We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live Jazz Music”
Review of Porgy & Bess

Porgy & Bess
Ranked #12 of 138 Nightlife in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Live Jazz Music”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I was there for Ritter Karl, and his interesting "extreme" unpredictable jazz band. The drummer was outstanding.
Drinks are cheap.
Non Smoking venue (which I think is counterproductive when you are at a jazz club and the drinks are cheap).
Staff are efficient.
The funny thing about this place is as soon as the gig is done, the patrons get up and vacate the place! Not just for this gig either :)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    16
    5
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Otterbach, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We saw the Danish Radio Big Band perform at Porgy & Bess and it was unbelievable. I booked the tickets online about a week before the concert, and we sat in the second row of tables. The seating is intimate, but comfortable. The staff is friendly (even to us English-speakers!) and the drinks are good. And the jazz was terrific. Great evening for jazz lovers.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We attended a concert by Cassandra Wilson at the club. First, she is working with a new group which was interesting, particularly the banjo player, but was loud. Second, the sound was bad with a constant background hum. And third, the place was absolutely packed like sardines.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“good atmospheric venue”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

went here last night to see Brian Auger play his hammond organ with his jazz band! great gig, good atmosphere and they don't appear to rip you off for drinks prices (in the context of vienna which isn't a cheap city). the place was full and heaving which made it all the more enjoyable. my advice is if it's a half decent band you need to book ahead as in a city full of classical music this is one of the few alternative, main stream, venues! (in the city centre that is)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank noahoxford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding Jazz experience”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I booked seats to see a jazz concert at Porgy and Bess in advance. We got second row seats with a small table - a fantastic position - right next to the bar! The jazz was absolutely sensational - the musicians were truly talented and well worth the night out. We had dinner across the road from the place and were allowed in well before the show began. This was perfect to sit, relax and have a drink. Can't fault this place - certainly a good idea to book ahead to get the best seats. A visit to the ladies bathroom is a must - initially see-through cubicles! A shock!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Hjea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porgy & Bess also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Porgy & Bess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing