We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but ...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jazzland

Jazzland
Ranked #3 of 133 Nightlife in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice but ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I just attended a very nice jazz concert (Swing!). The live music is always something nice to attend. The musicians were very good. I truly want to go back there tomorrow for some more great music but ... the terrible fact about the place is the seating is extremely uncomfortable! I had a backache one hour into the show and I had to leave as my butt also ached from the cheap seating!
At the rates they charge (Euro 15 per person) they should provide comfort, unless someone told them that Jazz is supposed to be heard while aching!
By the way, the same cheap seating is what you find in the "dungeons" of Paris they call Caveaus (Caves)!
If you do not mind a back or butt ache I highly recommend the place.
If it were not for the seating, I would have given it an "excellent" rating.
Enjoy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ammar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    20
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cool place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Great Jazz and local music. The atmosphere was amazing!! I would say it was the best night out we had in Vienna! Don't miss it:)

Helpful?
Thank morans796
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A place to come back to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

I will start with the bottom line. It was a great night with excellent music and atmosphere. The band playing that evening was of six young guys. The youngest forgot when he was 60 but the many years on stage brought them so close together to make a superb show of 2 hours. They were playing 1920-30's music. The show is aimed at the local audience so all the connecting parts that were very humoristic were in germen and we did not understand most of them.

As for the place it self, the only thing came to my mind was "Moonlight and Vodka" by Chris DeBurge. In this song there is a line "The beer is lousy and the food is worse worst"..…. Well the beer was OK but you should skip the food.

The cover charge is 11 Euro food and drinks prices are normal and all together it was a memorable night. When I'm back to Vienna I will certainly go back to this place.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Haim_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Cool location, good music.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We visited Jazzland twice during our stay in Vienna. When you eventually find the entrance you might think that it is closed, but pull the door open and decend into the brick lined vault that is the cellar and the club. Entrance is a reasonable eleven euros. A range of basic meals and drinks are available at sensible prices, pastas, frankfurters and of course, schnitzel. The owner is very welcoming and is able to remember orders without writing anything down. He seems to trust that everyone will pay before they leave.
The main room might hold fifty people when it is full and the acoustics are good. There is an anteroom with a bar, a few extra seats and lots of photos. We went to an excellent blues night and then switched to modern jazz for our second visit. There is a different act every night but the club is closed on Sundays. Music starts at nine.
We walked to and from the club on both occasions without any concerns. Jazzland is a great venue.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank pierrekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Oldest jazz club in Austria!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Jazzland website claims it to be the oldest jazzclub in Austria. I was told by a local guest that the current owner runs it since 1972 and the photos on the walls are testimony of the many world famous jazz musicians that played in the venue. Jazzland only closes on Sundays and offers live jazz 6x a week from 9pm. The venue is small but cosy, "a 500-years old cellar below the ancient Ruprechtskirche - first mentioned in city-documents in the year 948." The evening I went there, the ticket was 15€ and the prices of drinks were a bit expensive but not outrageously (a 0.5l beer was 4.60€). The acoustic is good and you sit very close to the stage, what gives an intimate experience. If you like jazz, you must visit the Jazzland at least once during your stay.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ludalua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jazzland also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Jazzland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing