We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pension Dr. Geissler
Ranked #22 of 117 Vienna B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed in this hotel/BB for two days from 26th to 28th of July. The location of this is superb. Just one minute walk to Schwedenplatz metro which has both U1 and U4 lines. Tram station is even close.It is clean and the staff are helpful. We were allowed to check in early at 9.30 AM, which helped us to maximize our visits. The breakfast is good and the price range is on the budget side. The only problem we had was no air conditioning. It becomes very warm and sultry as there is no cross ventilation( Even when the windows are opened). But it may not be a negative point for many who are used to warm climate. We liked this hotel. For us McDonald and Subway were with in one minute walk. Vegetarian restaurant run by Persian family is an advantage for Vegetarians. Nirvana hotel is just 5 Mins walk. The Schwedenplatz(1 min) and Stephans Platz ( 6 min) are very nice places buzzing with energy.

Room Tip: WiFi is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ganeshan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 240 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2014

I booked this hotel online because the price was cheap (for Vienna) and the location handy - and breakfast is included in the room rate. It was extremely easy to find and convenient for transport - we were able to walk to the shuttlebus for the airport - or the hotel offers a minibus service, and the trams and underground are only a one minute walk away. It doesn't look like a hotel, being just a big grey apartment block, with the reception on the 8th floor, but once inside it is a hotel like many others. The big "downside" is that the room had only a washbasin - the toilet and bathroom were just across the corridor, but frankly, for the price (60€ for a double room) we could live with that. The room was spacious but cosy, with comfortable beds, a large couch, a coffee table with two plush chairs as well as a large wardrobe, shelving and the washstand. On the walls hung framed pictures of Vienna - and there was a chandelier. We spent a calm night and were very pleased with the buffet breakfast: ham, cheese, vegetables, breads, jams, cereals, fruit, yoghurts etc. The wifi worked just fine for us. I would definitely go back to the Pension Dr Geissler.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Meluzyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I were in Vienna for a couple of days during our eurotrip.. we made a mistake that we didn't search and book a hotel prior to our arrival like we always do, so we went to the tourist information center right in the city center and the girl there helped us find this hotel and booked us a room for the night for what we thought an expensive price, and charged us a commission of course. (I just checked the prices and apparently we paid more than double what we could pay through tripadvisor).
It wasn't so easy to find but it's location was very good, right at the edge of the city center.
We haven't stayed at a 'pension' before so it was a different weird experience.
We arrived around noon time to the pension, a nice quite man handed us our key to the very weird room, it was more like a very old furnished apartment but without a kitchen, and with lots of closets and cabinets with some medical books on the shelves!!
I don't really have anything negative to say about it.. it was very clean, smelled weird, but clean, the bathroom, the super white sheets everything was clean.
The breakfast was also good, bread, cheese, cold cuts, butter and jam, not bad.
But I wouldn't recommend it unless you get it for a really cheap price. Because while roaming around in the area later on we found some really nice 3 stars hotels for almost the same price or a bit more.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Shireen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This place is OK. Quite old, simple and not too cozy but location is excellent and hotel was very clean. Price is bearable and quite good value for money in this expensive city, I Guess you can't require more with this price.
I could easily go to this place again, I liked clean sheets and silence of this place.

Oh yes, and don't forget to ask eggs on a breakfast, they will not serve those to you but they have them :).

Wifi was a joke in this place, but luckily there is plenty of coffee shops with wifi in Vienna.

Summary: Not the best value for money place but OK, nothing big to complain about.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jhis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Stayed here for one night to catch an early morning flight. Room itself was very basic and very old. Bathroom with cracked basin and WC right next to the heating system.

That said, the room and the bathroom was spotlessly clean which for me is more important than anything else.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgaucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I find most important when ordering through the site, the reality must match the promises.
We got exactly what we expect.
This is a budget B&B on the best location.
The room was quite small, the breakfast was a flat, but a sufficient for us. The double room should has a double bed and not a two joined twins beds.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Вадим Т
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, with a gap of one night after the first. The hotel reception is on the 8th floor of a quite old building whose lift is small and is difficult to fetch. The room we had on our first day was very small and cramped, and we didn't have hot water which resulted in our taking bath in another room! However they compensated for our trouble when we went again giving us a 2 room apartment for the same cost! The staff is very very friendly and helpful. The greatest advantage of this hotel is its proximity to the tube train and also the city centre. With all it's strengths, my only complaint is that it is not good value for money. For 132 euros a night we get better rooms elsewhere in Europe. For example, I paid the same price for Radisson Blu in Helsinki
The breakfast buffet is not at all good, and I was flatly refused the eggs I wanted!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drdvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Fabrik
#10 of 117 in Vienna
187 reviews
Arthotel ANA Gala
#13 of 117 in Vienna
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Hotel-Pension Lehrerhaus
Hotel-Pension Lehrerhaus
#28 of 117 in Vienna
107 reviews
Mariahilf
K&T Boardinghouse
K&T Boardinghouse
#2 of 117 in Vienna
253 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Vienna Inn Apartments
Vienna Inn Apartments
#16 of 117 in Vienna
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Dr. Geissler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Dr. Geissler

Address: Postgasse 14, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range: $64 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Dr. Geissler 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Pension Dr. Geissler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Dr. Geissler Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing