We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hospitality and Location!”
Review of Hotel Alpha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alpha
Ranked #72 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Hospitality and Location!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just spent 4 nights at Hotel Alpha and am impressed with the facility. Bottom line:
Upsides- Extremely convenient location to major sites in Vienna Old City and access to public transportation. Very polite, friendly, and helpful staff- they go out of their way to help you find places, order taxis, provide information on public transport options, recommend places to eat, etc. Very clean rooms. A good breakfast in the morning that is included in the room price.
Opportunities- Right now there is construction going on across the street, so there is some noise. Since I am a light sleeper, I was able to shut out the noise just by closing the window and turning on the AC. The rooms are modestly sized, but are very functional and have a safe, color TV, AC, access for the Internet, shower, heated rack for towel and drying clothes, and closet for clothes. The size of a double room for two people is listed at 19 square meters. Given the prices for the four and five star hotels in Vienna, this was a fair deal at Euro $99 per night. There was free wireless Internet downstairs in the lobby & breakfast room, but to get Internet in the room, there is a Euro $10 a day fee which is a bit excessive. Finally, the elevator (this facility has 4 floors) is the size of a phone booth, but you can always get your exercise by doing the stairs!

Overall, I was very pleased with the stay and the great hospitality of the staff in helping out with my visit. It is only a 10 minute walk to see Hofburg and numerous museums from the hotel. It is in a safe area, about 3 minutes walk from the Underground Subway station near Rathous. There are many restaurants close by if you need a quick meal. There is a basket of fruit in the lobby and free tea and coffee any time of the day. The breakfast buffet was high quality and featured various breads, fruit salad, cheeses, dried fruits, musli, scrambled and hard boiled eggs, yoghurt, numerous jams and jellies, espresso, coffee, milk, soymilk, and a wide variety of teas.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third or fourth floor may help minimize street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElPelar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    222
    62
    14
    1
See reviews for
64
237
27
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel is located in a good area, very near the Rathaus. It is on a small street, on our first day we had some difficulty finding it. Our room and bathroom were small but clean. The hotel does not provide free internet in the rooms. You do have free internet in the lobby; however the system is a bit confusing: you have to ask for a password every 30 minutes, which implies an unnecessary complication. Breakfast was excellent (in particular the different types of first quality cheese), served in a nice area, and an employee constantly refilled the empty trays.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We go to Vienna a few times a year and the Alpha is our bolt hole. It is a quiet, friendly, clean, well run hotel.Rooms are comfortable, decent beds, spotless, well maintained. Breakfast is very good quality. Very good quality meats and cheeses and decent breads. Big plus is the all day tea/coffee available in the lobby. What nicer to wander back in the evening and have a coffee in the comfortable lounge while you plan your evening. The staff are great not intrusive but if you need any help they go out of their way. The Alpha is within walking distance of the Rathaus and Parliament and tram and underground are nearby. Lots of good restaurants within walking distance, Fromme Helene opposite the Theatre aroound the corner is classy in a low key way.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmust_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, for Elisabeth Hemetsberger, General Manager at Hotel Alpha, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your repeat visit at the Hotel Alpha and your delightful remarks. It was an absolute pleasure to have you again at the hotel and we highly appreciate your feedback, especially your thorough description of the selection on the breakfast buffet as well as the complimentary tea/coffee facilities.

We are convinced that the only way to meet and even exceed our guest’s anticipations is the high quality of service combined with the great location.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon and wish you a wonderful summer time.

Kind regards
Mag. (FH) Elisabeth Hemetsberger
Manager, Hotel Alpha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and found it very clean and friendly. The front staff were always pleasant and willing to help with advice, directions, shuttle service, etc. The room was small but adequate and cleaned every day with fresh towels. The breakfast was very nice with a great selection of breads, cheeses, fruit and nuts, cereals, yogurt, eggs, sausages, juices, coffees, etc. Also, throughout the day you could help yourself to complimentary tea/coffee and fruit. The lobby had a nice lounge/sitting area. The location was close to most things (we walked a lot but liked it that way) or the metro was nearby.

The only inconvenience was that Wi-Fi was not fully available throughout the hotel. You must ask for an access card which is only good for 30 minutes - and it will boot you out of your email if you are in the middle of it when your time expires - very frustrating when you are writing a detailed email for home. If there are two of you - you can ask for two cards - but you each need one. You can ask for one again if needed, but frustration may have already happened.

Otherwise, we would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Elisabeth Hemetsberger, Manager at Hotel Alpha, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed comments about your stay at the Hotel Alpha. We highly appreciate your remarks, especially your thorough description of the selection on the breakfast buffet.

We are convinced that the great location, combined with dedicated service are the key points to our success, and we are eager to continue that way.

WiFi is available at the entire hotel for a fee. In the lounge area we offer it for free, and of course, unlimited.

However, you are right that access card time allotment comes in 30 minutes batches and might be inconvenient at certain times. We will definitely make an effort to better explain this to our guests in the future.

We hope that you come back to our hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Mag. (FH) Elisabeth Hemetsberger
Manager, Hotel Alpha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed at the Alpha hotel for 2 nights over December 2011, the hotel is in a quiet little street and the rooms are very basic, it is not very big but it is a comfortable size, the beds are comfortable and the bathroom also a comfortable size. The TV in the room was the oldest, smallest I've ever seen, but this didn't bother us since we were so tired at night, from sightseeing that we didn't even bother to watch TV. The breakfasts were very basic aswell with eggs, bacon, sausages, and a selection of breads and preserves, but it was nice. The hotel is located near the Rathaus and other tourist attractions (within walking distance and close to tram stations) We did however get a bit lost finding the hotel, since all the little streets tend to look the same.

All in all our stay was pleasant and comfortable, and suited to our needs.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebeneze G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Although we once said we'd return to the previous hotel we stayed in if visiting Vienna again, we booked this one instead and did not regret it.
The location is literally within a 2 minute walk from Rathouse U-bahn station and on foot St Stephens is about 15 minutes away, whilst walking through some of the most beautiful areas Vienna has to offer. The area is safe and quiet. The hotel itself is great. Very clean, efficient, good, friendly service. On Easter eve we even got a chocolate Lind Bunny on our beds from housekeeping!! Breakfast was abundant and there was lots of choice. All in all a great place to stay. Our only criticism was having just one english language TV station but a) We didn't go to Vienna to watch telly and b) maybe it's time we learnt german instead! Also worth mentioning: Immediately behind the hotel on Lenaustrasse is a bar/restaurant called The Centimetre. Definitely worth a few visits!!!! Very friendly atmosphere, good food, good beer, all ages, good music, super friendly staff.
Looking forward to a few more visits!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tallulah2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The Alpha is a small hotel very close to the Rathous Metro line and the tram line. The hotel is small but very comfortable. The rooms were quite small and the bathroom the tiniest I have ever seen. Still the place had a feel good factor about it. The staff was helpful and allowed us to check in early. The breakfast, although not a large spread, was good.

It was a good find for us as we wanted to look for a budget location not very far from the city center. The Hotel perfectly fitted our requirement.

Don't expect anything lavish.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#67 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Zipser
Hotel Zipser
#114 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Wien-City
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Inner City
Starlight Suiten Hotel Renngasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpha

Property: Hotel Alpha
Address: Buchfeldgasse 8, Vienna 1080, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#85 Family Hotel in Vienna
#86 Business Hotel in Vienna
#120 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpha 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Alpha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing