We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but perhaps not the best choice in a hot August.”
Review of Hotel Urania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Urania
Ranked #38 of 113 Vienna B&B and Inns
Cymru
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but perhaps not the best choice in a hot August.”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I think I would have given it four stars if I'd stayed in in cooler weather, but it was too hot to sleep with the windows closed and too noisy with them open. With the high ceilings, a ceiling fan would be a good investment. But I enjoyed my stay here, the location is good with supermarkets and eating places within a few yards and it's a nice 10 minute walk to the city centre. The room was large and clean but felt rather empty, and there was no kettle. The bed was very comfortable. A small bar fridge would have been great just to keep some cold water or juice in. Good wifi in room. Lots of flowers in planters, I had lovely window boxes of geraniums, and the building itself is nice and historical. Breakfast was fine, lots of cheeses and cold meat, nice fresh breads, fruit and good coffee, convenient serving hours. Reception were really friendly and welcoming, made me feel at home, and were very helpful getting me a taxi when I was leaving. Other staff somewhat brusquer but not unprofessional. I would definitely come back here, but only in cool weather!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CymruRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    70
    36
    14
    13
See reviews for
24
95
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel itself is average, and a little quirky. The rooms are large enough and clean enough, basic facilities but I didn't see any tea and coffee making facilities. The location OK. Continental breakfast is pretty well stocked and decent. The biggest issue is the staff. Some are nice and helpful but one in particular was pretty dimissive bordering on being rude and arrogant - from the other reviews I'm guessing this guy was the owner/manager.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrElmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I had a very nice stay in this family owned hotel near the city centre of Vienna. My room (2p), Egyptian style decorated, was very spacious with a large kingsize bed, a couch and two relax chairs. The tv was small, I did not use it. This is a two star hotel, so don't expect anything fancy. The pro is that it's possible to control temperature individually. Mostly hotel rooms are very warm but by just tunring of the heating, the temperature dropped. My room was situated above the entrance but the street is very quiet so I had no traffic noise or whatsoever. Wifi is available in the rooms (for free).

The bathroom had a large shower and soap and shampoo was provided. The towels looked a bit ragged but I've also seen that in many 4 and 5 star hotels. Bathroom was rather clean, although I did find a dried contact lens on the floor.

Staff is really friendly, both at the reception and in the breakfast room. Breakfast was good with many choices. Cheese and meat was cut on the spot. For in room lunch I just went to the supermarket around the corner for some fresh salads and wraps.

Overall, I had a very pleasant stay and it did not feel like a two star hotel at all. I can recommend this hotel to everybody who would like to stay in a unique and friendly hotel, for a city trip or business.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miep_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Saying this place was "quirky" feels like an understatement to me. Perhaps if we'd been given a different room, I might feel a bit different, but I give this place three stars for the lackluster reception, lukewarm staff, the lack of any sort of climate control (the room was hot in May and they didn't even have a plug-in fan or something at the desk which would have made it at least comfortable), the lack of wifi, the "double" bed (meaning, two twins smushed together), and the creepy as heck ceiling fresco. Oh, and it's not close to any metro/subway stations. After a loooong day of sightseeing and such, the last thing I wanted to do was walk half a mile back to the hotel!

On the bright side, the hotel has lifts so you're not forced to lug luggage up the 8 or more floors. The breakfast was well-provided and included in the room fee. The room was large by any standards with high ceilings and a modern shower, and the place was generally comfortable and very quiet.

My experience was heavily tainted by the fact that I got no restful sleep here and that could have been avoided if there were a ceiling fan or plug-in one available. The ceiling fresco/painting of naked people floating around and staring down made no sense and just got creepier each night.

On a side note: Don't miss Schonbrunn Palace, and the High School Performance at the Spanish Riding School was very unique and memorable. Catching a concert at Karlsplatz (Mozart's Requiem) was the absolute highlight - best money spent, experience of a lifetime, and the acoustics there are hair-raisingly enchanting.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blinkyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel was the final stop on our cycle trip down the Danube.

The hotel was quirky, brightly decorated with loads of hanging baskets. The hotel was in a good location and we could get to the underground and the trams very easily. The room was large with high ceilings a small modern shower room and was comfortably furnished (our room had a leather three piece suite).

The staff were helpful and they stored our bikes for collection by the bike hire company. The breakfast was substantial.

Overall a nice hotel for a city visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exiled_Cumbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjustendil, Kyustendil, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I have been a regular guest of this hotel over the last ten years and, while it is apparently a 2 or 3 star hotel, the rooms are all individually decorated on different themes and the quality of the hotel itself is much higher.

It is family run and, since I have been there so often I have become friends with the family: a mere phonecall is sufficient to ensure a room is available for me.

Breakfast is on a buffet basis with good coffee and a nice cold selection of good quality food.

It is located within a ten-minute walk of Stephansdom, but if you know Vienna at all, you can also walk comfortably to Unteres Belvedere, the two main museum and all the attractions in the centre, including the Opera.

I will continue to visit this lovely hotel every time I visit Vienna and I heartily recommend it to anyone interested in seeing one of the most European capitals.

Room Tip: I always stay in the Baroque Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prince_de_la_Pau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Arriving at Wien Mitte station is easy from the airport; take a no. 0 tram towards the Prater for a two or three-stop ride and there you are: brightly coloured and so well located just outside the Ringstrasse. Arriving at the Urania is like starting a new adventure in Viennese old-world style, from the caged birds tweeting merrily to the individually themed rooms: ours was so relaxing we bought some wine and two glasses from reception one evening and stayed in our room for the rest of the night! The breakfasts, in true Viennese fashion, are marvellous, full and varied, though I could have done with a good single espresso (ein kleine schwarzer). The staff are wonderful, friendly and helpful. Leaving the hotel on Tuesday 11 January 2012 was like leaving home, the piano being played, the birds chirruping and the statuette at the bottom of the little grand staircase holding his light aloft for us to see our way down the stairs to the street. It's Vienna's best-kept secret hotel, close to the Hundertwasserhaus, the Kunsthaus - both essential to view and visit - and, having visited Wien before, the Hotels within the Ringstrasse can be noisy with horse-drawn carriages and tourists walking by when you need a siesta; the Urania is quiet, off the usual tracks and brilliantly positioned for visiting the beautiful city. Our bed was firm and extremely comfortable, the bedlinen spotless. By the way, I do recommend the Vienna Card for 72-hours of travel and discounted entry to the museums, galleries and sites, of which the Urania ought to be on the list as Vienna's best quaint hotel with loads of character and whimsical charm.

Room Tip: I would like to stay in a different room every time as each has its own theme; ours was great with b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#189 of 360 in Vienna
328 reviews
Landstraße
NH Wien Belvedere
NH Wien Belvedere
#102 of 360 in Vienna
1,264 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Vienna Inn Apartments
Vienna Inn Apartments
#25 of 113 in Vienna
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Pension Dr. Geissler
Pension Dr. Geissler
#23 of 113 in Vienna
226 reviews
Landstraße
KIBI rooms
KIBI rooms
#31 of 113 in Vienna
180 reviews
Hotel Fabrik
#11 of 113 in Vienna
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urania

Property: Hotel Urania
Address: Obere Weissgerberstrasse 7 | 1030 Vienna, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Urania 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic Hotel Urania - Experience the hotel with a special flair – personalized service and Viennese charm await you. The Hotel Urania is distinguished not only because of its central location but also for its excellent accessibility. Whether by car, underground, tramway, or on foot, the sights, congress centres, shopping malls and places renowned for their Viennese lifestyle are all within easy reach. Hotel Urania – a family business for over 50 years – is situated in the popular 3rd district of Vienna. Very close to the historic city it's a perfect location for the best sightseeing tours, cultural attractions and leisure facilities. The most famous shopping streets can be reached easily. We would be delighted to welcome you soon as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Urania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing