We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and a warm welcome”

Pizzeria Scarabocchio
Ranked #150 of 4,104 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Josefstadt
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food and a warm welcome”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We chose this restaurant based on the reviews on here and because it was only a short walk from our hotel. After a long day in the Christmas markets we didn't want to venture far and this was ideal. Although we turned up without a reservation at 1930 on a Saturday evening, the owner went out of his way to find us a table within minutes. Service was attentive and quick but we didn't feel rushed at all. The staff all had a smattering of English which helped me (although my wife speaks fluent German!) and were friendly.
The food was excellent although it comes out when it's ready, not when the whole order is together. If you are being picky then this could be an issue. It was only a few minutes between our two dishes and the food was piping hot and very tasty.
Worth noting that for a small charge they can do gluten free pizza and pasta.
Whilst we were there, a couple on the next table ordered fish which the owner brought out and filleted at the table. It was excellent to watch and he didn't let any of the meat go to waste.

Thoroughly recommend this for an evening out.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dunk_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    50
    18
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A wise choice indeed”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Another great tripadvisor find. Romantic, cozy ambiance with friendly and warm staff. I had the pizza tuscana and it was fantastic. If I lived nearby I would be a regular.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kpedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Gluten free pizza and beer”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Exceptional food, waiter went out of his way to seat us even though we had not reserved
Owner was lovely and the gluten free pizza was amazing even got to wash it down with beer
Worth the walk!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Taste4danger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Gluten free pizza and pasta - delicious”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My hubbie needs a gluten free diet, so based on previous reviews on trip advisor we decided to try it out.

This was the best gluten free pizza we've ever had. Hard to believe it really was gluten free. As my husband told the waiter "it tasted like pizza"!! Praise indeed. We also shared a GF pasta. Both were good sized portions washed down with a half carafe of red. Everything was scrummy.

It would have been rude to leave without tasting the GF tirimasu - wow! Also delicious.

There was a small surcharge for GF food, but it was definitely worth it. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GaznShazBigAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious gluten free”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I ate at this restaurant two nights in arow because it was so good. I had delicious gluten free pasta the first night and and the best gluten free pizza I have ever had the second night. I debated about ordering a meal to go for the flight back to the US and I wish I had done it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Scarabocchio also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Pizzeria Scarabocchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing