We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bizarre staff”

Imperial Treasury of Vienna
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.41*
and up
Vienna Pass Including Vienna Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Ticket
More Info
$138.98*
and up
Welcome to Vienna - Vienna Card, Hop-on-Hop off Tour, Morning Tea and Lunch or...
More Info
$23.53*
and up
Kunsthistorisches Museum Vienna and Imperial Treasury of Vienna
Ranked #21 of 586 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bizarre staff”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

The museum pieces are fine, but something bizarre happened to me there. Ten minutes before closing time they start shooing people away. One staff member was very rude and aggressive. An argument ensued and he slapped me in the face! The staff sided with him, refused to call the police for me, and when I insisted they did call them and seemed to tell them an entirely different story. I felt I was blamed just because I am a visitor; the police even put pressure on me not to report. It seems under the veneer of civility this city has many dark corners. This museum is one if them.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank y_e_s_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    924
    377
    121
    25
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Netanya, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great collection”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Great treasury collection.
Little expensive but worthwhile and discounts available.
I think it is the must visit during the trip in the palace

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Igor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Worth seeing, but too many unilingual signs.”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Was told by locals that they were better than the crown jewels of London, but I would not concur with that assessment. Certainly worth seeing though, especially the ‘relics’ which include a piece of the True Cross and piece of Jesus’ loincloth. Get the combination ticket which includes the Kunstkammer. Most signage and information is in German.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dakm108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 529 helpful votes
“GOLD. TAKE ALL THE PHOTOS YOU WANT!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Gold and treasure galore and you can take all the photos you like!
Highlights are the Imperial Crown and the actual Spear of Destiny.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cartagia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good but English writing lacking”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Get an audio guide! We didn't because we were cheap, and we expected that there would be writeups in English, but there weren't. Even so I the artifacts / items were quite impressive though difficult to believe that all the relics were genuine.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincethetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imperial Treasury of Vienna also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Imperial Treasury of Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing