We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale, design hotel in central Vienna”
Review of Hotel Topazz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Topazz
Ranked #69 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Upscale, design hotel in central Vienna”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Hotel Topazz is a distinctively designed, "green-oriented" hotel located very near to Stephansplatz. The outside of the hotel is studded with large, oval windows-in our room this was a nice window seat. The room was relatively large and stylish and the bathroom was as well. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We did not have breakfast at the hotel, as we were able to get simple, more reasonably priced breakfast at many places very close by. The hotel provides a free mini-bar and also free coffee and other drinks and, in the late afternoon, snacks, in a "club" one floor below street level, which was a great amenity.
The location is terrific, walking distance to historical sites and also close to the station-we took the City Airport Train to Wien Mitte, and the Stephansplatz station is two stops from there.
It all made for a great visit to Vienna.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronco10708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    111
    31
    10
    7
See reviews for
45
249
26
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed in Hotel Topazz for three days, and I found a beautiful atmosphere. Just after the entrance, I was welcomed in a cozy lounge with elegant sofas. My room was a true touch of class, with an enchanting view on Stephansplatz, the heart of Vienna. The staff was very professional and with a warm attitude. Everything was stylish, and I felt at home. Don't miss the afternoon tea with sandwiches and pastries, offered from the hotel with compliments! Without any doubt, I will choose this hotel if I visit Vienna again, as I hope.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TasteandTravel_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed here during a 3 night business trip. Very nice modern room, great breakfast. Very comfortable bed. Very central location, just few hundred meters from Stephan's Dom , etc. Also very close to Underground station.They forgot to clean my room the last day but they made up for it by offering me a freebie.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vyrhkgist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Topazz for three nights and were very impressed with the quality of service we received. This hotel would have gotten 5-star rating if it wasn't for the bad air-conditioning in the room. We found ourselves sweating most of the nights and only realised on the second day that Hotel Topazz has been voted the most eco-friendly hotel in Vienna, hence the low energy consumption. I guess if we were visiting the city during winter, this would have been alright. Other than this, the hotel is lovely. Breakfast is very unique and delicious. Free tea and cakes during the afternoon. Free minibar. Great central location. Great staff. Would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Choose the room in the corner so you get two big oval windows instead of one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chusana_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spent four nights at Hotel Topazz in Vienna as the last stop on a short european tour.

This place is very modern, as you could probably gather looking at pictures of the front. the rooms are very comfortable and spectacularly decorated. The bathrooms were beautiful, although at times I felt they were not designed with practicality in mind.

The rooms are very quiet, almost too quiet. If you open the window you realize how good the soundproofing is, as you can hear people milling about on the streets at night.

We booked their base room, called a Superior Room. I'd recommend going up to at least the deluxe, as it looks like all the superior rooms do not have the trademark round windows and really have no view at all.

The staff at the hotel was extremely friendly. They humored my meager german efforts and did their best to help us out with ever ything we need. The location is 2 blocks from St Stephens at the heart of the city

Room Tip: if you want a round window and a view of some kind, do not book the lowest rate room, called a super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

excellent location- 3 mins away from St. Stephens Cathedral and close to all things shopping and eateries, contemporary design, free minibar, free wifi, helpful staff, limited menu options for Vegetarians (not something I should have expected being in Austria :)), clean rooms

Room Tip: Higher floor superior rooms have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocksaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Great location for walking around the center of the city. Walk out the door, make right and you are at the end of one of the main shopping streets. Walk down this street for 10 minutes and you're at the State Opera house.
Very helpful staff.
Very clean, comfortable room.
No complaints.
We had room #53, a prestige room with two windows and thought it was a nice size for a city hotel room. Two large suitcases in there and we still had plenty of space to walk around the bed and move around. The room had lots of nice design features and none of them felt like the were purchased at IKEA, like so many modern looking hotels these days.
Aparently there is one room per floor with a tub in the bathroom. We had the room with the tub and the bathroom was very clean and a nice size, too.
The free minibar and free drinks in the lounge in the afternoon are nice touches. Not a large selection, but still simple and satisfying.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tannins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Lamee
Hotel Lamee
#115 of 360 in Vienna
258 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#34 of 360 in Vienna
425 reviews
Inner City
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
#48 of 360 in Vienna
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#5 of 360 in Vienna
1,068 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
#16 of 360 in Vienna
564 reviews
Inner City
Pension City
Pension City
#135 of 360 in Vienna
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Topazz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Topazz

Property: Hotel Topazz
Address: Lichtensteg 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Topazz 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Topazz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing