We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just amazing”
Review of Karlskirche

Karlskirche
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.01*
and up
Vivaldi Four Seasons Concert at St. Charles Church in Vienna
More Info
$370.49*
and up
Private Vienna Half-Day Small-Group Tour: City Landmarks and Highlights
More Info
$34.38*
and up
Vienna City Bike Tour
Ranked #37 of 585 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Built around 1715 by Fischer von Erlach, this is one of Vienna's best known landmarks.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just amazing”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The historic St. Charles's Church is a must-see when visiting Vienna. It is a perfect mixture from different architectonic influences. The middle part is reminiscent of ancient greek temples, the side parts of renaissance Italy, the victory columns can be mistaken for islamic minarets...

Be sure to pay a visit here, if you check the website first, you might be able to catch a concert on the impressive baroque organ.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank aschubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    828
    566
    182
    62
    44
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fabulous Baroque Church”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This 18th century church is a Baroque masterpiece. The exterior design is quite striking and the interior is superb as you would expect form a church built to thank God for saving Vienna from the worst ravages of a plague. I really enjoyed the opportunity to take the elevator up to the top of the dome for a close up view of the frescoes.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dccv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I unfortunately didn’t get to go inside the church but i have managed to stop by and admire the beautiful architecture of this church both during the day and at night. If you are able to visit i would definitely recommend it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rafaelcab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“lovely church”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We enjoyed visiting the church - the interior is beautiful. There is an elevator that allows you to view the ceiling up close which is quite fun (although you are quite high up).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank overpack24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Beethoven V in Karlskirche”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

When I was planning our trip to Vienna I knew we would have to attend a concert but I wanted it to be special and not the typical tourist attraction concert. St Charles Church or Karlskirche is a beautiful baroque church and the perfect setting to hear Beethoven's V Symphony. The church rotates concerts so depending when you are in Vienna you may have Vivaldi or Bach to choose from. It was our last night in Vienna so we were lucky to attend the Beethoven concert.
The church is gorgeous and is almost 500 years old. The alter is a breathtaking background to the orchestra who set up in the nave. We had seats on the third row. To be able to hear Beethoven's V performed in a beautiful Viennese baroque church is a chance of a life time. I consider myself quite fortunate having had such an opportunity. Thank you to St Charles and its congregation for opening up their "home" to a world wide audience.
When you are in Vienna, there is indeed more than just Mozart and the opulent concert halls--look for something special such as an evening at St Charles Church.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank trojans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karlskirche also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Karlskirche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing