We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Ranked #29 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
474 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
“Top value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed for three nights at the beginning of April. Travelled from the airport to central Vienna on the CAT train then took the metro. Very easy journey and ticket machines in English too. Used the metro every day. Nearest metro station Nestroyplatz only 100m from the hotel. We arrived early and our room was not available so deposited the bags and started our sightseeing returning late afternoon. Check in was hassle free and the reception staff were very good. In fact all the staff were excellent throughout our stay. Our room was on the first floor and very quiet even though we were near the lifts. Never heard a thing, bed was firm but OK, clean and had all the necessary! Breakfast was OK, same every day, scrambled eggs, bacon, pastries, cereals etc. No tea or coffee making facilities in the room though. We ate at several different restaurants (no fast food, incl pizza's) from Schwedenplatz to Stephansplatz (see seperate reviews.) Also ideal for a day trip to Bratislava on the jet ferry, it leaves from the Danube Canal at Schwedenplatz. Hotel was a bargain and would use again, enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    493
    60
    11
    3
See reviews for
283
577
87
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

I and DH stayed here for three nights in early April. Even though the hotel is situated next to a rather busy road, our room was very quiet and I slept really well there. The room was quite small, but adequate with nearly everything you could need. The only thing we missed a little was perhaps a coffee maker. Breakfast was good and the breakfast room was always very busy if you arrived around 9 o'clock like us. Staff was very friendly and when we left the hotel we were given small packs of tissue paper saying "Don't cry - Just come back", that was rather funny! I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short stay, even for a longer one if you book one of the more expensive (about 20 Euros more per night) bigger rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

I stayed at the hotel with my girlfriend for four nights in early March. Everything was really good and we left without a single complaint. The interior of the hotel is nice and smart, the rooms are of a good size and with everything you will require, and the breakfast is excellent. We also found the staff to be extremely helpful. They arranged for us to visit Salzburg on one of the days, which helped us a lot as we wanted to go but had made no plans before arriving. Every person we encountered on the reception was friendly and helpful. The location is also excellent. There is a train from the airport to the Praterstern station just a couple of minutes away, an underground line to the centre of Vienna (3 stops), and we found the walk into the middle along the river is actually a very nice way to do it too (it takes about 20 minutes). Overall - top marks.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T0m1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

I visited Vienna early March 2012. The hotel is cosy and also the breakfast is very good. One of the best parts is a wonderful location: very close to railway station and U Bahn and Linie 1 to City Center. There are also several affordable and tasty restaurants near by.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harrivassu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

Nice staff eager to help. The room was quiet and comfortable. Breakfast excellent. Close to the Praterstern with good communications, yet not in the busy city center. The hotel has kept an oldfashioned style like heavy room keys and the reception interior.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

We reach there at late night. When we reach the reception, they greet us with our name and in Chinese (our dialect) which we feel a warm welcome. The room is small but ok with fridge(not working), safety box and free wifi. Breakfast is good and lots of choices. the reception is great at service and able to valuable information if you need it.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan_d_Ho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

My wife and I visited this place in December 2011 for the Christmas markets and found it to be ideally located for that due to the close proximity of the Praterstern train station just a two minute walk away.
From here you can get a train speedily to and from the airport and St Stephens Square (the centre of Vienna) is only 3 stops away.
Don't be alarmed by being so close to the station as its very clean and safe and you don't get any noise.
The street of the hotel has a lovely chocolate shop / coffee house on the corner towards the station and the Gasthaus pub is opposite which serves its own beer and authentic local food. As you leave the hotel and turn left on the opposite side of the street is a small modern bar that serves home made pitta breads. I can't recall the name but it isn't the Italian, Chinese or chophouse!
We used to enjoy walking into the city centre which took around 15 minutes and during December there were lovely rum punch bars on the street corners serving warm punch and sausage sandwiches - superb!
On one such walk we discovered an excellent and reasonably priced restaurant called Elf which is on an alley way just off Fleischmarkt. This was where we had the best food of our trip and they also had some excellent local wines.
Overall we loved Vienna and the hotel is a great place from which to explore it.
The hotel was clean and tidy and the breakfast was comprehensive in terms of food type and hot and cold choices. The staff were great too. The room was maybe a touch narrow but otherwise we had no complaints at all.
Get there and enjoy it!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen_Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#23 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#27 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#17 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Stefanie
Hotel Stefanie
#25 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#21 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Classic Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Classic Hotel Wien

Property: Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Address: Praterstrasse 72, Vienna 1020, Austria (Formerly Nordbahn-Wien)
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Vienna
#25 Family Hotel in Vienna
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Austria Classic Hotel Wien 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our centrally located hotel, with its 200 years of history, is one of the most traditional houses in Vienna and combines comfort with contemporary flair. The natural warmth of the staff, best service quality and special attention to details provide a unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Austria Classic Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Vienna
Vienna Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing