We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget it”

Loosbar American Bar
Ranked #4 of 138 Nightlife in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Forget it”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

During our recent excellent stay in Vienna we thought we would vist the American Bar, having read about it in our guide book. What a disappointment. We ventured in to be ignored by the one member of staff. Stating some surprise at the size of the bar we were looked at with distain. No welcome or offer of service. The bar is cramped and hot. If you choose to sit outside in the rather depressing ally you are met by a wall of smoke from the attendant smokers. The only unfriendliness we met during our Viennese stay.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CambridgeOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    53
    18
    5
    17
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice bar and service”
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

The waiter here we had was very helpfully he even wrote out a couple of nightclubs for me and my gf.it's a bit pricey but worth it in my opinion.

Helpful?
Thank dolan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best cocktails in Vienna?”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This piece of architectural history is gem in the center of Vienna. Just steps away from the famous Stephansplatz you can predine with maybe the best cocktails and service in the area.The interiour is original from the early 1900s and there is of course possible to have drinks outside when the weather allows.
Enjoy :o)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bergern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
540 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Red, White and Blue”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We happened upon this stop on our first day in Wien. We firgured it was a must since it is THE American Bar and it is by Adolf Loos who was Wien's answer to Frank Lloyd Wright. A nice stop and nicer staff. We settled in for a drink and a bit of a sit. The restrooms were in the basement which the stairs were not the easiest to navigate but we would return if we were back in the area. we were the only ones there, midday, so it made for a relaxing refresher. It is just off the main pedestrian mall walk so it is also out of the crowd.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Suzan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We had a great time at the American. It is a TINY space. We counted maybe 20 seats. When we got there it was full, but the bartender handed us drink menus, and by the time we decided and ordered, a couple left, leaving us great seats at the bar.

The drinks were delicious. I had champagne cocktails, and my friend enjoyed two different rum drinks. They were not cheap, but we weren't really expecting a bargain here. The bartender was really friendly-don't be afraid to ask questions or engage.

The real draw is the bar itself, which was built in 1908 and is in original, mint condition (perhaps with a few generations of cigarette smoke permanently fused into the wood work). The marble ceilings, beautiful wood work and incredible alabaster tile really transport you back in time.

Helpful?
Thank DoroMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loosbar American Bar also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Loosbar American Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing