We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“medium quality hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Gabriel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gabriel
Ranked #244 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“medium quality hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

the price was good, but the rooms weren't very clean. a lot of noise in the old building, quiet in room 405 (cvadruple) parking-view. the first room in wich we stayed one night had one double bed and a sofa instead of 2 doubles. small parking 8-9 places (10 euros/day). rich breakfast but average food quality. no elevator in the front building (the old one). no bill for the parking.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Calin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    73
    47
    16
    9
See reviews for
66
36
17
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a bit lower standard than we expected. Old fashioned. They forgot to clean the room on the first day.
We found the location good because it's easy to find from the motorway, and there is parking available. Taking the underground or bus into Vienna for sightseeing is easy, and there are lots of restaurants nearby, and supermarkets if you prefer to make a picnic.
We were pleased to find that the three bed room really did have three beds, not two and a sofa- definitely a plus point.
Breakfast was fine, a little lacking in variety perhaps, nothing major. And then you can enjoy eating it in the back garden - lots of tables available.
However I wouldn't necessarily choose this hotel again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilaria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were staying at hotel Gabriel in October 2012.
The location is very good, not in historic part of Vienna, but only few metro stops away.
Connection with airport is also very good, S7 train is the cheapest transportation from airport (4 euros), it takes about 20 minutes to get to the St. Marx station which is five minutes away from the hotel (on foot).
The room was spacious, it overlooks the street which is a bit noisy, but from 11 pm till 7 am traffic is lighter and the good night sleep is guaranteed.
Although nights were cold the room was warm, specially the bathroom.
Bed was very comfortable and everything was clean (this is a big deal for me).
Breakfast was more than good, there was variety of chees, ham, salads, fruits... everything fresh and tasty.
Next to the hotel are 4 supermarkets: Hofer is next to the hotel on the left, a bit further, on the right is Lidl, also on the right but across the street is Billa and few meters away is Euro spar.

Room Tip: The old part of the hotel doesn't have elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SanyaBelgrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Level Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We got our room, and I found some small insects in the bathroom. I asked receptionist to fix the problem, and he gave us another room saying that it was the last spare room. Later I found some small bugs (not bedbugs) there too.
Breakfast was excellent: sausages, cheeses, fresh fruit, vegetabes, scrambled eggs, yogurt, canned fruit, etc.
The quality of wireless Internet was very poor.
The worst part was on our check-out day. We asked for a wake-up call, and the receptionist didn't change the hotel clock to summer time, so we were almost late for our flight.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 649001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Good things first: The location is good-Belvedere Palace and Prater are close by tramline.

Not so good things: This is an old fashioned hotel. The staff except for one old lady is ok. We had booked a room with a large double bed but we were given a room with twin beds so we asked for another room and we were treated in an unpolite manner. The new room given to us was on 2nd floor and it had no elevator/lift and no one to help us carry our bags to the 2nd floor!!

Recommended only if you don't get any other hotel in Vienna !!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maauneha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Lovely little hotel, with a somewhat convenient location. Especially if you're arriving in Vienna via the International Busterminal, you love a good walk and don't want to get ripped off on accommodation, then this is the hotel for you.

I say the location is somewhat convenient, because getting to the centre is quite simple, everything you want to see is about three streets away. That is, if you don't mind walking for an hour - or getting the metro. If it's your first time in Vienna or you're there as a tourist, obviously you want to see as much of the city as you can and Landstrasser Hauptstrasse - where the hotel is located - is the perfect starting point. The hotel is located at the very end, close to the International Busterminal, but if you walk up the shop-studded street you will arrive at Stadtpark (City Park) in around 30 minutes. From there, you're just a much shorter walk away from all the sights in Vienna. It can seem like a lot of walking, but there is always the metro if you want a shortcut, but I found most of Vienna too beautiful to miss.

The staff at the hotel were very polite and accomodating, the breakfast included in the price was quite decent, the room was clean, comfortable and the free wi-fi was reliable. The TV was flatscreen and had a choice of a few English channels (CNN, BBCnews). The room was equipped with a safe (free to use with a key requiring 100% refundable deposit), but no minibar/fridge (only downside). The entire hotel is quite aesthetically pleasing (the rooms have chandeliers!) and undeniably an excellent deal for its price range, I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meluvz2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I spent one night at this hotel and it is well worth the money! The staff is friendly, speaks good English and the front desk is open 0-24. It is well-situated and easy to find (approx.10-15min walk from U3 Schlachthausgasse). My room was on the 3rd floor and it was nice, clean and quiet. Had everything a traveller like me needed! :) Breakfast is included in the price and has a wide range of selection. I will definitely stay at Hotel Gabriel again and strongly recommend it to everyone else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meezalena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Landstraße
Vienna Sporthotel
Vienna Sporthotel
#172 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Resonanz Vienna
Hotel Resonanz Vienna
#220 of 362 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Landstraße
Hotel Pension Bosch
Hotel Pension Bosch
#131 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabriel

Property: Hotel Gabriel
Address: Landstrasser Hauptstrasse 165, Vienna 1030, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gabriel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabriel Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing