We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit on Sunday during choir practice or high mass!”
Review of Augustinerkirche

Augustinerkirche
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.63*
and up
Vienna City Classic Walk With a Small Group
More Info
$16.72*
and up
Vienna Old Town Evening Walking Tour with Optional Viennese Dinner
More Info
$390.00*
and up
Private Half-Day History Walking Tour in Vienna: The City of Many Pasts
Ranked #43 of 586 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
5,695 reviews
3,699 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12,202 helpful votes
“Visit on Sunday during choir practice or high mass!”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This is a rather unassuming parish church considering it used to serve the imperial court. It is easy to miss as the sign and door from Josefsplatz is very simple. The interior has an unadorned vaulted ceiling, the altar and chandeliers are not particularly impressive or memorable, although the (empty) Tomb of Maria Cristina designed by Canova is interesting. A good short stop if visiting the Hofburg complex, but so much better on Sundays before and/or during high mass with great sacred music. Visited around 10 am to hear choir practice for 45mins and it was a beautiful experience, even if it were just rehearsal. The music and singing were wonderful and decidedly worth the effort of coming to visit Augustinerkirche on this particular time and day. Highly recommended, and would definitely go back!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    154
    42
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
TN
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“historic church with moving memorial”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I visited just briefly to see the memorial to Maria Cristina which was extraordinarily sad and moving. Schedule prevented attending Sunday mass here with great music. Entrance was hard to find.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank PatKTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“New Year's Mass”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We were so fortunate to be a part of this event, which included the Mozart Crown Mass. Not only was the music professional, but even without understanding any German, our hearts were full. This was the perfect ending to 2 weeks in Austria.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Meridith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A beautiful Church”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Well worth a stop. It was the designated church for many of the Hasburg's weddings.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank sjsanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
204 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Beautiful music”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We attended the 11:00 Mass at the church in hopes of hearing beautiful sacred music, and we were not disappointed. We arrived early to hear the choir and musicians rehearse, which we was almost as good as the actual performance, plus we could watch them up in the choir loft. The church filled up by the time the service began. Even though we don't understand much German, it was a moving experience. The church is old and pretty austere but there is a beautifully sad monument by Canova: the tomb of Maria Christina, the favorite daughter of Maria Theresia. I saw a picture somewhere of this church decked out in flowers for the wedding of Franz Joseph to Sisi, so it was fun to imagine that event. Many other royal weddings took place here also. There is also a chapel down some stairs and off to the side. During the holiday season, church members run a charming bazaar there with homemade crafts and foods. They serve simple drinks and baked goods. Aside from its history, this feels like a real parish church and it was a privilege to be a visitor.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank tallpinesCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Augustinerkirche also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Augustinerkirche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing