We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic and classy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Ranked #29 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Classic and classy”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in the Austria Classic Hotel. The decor is in a traditional Austrian style, lots of wood panelling and richly carpeted. The rooms are equiped to the higest modern standard and very comfortable. The lady on reception was most helpful and organised tickets for sightseeing tours on our arrival. There is a nice little bar area with a friendly bartender, we enjoyed a nightcap there at the end of a busy day's sightseeing. We were really impressed with the breakfast which offered a fantastic choice to suit all tastes and waistlines. We would certainly come back here next time we are in Vienna

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wartnaby39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    493
    60
    11
    3
See reviews for
283
576
87
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Over the course of many years, business trips have made me and several of my colleagues stay in Vienna for several weeks a year. I have always enjoyed staying in this hotel, even at the time when it was still referred to as "Nordbahn". It has that superb mixture of old and new, and its obliging personel adds friendlyness and servialility to professionalism. It is located at walking distance to the Prater park and has excellent communication facilities:U-bahn, train station with direct connection to airport at a few minutes walk, car parking facilities. Rooms are well-equipped, very tidy and well isolated from noise, even those close to the busy Praterstrasse. Nice breakfast, again with that friendly touch by the personel. As an extra, this hotel has a small fitness roon as well as a sauna, all this for no extra cost.... Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lodewijk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had a family room for 4, which was excellent, (2 rooms in one). Nicely decorated and equipped. The hotel staff were very professional and very nice and helpful. The hotel has two small outside terraces, and is pleasantly decorated. The breakfast is outstanding, with a large variety to choose from. The hotel is a 5-10mins train ride to the city center. The railway station is only a 5 mins. walk. There are no restaurants nearby, but there are small cafes and take away food stores in the area, but operate only on limited hours on the week ends. We enjoyed our stay. The hotel is very clean and professional.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fawkolgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bari, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very well located hotel also and well served by public transport included airport (bus, tram, metro, S-train). Friendly staff that gave me all information and help I needed. I have been there previously and will go again on occasion of my next travels to Vienna.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ludovico67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was my third stay at this hotel. I have been traveling to Vienna on business quite frequently over the last few years. This hotel is a great place to stay. The rooms are quite big, there is an elevator and most importantly, the rooms are air-conditioned. The front staff are very friendly and are present 24 hours. The hotel is very close to Praterstaern (the train station). The train ticket from Vienna airport to this station is only about 4.20 Euros if you take the the S-Bahn S7. . Compare this to the almost 75 Euros by taxi or the 25Euros by the CAT!
The hotel breakfast is outstanding, Overall, one cannot get a better hotel or location than this one. I have found that the best rates can be obtained if you use one of the many online hotel booking websites such as Trivago, Hotels.com etc etc

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdpgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights in September. Arrived at 9:30 from an overnight flight. Anna immediately checked to see if a room was ready we could take immediately. She mentioned that the room could be a little small for 2 friends travelling and offered to upgrade us at a minimal cost should we want a larger room. We opted for the larger room and couldn't have been happier with the location, the hotel and the staff. The restaurant is only open for the breakfast buffet which was excellent. A train station, 2 subway stations are just minutes walk away and even to walk down to Stephanplatz is only about 15 minutes. OVerall: safe, clean, friendly and great location.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe room. The standard room is good for one maybe 2 nights if you are a couple or rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Clean! Extremely clean hotel. Friendly staffs. Free super duper FAST Wifi!!!!! Reasonably priced hotel. Convenient location. There is a bank, several restaurants, cafes (just don't go to the one right next to it called Dogenhof --- psychotic, rude owner. Avoid it big time!), a grocery store, a pharmacy etc right down the street. Subway stations right by this hotel. Close to the Danube. Walking distance to the ring street. Book your room now!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivajin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#24 of 362 in Vienna
1,206 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#27 of 362 in Vienna
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#17 of 362 in Vienna
1,583 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Stefanie
Hotel Stefanie
#25 of 362 in Vienna
1,106 reviews
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#21 of 362 in Vienna
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Classic Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Classic Hotel Wien

Property: Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Address: Praterstrasse 72, Vienna 1020, Austria (Formerly Nordbahn-Wien)
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Vienna
#25 Family Hotel in Vienna
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Austria Classic Hotel Wien 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our centrally located hotel, with its 200 years of history, is one of the most traditional houses in Vienna and combines comfort with contemporary flair. The natural warmth of the staff, best service quality and special attention to details provide a unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Austria Classic Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Vienna
Vienna Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing