We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful design - over engineered”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Topazz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Topazz
Ranked #59 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful design - over engineered”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

This is a beautiful design hotel in a perfect central location to walk and sightsee. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Room designed to perfection with a very comfortable bed and excellent walk in shower. Breakfast was in my tarif was charged as Extra ( rather expensive). It was breakfast where everything was over designed -eg. small kilner jars of purée, yoghurt & granola, they looked beautiful,but only a taster !
The free ( drinks and nibbles), afternoon salon was perfect to relax after a busy day without having staff loitering.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    105
    31
    10
    6
See reviews for
44
243
25
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Thank you very much for all the earlier reviews in Tripadvisor to let me find this hotel. This hotel is the highlight of my 2 weeks trip and makes my first trip to Vienna a memorable one. The location is so ideal that I can enjoy my walking to anywhere I want. The salon or lounge is also perfect to take a rest after shopping in the afternoon. Breakfast is in the beautiful setting with professional service( just only a little too cold for me and too expensive in my thought). Room is also beautiful and comfortable. Everything in this hotel has been taken care even in the small detail. Last but not least, the super nice and friendly of the hotel team (esp. at reception) makes this hotel a very charming one. I will surely stay at this hotel when I return to Vienna.

Room Tip: Try to book the Prestige room. The small extra you pay would bring you to the higher floor and bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddy_bkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was just great - luxury, design, spotless, around the corner from the cathedral. It also has a hall with free wine, tea and coffee. Minibar is also free of charge. The room was on of the most luxury I have ever seen! 5 stars!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frizzanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a beautiful Hotel in the heart of Vienna with it own salon which is to die for. The room was a good size with a great window just to sit and read. The lounge or salon is great to sit and take advantage of the free wifi and drinks on offer in a 20s era ambiance. The staff overall were not at the high level of the hotels interior but I am sure they will improve as the hotel matures. Issues such as not replenishing shampoos or water daily do not go with the upmarket feel of the hotel. Reception staff are not as sharp as they are attired as I came the room was not ready but would be in half an hour. I then went for a walk for 2hrs and came back to check in and the gentleman before myself recieved my room. I was then told again my new room would not be ready for half an hour more and this was now 6pm. The staffed rushed to get it ready and in 10 minutes I was in the room as the cleaner was leaving. We also had an issue with maintenance men entering the room without asking permission. My wife was sick in bed and they came in and fixed a door without even an apology. I am sure management with proper training will get the staff up to the level this hotel deserves and still encourage readers to not miss out on this hotel as it is a beautiful hotel in an amazing city.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are slightly better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Further to lots of reviews of this new architectural highlight in the center of Vienna I was excited to to try Hotel Topazz for a weekend.
First of all the central location is perfect for a short trip.
I liked my room from the start, it has been modern, stylish, cosy, individual, everything you ask for. It was one of these hotel rooms you enjoy, you really like to come back to.
Service was brilliant, I really felt like a guest.
Two things I missed: You can't switch off the air condition completely. And I would really prefer some special shower gel etc.. it's ok still.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnMyWay62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Hotel managers and developers should really hop on a plane to Vienna and check out the Topazz. This is hands down probably one of the world's best city center hotels in this price range. Every little thing is perfectly well though out in this beautiful boutique hotel in the very center of the city. Great architecture, great interior design with nice materials and excellent service. Why can't all hotels finally recognize that there is no point in ripping guests off with WiFi and Minibar fees? The Topazz got it right and includes all that and a delicious afternoon snack in the room rate. I also loved the comfortable bed and the high-pressure rain shower. The only thing that needs to be improved are the temperature control (it was too cold) and the safe (the was no power outlet to charge your laptop). But those are just details and considering the hotel is so young it is remarkably amazing. I hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveller360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for almost a week late Aug 2012 and is very happy with it. Unbeatable location, super friendly staff and very cozy room. When we ran out of ideas on where to dine, the staff never fail us with their suggestions and we are very happy with their recommendations. We got free access to their lounge every day from noon til 10pm, excellent choices of red / white / sparking ling wine, coffee and fancy tea selection; small cakes are available from 4pm to 5:30pm. We found ourselves sipping wine / coffee in the lounge after a long day out and about in the city. Also free WIFI and free mini bar. One little complaint though, we almost didn't get enough shampoo, bath gel and ran out of body lotion. In other hotels, we get more than enough shampoo & bath gel every day, but not quite so in Topazz.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Lamee
Hotel Lamee
#139 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#34 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Inner City
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
#33 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Pension City
Pension City
#125 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#35 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Topazz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Topazz

Property: Hotel Topazz
Address: Lichtensteg 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Topazz 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Topazz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing