We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serviceable accommodation in central Vienna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel-Pension Lehrerhaus
Ranked #23 of 110 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buehler
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Serviceable accommodation in central Vienna”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Fairly basic accommodation located in an old block of flats; located within easy walking distance of museums and with a diversity of restaurants in the vicinity. Excellent value for money for Vienna.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank P_Stibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    52
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
23
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Graz, Österreich
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

First I have to say that I'm not that kind of traveller, that wants a perfect location for a cheap price. I always try to make a more or less objective review (I know it's not possible at all) and try to immagine, what you can expect for a decent price.

What I wanted to have was a clean location just to sleep. Vienna was just a small overnight stop as I went to the airport very early at the next day. So I did not want to spend more money than necessary. What I got was a dashy and definetly NOT a clean room. I don't think it's too much work to clean the surfaces of the closet or beyond the bed. I'm very sensitive on dust and my nose was blocked immidiately. The bath room was okay, but the shower was not following my will, If you know what I mean ;o).
The staff is that kind of people you won't call friendly. The guy at the reception slammed a key on the desk and that's that. I know you can't pay for a friendly behaviour but that's business. No matter if it's a hostel or the Burj.
Positive fact: The hotel is very close to the city center, I don't think there is anything closer for the price I paid.
Conclusion: It's okay for a night but I would not recommend it for a longer stay in Vienna.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mturrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

The pension was in a great location in the city close enough to transport and walking distance from Rathausplatz. The rooms were cleaned every day and there was free wifi in the reception area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monicad76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Very disappointed. Upon arrival, we followed a sign outside to the pension and waited 30 minutes to be let in. We were not provided with a map or any helpful information about the city. We were pointed vaguely in the direction of our room, which we had trouble finding after going through several unattractive heavy metal doors which frankly make the building feel like a prison rather than a hotel. Our last night, we asked the night-guard to print something for us after being told this service was available, and he told us that he could not do so. We pointed to the printer behind him and he said it was a fax machine. As two tech-saavy students, we knew well that this was a lie -especially offensive given the fact that we were in great need of a printer, as many travelers are, to print tickets, boarding passes, etc. The room was spartan and fine by budget standards, but not worth the aggravation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJWNJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

as what other travellers have mentioned is true, overall was great stay here. needs to play around with the hot water for the sink in room to figure out how it works. first reception which check me in was poor in English and was not really friendly. the rest however has good command in English and was more friendly. When my pick up bus for sightseeing was late, they offered me assistance which I was grateful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eriyue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

NO BREAKFAST ! NO HOTEL SIGN IN THE STREET ! DINGY STAIRWELLS ! 3 UGLY STEEL DOORS BEFORE YOU GET TO THE ROOM ! Then : a charming, spacious and comfortable room, a very nice bathroom, windows opening so my wife could evade the no smoking policy, pleasant and helpful staff, a big supermarket just next door to buy in anything you wanted for breakfast or any other meal in the room at your disposal, an excellent lively area just behind the Rathaus... After initial misgivings we were seduced.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2010

As the other reviews have mentioned Pension Lehrerhaus is very good value. Its in a good area with lots of its own restaurants and bars - and its only about 10/15minute walk into the centre - or you can catch the metro.

It was really clean and whilst some of the fittings were a little old fashioned they were old fashioned in a good way - very retro light fittings etc - all in great condition so it didnt feel down at heel at all. The room was huge and I also have to say the bed was the most comfortable bed i have ever slept on in a hotel. The sheets and duvet were really nice and the bed was so comfortable! The whole place is a little old fashioned but its quality old fashioned and its cheap to stay in!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Funzy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Mariahilf
Time Out City Hotel Vienna
Inner City
Schweizer Pension
Schweizer Pension
#17 of 110 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Josefstadt
Pension Columbia
Pension Columbia
#19 of 110 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
K&T Boardinghouse
K&T Boardinghouse
#2 of 110 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Alservorstadt
Hotel Pension Astra
Hotel Pension Astra
#65 of 110 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Landstraße
KIBI rooms
KIBI rooms
#24 of 110 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Pension Lehrerhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Pension Lehrerhaus

Property: Hotel-Pension Lehrerhaus
Address: Lange Gasse 20, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel-Pension Lehrerhaus 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps away from all major sights privately owned Hotel-Pension Lehrerhaus offers great location to a fair price. Groceries from the near supermarket can be prepared and consumed in the public living room. Pets friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel-Pension Lehrerhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lehrerhaus Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing