We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Vienna hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Ranked #27 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Convenient Vienna hotel”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel is one block from the metro with clean rooms, friendly staff, and a delicious breakfast buffet. The room was small but comfortable and surprisingly quiet for the hotel's busy street location. The price was very reasonable, and we would definitely return to this hotel in beautiful Vienna.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    509
    62
    11
    3
See reviews for
294
597
91
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

On our trip we stayed in Zagreb, Vienna, Bratislava, and Krakow. The stay at the Hotel Wien was the least expensive in by far the most expensive city. Despite the cost it was a very good hotel indeed. The room was comfortable, quiet, and had a good bathroom. The welcome was friendly and there was a genuine interest in providing information to make sure we get the most out of our stay in Vienna.
Breakfast was excellent with a good bean to cup coffee machine. There is an outside terrace, as there is on the first floor for an afternoon tea after sightseeing. All staff were friendly and helpful.
The location was ideal, with only two stops on the metro to the centre, and local restaurants and cafes which were less expensive than the centre. We were leaving on the boat to Bratislava, which was in easy walking distance as was the city centre. If you are arriving from the station or airport it is much easier to get off at the metro station before Prater, which is a major interchange. Follow the Prater strasse exit and the hotel is a short distance down on the right.
When we got back I saw that the final bill was at the standard room rate rather than the advance no refund rate we had booked. It was my fault because I hadn't checked it. I emailed which brought an immediate apology and refund. I totally believed it was a mistake because everyone was so helpful and friendly at the hotel.
We will go back to Vienna because after three days there was a lot more we wanted to see, and we will stay at this hotel when we do.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petefLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a recent city break in this hotel and our great experience means it will be a default option for our future stays in Vienna. The room was excellent - very comfortable and spotless, the breakfast buffet was top notch and the great location near a metro station made it the perfect base for getting round Vienna. We had a great welcome from the reception staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. We thought it was a nice touch that the manager was present when we were checking out who took time to chat about our stay. Keep up the excellent work Austria Classic Hotel Wien!

Room Tip: We had a superior plus room which was worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finn08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

After reading quite a few reviews in Tripadvisor I decided to go with this hotel form my trip to Vienna. Did I make the right choice. Absolutely....and would urge travellers like me (who opt for exploration rather than going in a guided tour) to chose this hotel. But firstly I must confess once aspect. Vienna is easily one of the best cities in the world. And it is the best in terms of maintaining both the old world along with modernisation. Infrastructure is superb, people are very helpful, city is too beautiful. All in all it is the picture perfect location. Now coming back to the hotel. It is very conveniently located near the Praterstern subway and is accessible from all parts of the city. You can go to any part of the city in 10-15 mins flat, which is like awesome. The rooms are large in comparison to the European hotels. The service is impeccable. The staff mostly are very good. You may encounter one or two grumpy faces which you can ignore since the others quite make it up. The breakfast is easily one of the best and the best part being all freshly made. I liked their spread of fruits and cold cuts. They have also have a Sauna room. You need to just ask for the keys. The people at the reception will guide you the locations you want to go. Overall extremely satisfied with Vienna and Classic Hotel Wien.

Room Tip: Chose any room. We were given a room towards the roadside but believe me it did not affect our sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buzo_Pops_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Milford, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were very happy with the choice of this hotel: pleasant and friendly staff, nice settings, excellent breakfast, 2 blocks from a Metro station, quiet location despite beeing in a big avenue. What we did not liked was the bathrom glass doors: you wre able to see, hear and smell everything!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hannes1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Right by the luna-park and the train station - you get anywhere in no time by underground. The room is comfortable and clean. The staff are nice and helpful. Brfeakfast is excelent. Lovely place to stay :)

Room Tip: The hotel has free parking, but no need for a car - the underground and trams are great. The onl di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Overall this was a lovely hotel. Our experience with checking in was very smooth. The staff was friendly & helpful. The room was large, well-lit and comfortable. We had a quad room, which was basically a king bed & king pull-out sofa, which was more comfortable than other pull-outs I've slept on. The room was air-conditioned.
The location was close to The Prater, but also to public transportation which was very easy to use. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#24 of 360 in Vienna
1,276 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#17 of 360 in Vienna
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#31 of 360 in Vienna
1,455 reviews
Serviten Quarter
The Harmonie Vienna
The Harmonie Vienna
#12 of 360 in Vienna
577 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Classic Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Classic Hotel Wien

Property: Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Address: Praterstrasse 72, Vienna 1020, Austria (Formerly Nordbahn-Wien)
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Vienna
#25 Family Hotel in Vienna
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Austria Classic Hotel Wien 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our centrally located hotel, with its 200 years of history, is one of the most traditional houses in Vienna and combines comfort with contemporary flair. The natural warmth of the staff, best service quality and special attention to details provide a unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Austria Classic Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Vienna
Vienna Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing