortable with internet connection which came in very handy. Buffet breakfast which was included was wonderful with a large variety to chose from. Staff was friendly and helpful. They even gave us a lot of assistance in booking train tickets to Budapest. I only gave it 4 stars because of its location. I would have liked it to be a little more centrally located but once we got our bearings and realized everything was just about 2 stops on the metro it worked out well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ckatmomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We found the service in this hotel to be fantastic - friendly, professional and helpful at all times. Upon our arrival we were given a map of Vienna, an explanation of the metro system and the best ticket to buy for our stay, a suggestion of a local restaurant for dinner and explanation of available services at the hotel.

The room is a little small, the bathroom in particular is tiny. If you require more space, this is not the hotel for you. The room was clean and well provisioned, and the bed comfortable. The bathroom is a very small ensuite with glass sliding door that has frosted glass segments - you don't really get a lot of privacy!

The breakfasts are amazing - a full buffet in a lovely dining room, with a range of breads, meats, eggs, fruit, vegetables, cereals, juices, and hot beverages. Definitely give yourself enough time to come down and enjoy the breakfast!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lil_SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

HOTEL
We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during our trip to Vienna. The hotel looks pretty small from the entrance and lobby, but it is actually very deep and has a lot of rooms. We got a room that was far away and does take some time to get to the room from the lobby. The hotel is very clean and comfortable, especially for the price.

LOCATION
The location was great, because we wanted to stay as close to the tram, which took us to most of the places that we wanted to get to. It is not a very crowded area, but it felt clean and safe. There is also a small carnival-like area nearby (just look for the large ferris wheel) although it's not there interesting. There also isn't much good food nearby, except some dessert shops.

STAFF
The staff was very courteous and helpful, and they spoke English. They even gave us an extra free breakfast. We had arrived around 7 am, much earlier than our check-in time. We asked to see if we could check in early, and they told us that if they can find a an empty room then they would let us check in earlier. Since it was so earlier and nothing was open, we just waited at the hotel lobby. While we were waiting, they asked if we wanted to eat breakfast and they led us to the breakfast buffet. Our booking was supposed to include breakfast only for the next 2 mornings. So basically we stayed for 2 nights and got 3 breakfasts.

RECOMMENDATION
I would highly recommend this hotel if you are traveling to the area and you are on a budget. The affordability/quality ratio is great. Of course, if the extra amenities such as spa and other 5 star hotel services are important, you might be better off with a different hotel (it will also be closer to the center of the city, although it will definitely cost you).

Room Tip: When you get off the tram and walk towards the hotel, it should be a 10 minute walk and on your left...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tedxted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri. Ihr Wiener Hotel
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#24 of 359 in Vienna
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 359 in Vienna
1,435 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,962 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#33 of 359 in Vienna
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Classic Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Classic Hotel Wien

Address: Praterstrasse 72, Vienna 1020, Austria (Formerly Nordbahn-Wien)
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Vienna
#18 Family Hotel in Vienna
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $88 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Austria Classic Hotel Wien 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our centrally located hotel, with its 200 years of history, is one of the most traditional houses in Vienna and combines comfort with contemporary flair. The natural warmth of the staff, best service quality and special attention to details provide a unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Austria Classic Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Vienna
Vienna Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing